Go

1998 Chevrolet Camaro

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 991 Ratings for the 1993 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 40 | Next

30th Z28

By on Wednesday, April 14, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned mine for 6years now. I havn't put a ton of miles on it, but it been more of a weekend car for me. With about 4grand over 6 years in upgrades the car is making about 415-430hp at the flywheel. So for me this is a performance car, pure and simple. But I'll talk stock camaros. The Z28 is the way to go. The reliability from what I have seen is the better then the V6s(though they are also very reliable); I have seen LT1 camaros with 270k+ still all original. The gas milage is decent as well. And performance can't be touched for the money. 0-60 for auto 5.5sec/man 5.8, both clear a 1/4 in 13.9 and the top speed is really is just over 165. This is the last year of no rev limiter and if you love the 93-97 camaro the 97 is the one to buy. Its the first year for the new interior(lasted till 02) and daytime running lights, and a different style rims. Among many little changes, if you dont pick a 97 a 96 is the next pick. The 285hp is a underarted detuned engine that can get amazing gas milage for the power. The only downfall is all LT1(93-97Z28/Firebird/92-96Vette) have a small oil leak. Its small enough that it burns off if you drive it enough. This should not stop you from getting this car. It has minor ectronic window issues, but these are the biggest things. Trust me, one hard press on the gas or take a hard turn, and you'll agree. Its really awsome."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

12 year owner

By on Saturday, March 27, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought the camaro new and it has been a dependable partner for 12 years. The 3.8 v6 is the perfect powerplant for this car. Plenty of power and mid twenty mileage w/o concern. I have driven the car through NY winters w/o accident thanks to good tires and added weight to the rear end. Salt has taken its toll to the underside of the car and I have had to replace brake lines, fuel tank, oil pan and the rack due to corrosion in the last couple of years. If you are looking to buy used check these items as they are susceptible as the car is low."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Amazing Car

By on Tuesday, March 16, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought by Camaro in 2005 and it is the best car I've ever owned. It has 75,000 miles and still runs extremley strong and smooth. The only things I've had to replace are the water pump, optispark, and starter- which is completley understandable for a 13 year old car. The LT1 is simply a torque monster. If you want top speed power, buy a LS1 (98-02), but if you perfer more low end torque over top speed go with the LT1 (93-97). When I purchased my Z28 it drove great and had a lot of power, but after I had performance cold air intake, throttle body, headers, and exhaust installed the 5.7 increased atleast 20 horse power, but more importantly to me ran much more responsive and smoother. I highly recommend using 92 or higher octane gasoline as well as a top brand full synthetic motor oil and oil filter. The negative aspects of this car are the poor gas milage, don't even think about driving it in the snow or you will regret it, high repair costs, and the unconsistant gas gauge. I've ran out of gas 5 times in my Camaro by letting the gas gauge go past the 1/4th tank. The 1997 model has no low gas light warning and may read that you have more or less gas than you accually have, so don't let it go past the 1/4th tank. Other than that, its a great car- had it up to 147 once and it still could have gone faster."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, December 16, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

IMPORT KILLER

By on Sunday, November 15, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i love this LS1 powered machine. with 275-35-18 tires and intake and exhaust, this baby will hit 0-60 in less than 5 seconds."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Dream car

By on Thursday, July 30, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love my Camaro! Bought it new and drove it for 10 years and then gave it to my teenaged son. It always gets attention with its t-top and beautiful lines. It is still one hot looking car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Tuesday, July 7, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"It is a great car with 3800 V6 I can get 30mpg and not have to worry about how hard I go on the gas, it has a lot more room than given credit for because me and four of my friends (we are all over 6'0) can fit in the car with ease and comfort and the back seats are very comfortable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

LS1 Love

By on Thursday, July 2, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Wow I will never EVER sell this car! My Z28 now makes 450 HP and gets so much attention at shows and just around town! the LS1 is the best engine in the world in my opinion :)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

STILL LOVE MY CAMARO

By on Wednesday, June 24, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Have owned my Camaro for 12 years, store it in the winter. Great car, have only had to do normal maintenance all these years. Will be buying 2010 Camaro in the next couple of years, when price comes down!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1998 z28 6 speed

By on Sunday, June 7, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"great handling fast powerful responsive very affordable for what you get great car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Camero lover

