Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

1999 Chevrolet Camaro

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 964 Ratings for the 1993 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 193 | Next

Great EcoMuscle

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Cheapest quality muscle you can find"

Cons: "Interior is an afterthought"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought 1999 Z28 convertible from original owner two years ago with 43K miles in "Like New" condition for $10,600.It has the 6 speed manual, sports handling package and sports appearance (ground effects) package. The LS1 aluminum block engine is a engineering marvel that goes thru the gears with endless torque to spare when accelerating.This is a driver's car. It is not a passengers car. It steers thru curves tightly, brakes well and is a top down joyride. The original CD Monsoon Sound system is mediocre lacking the modern device inputs. The ride is stiff and firm enough without being uncomfortable. Gas mileage varies depending on how you use the gears and torque. Cruising on the open road in 6th gear will not break the bank average guesstimate of 20-22 MPG. It's an enjoyable car to own and drive. And for the money you are driving a vehicle that puts the majority of today's small more expensive cars to shame as far as looks ( one guy thought it was a Ferrari) and no contest as far as Muscle car performance vs econoboxes.If you can find one with low mileage and you appreciate driving with a stick- buy one -It should make you happy."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great for a little bit

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 229,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"With this car being built the way it is, the dashboard cracked like any other 4th generation Camaro. The upholstery is falling down, and the T tops leak. Not to mention i maintained the engine like i was supposed to and had to change multiple things. Not to mention the Motor 3 different times. The aluminum engine was the worst design i have ever seen. It easily overheats, leaks, and blows heads. Even though this car stood up for a little while, after a couple years of driving back and forth to school and work, it eventually will cost you more in repairs than you paid for the car."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

get LS1 camaro and you are not going to forget it

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "awesome $ per HP, Fun to drive, great MPG"

Cons: "electrical issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the 4th gen F-body (camaro and Firebird) is one of the most underrated cars in the history of muscle cars... large windows and mirrors, 4 seats, hatchback trunk style, ABS, traction control and air bags, are just a few of the features of those cars, also on those cars you can get up to 25 mpg with the V8, the F-body is a really nice car, you have to keep in mind this is a car made almost 8 to 10 years ago and still can keep up with a SS camaro in straight line. the weak point of this car? they have some electrical-related issue but nothing to really be afraid about if you take care of it, other important aspect you have to keep in mind is those cars have rear axe suspention but at the end you have a truly sport car capable of smoke 80% of cars in the street and get a beautiful MPG. finally I have to say those cars are the best white canvas for any kind of mod or crazy project you have in mind my recomendations if you plan to get one get a good tires get her check by a good Chevy or Camaro chop create an acount in LS1tech.com or other camaro related forum so you can know everything you want to know about your car install a good cold air intake get a tune to get mot hp and better mpg and go and hit the road!!!!!! sorry for my bad english, but you can take trust my word I had mine for over 8 years and going to keep it for much more time"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Good for a while

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Repairs

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fast! Mostly reliable"

Cons: "Expensive maintenance, 100k miles major repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I had a 2001 Z28 model. It was quite reliable, and I owned it for 8 years. After going back to school, the fuel economy and repair costs were way too high for me to hold on to it. Here are the issues I had: Shock mounts in front rusted. Need replacement when replacing the front shocks. Expensive. Common problem. $200 for new mounts, and a pain to replace. Replacement master cylinder at 100k. Brakes didn't work very well anymore. Replace wheel bearings at 90k. I ran too long on bad bearings, and had to replace the rear axle. $1200. Body control module need replacement. Power windows and radio would sporadically cut off. $200 plus labor. Trunk leak. Common problem. Had a pool in my trunk every time it rained. Rear glass needs to be removed and reseated. $1-200. Squeaky AC belt. Not sure here... Replaced it, but still squeaked. Engine knock. No clue here either. Car started to lose power, and the engine sounds bad. Oil leak drip pan. Not sure on this, because it was the last straw. This was my brothers guess without looking more into the leak. Service engine light. Supposedly catalytic converter, which the car has two, and they're freaking expensive. Overall, I had this car for 8 years, but around 100k, these problems popped up left and right. I decided to trade it in when it needed a couple grand in repairs, along with new tires. It was reliable for the time I had it. No major engine problems up until 100k, and I had regular maintenance done, but it then became a money pit. If you're looking at one of these, know that it could require a couple grand to fix all the issues. It seemed to be falling apart."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Good for a while

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Repairs

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fast! Mostly reliable"

Cons: "Expensive maintenance, 100k miles major repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I had a 2001 Z28 model. It was quite reliable, and I owned it for 8 years. After going back to school, the fuel economy and repair costs were way too high for me to hold on to it. Here are the issues I had: Shock mounts in front rusted. Need replacement when replacing the front shocks. Expensive. Common problem. $200 for new mounts, and a pain to replace. Replacement master cylinder at 100k. Brakes didn't work very well anymore. Replace wheel bearings at 90k. I ran too long on bad bearings, and had to replace the rear axle. $1200. Body control module need replacement. Power windows and radio would sporadically cut off. $200 plus labor. Trunk leak. Common problem. Had a pool in my trunk every time it rained. Rear glass needs to be removed and reseated. $1-200. Squeaky AC belt. Not sure here... Replaced it, but still squeaked. Engine knock. No clue here either. Car started to lose power, and the engine sounds bad. Oil leak drip pan. Not sure on this, because it was the last straw. This was my brothers guess without looking more into the leak. Service engine light. Supposedly catalytic converter, which the car has two, and they're freaking expensive. Overall, I had this car for 8 years, but around 100k, these problems popped up left and right. I decided to trade it in when it needed a couple grand in repairs, along with new tires. It was reliable for the time I had it. No major engine problems up until 100k, and I had regular maintenance done, but it then became a money pit. If you're looking at one of these, know that it could require a couple grand to fix all the issues. It seemed to be falling apart."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 193 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Camaro near Honolulu. See local deals