By on Sunday, May 31, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I puchased my first Camero when I was in high school. It was a used 1994 V6 red w/T tops. I had it up until the time that I had children and got my "mom car". Years later I saw a 2001 red v6 t-top sitting on a lot and I just had to have her!!! I have enjoyed so much getting to drive it. When I take out the t-tops and turn up my radio, I feel like I did when I was 17 cruising the strip! I wouldn't trade her for the world. Never had any issues with it and know it will run for years to come!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

camaro 4th gen

By on Tuesday, May 12, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"awsome car love the bodystyle and the v8 drive train"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, May 6, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"i got my '02 z28 with 46k and it now has 85k. for the price, the car is beast. it can still run with 90% of cars on the road today and its 8 years old. the interior is so so, and its decently comfortable-but thats not why people get these cars. the car is fast, can be made VERY fast with a few parts, and i average 19-21 mpg. highway driving i average 27 mpg. you can not beat sub 5 second 0-60 and sub 13 1/4 mile times, v8 sound and power and 20+ mpg. no regrets."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

THIS CAR IS AWESOME

By on Wednesday, April 29, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"THIS IS MY FAVORITE CAR. I'VE HAD ONE FOR YEARS AND I LOVE IT. IT'S AN ABSOLUTE BEAST. VERY FUN CAR TO DRIVE."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

top 10 0f all time

By on Sunday, April 26, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought mine 4 years ago for $15,000. You can't match the power, styling, or comfort of this car. Bolt on upgrades are easily available. Definately the best car I've ever owned, and I would buy another in a heartbeat. A true bang for the buck American Icon if there ever was one. ***2000 Z/28***"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love My Camaro

By on Thursday, April 23, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought a 2001 White Camaro w/t-tops in April of 2007. 26,000 miles on it. I used to own a 78 Camaro with a 305 V-8. This one ahas the 3.8 L V-6. This car is a kick to drive! I now only have 51,000 miles on it . Never have had any problems with it, consistently runs good, gauges are right where they should be. Upon acceleration, it throws you back in your seat! I am always having other cars wanting to "race", and the orther day as i was taking out the t-tops, I swear I could have sold it to the young man who stopped by to look at it! With the t-tops out and the stereo up, it is a little bit of heaven on earth!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun car to drive.

By on Sunday, April 19, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"You can't beat the performance for the money. I bought mine used in 1997 for $14,000 with 27,000 miles with some performance modifications - chip kit, upgraded exhaust and intake. My only gripe would be that I have replaced the drivers side power window motor twice. Everything else has pretty much been normal maintenance. This car is a rocket - nothing beats the feeling when you punch this car in low gear - it will snap you back in the seat, kick out the rear, and chirp into the next gear! It loves to run fast and the top end acceleration is impressive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

BEST BANG for your buck!

By on Monday, April 13, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"just picked up a Z28 with 60k on her, M6 LS1. runs like a clock, tons of power and torque, great paint quality looks like new still. Low quality interior, but hey what else can you expect from an American car... T-56 transmission with the LS1 corvette motor, every time i turn the key i feel like getting in a police chase."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very dependable car

By on Sunday, April 5, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Looks awesome....great on gas. Very dependable car. This is my second camaro. The first was a 1998 with 212,000 miles when I gave it to my son. I purchased this 2000 Camaro with 39,000 miles onit and plan on driving it for years to come. Engine in both Camaro's are the 3800 V6."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, March 29, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

nice

By on Thursday, March 19, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"If u can find one in good running shappe that hasnt been raced with kow miles as i did it really nice. They got the power and handle like a real sports car. THEY ARE A HAND FULL TO WORK ON. I WOULD SUGGEST THIS CAR FOR THE ONES THAT LIKE LOOKS AND SPEED. YOU WILL NOT BE DIS APPOITED. i GOT MINE WITH 80 K ON IT AND IT THE 30 ANV CAMARO AND IN MINT CONTION, I WAS VERY LUCKY"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

love this car!

By on Sunday, March 15, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 2002 Camaro used in 05 with 21,000 miles on it. I have never had to have any work done on it. I have owned 2 other Camaros in my time and they were good cars too. My 1992 Camaro had 156,000 miles on it when I traded it. Great Cars!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, March 9, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"love this car, very powerful and great handling."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Sunday, March 8, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"1997 Chev. Camaro RS Ice cold air Beautiful paint job brand new tires Sharp looking"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 40 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Camaro near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement