Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1998 Chevrolet Camaro

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 969 Ratings for the 1993 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 97 | Next

Love this car!

By on Sunday, February 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive even on long trips"

Cons: "Back seat is really short on space."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I rate it a ten on most everything. Back seat is not very comfortable if you have long legs. I love the body style. I like the way it moves when it is necessary to MOVE! It's paint is still great but I have had it garaged since it was new. You must be familiar with how to handle cars that are low in the front. Walk it through the water and dips in the road at an angle or you will surely bottom out. It handles terrific on mountain roads. I've owned 4 Camaro, 1 Corvette, and 3 Firebird. I happen to like the body styles... they are racy, sexy and sleek. The 2002 35th Anniversary model with the glass T-Tops is just plain sexy! This wouldn't be a good choice for people who have a hard time getting in and out of a low vehicle. If you are over 6 feet or large body shape, you won't like it."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best bang for the buck at the time!

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Best performance car at the price in 1998."

Cons: "Some may consider the ride a bit taught."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

1998 Z28 Camaro

"I bought the '98 Z28 new to use as a commuter car, replacing my '86 Corvette. I just couldn't see wearing out another Vette commuting to work and back. While the Z28 didn't handle near as well as the Vette, it did have perhaps a bit more power. I have 64K miles on it now and have not had any problems, except for air conditioning loss of Freon and a leaky clutch slave cylinder. The slave cylinder is a bid deal on a Camaro, as it is an integral part of the throwout bearing. That means that the transmission has to be removed to replace it! IMO, this was a big mistake on GM's part, just to save a couple of dollars in manufacturing. That said, the power of the LS1 engine is impressive and published dyno tests indicate that the horse power was underrated. Rear wheel HP is typically around 290. Considering that the car is light by today's standards, it is quick. The driveline is tighter than the '86 Vette and the body far more solid, with very few rattles. Handling is not anywhere as good as the Vette, but better than most cars. Gas millage is very good, considering that the engine is 5.7L, and I average around 24MPG commuting and 27MPG on trips. For a quick, go fast, good handling car, I don't think there was any competition at the time. The brakes are stellar! BTW, I searched hard to get my Z28 with a solid top, as I had my fill of flexing bodies and water leaks. All in all, a great car at the price. Unfortunately, now at 74 years of age, I am not so forgiving of the low entry and firm ride. I'm sure though that a younger person will enjoy it as much as I did."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

1998 Z28 Camaro

I just couldn't ask for more. What a great car!

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Very fun to drive, love the T-tops. Fast."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car with mileage under 10k. It was only one year old. I am not the type to take it to the track and race. I took care of the car and it took care of me. All I did was maintain it and buy it tires and it always ran like a dream. And talk about power. My camaro always allowed me to pass cars with ease. And the abs braking system let me stop on a dime. I bought this car in 2002 when I was in my mid 20's and single. I still have the car but also I am a family man now so now I drive a sedan and my camaro is sitting in my backyard. It still runs and the ac still works. But it no longer fits in my life."

Awesome car, never regretted buying it new

By on Friday, January 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very fun to drive, still looks cool!"

Cons: "They are getting older..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car new in late 2001 and still get a kick out of it every time I drive it. I have only had a couple of minor problems in all these years, not many cars you can buy new and drive for 12 years and say that about. Watch out for ones that somebody has driven the snot out of, these cars are fast and could attract an abusive driver. Driven reasonably, using the speed for traffic situations, the good braking and handling for accident avoidance, and it's one heck of a commute!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good, strong car for a decent price

By on Wednesday, January 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Stong LS1 engine, great price, reliable car, fun"

Cons: "Heavy doors, window motor goes out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Some things I dislike about this car: Heavy doors - Don't slam the doors, the window motors go out pretty easy. T-tops might leak when washing the car. TERRIBLE in the snow"

fun,fast and reliable

By on Monday, December 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love my car."

Very fast & reliable great car. fast fast fast

By on Saturday, December 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Performance, handeling"

Cons: "not very roomy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have had 7 Camaros & this is my favorite. You cannot beat the perfomance of the LS1. it eats mustangs for breakfast kunch & dinner. LOVE this car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My First car

By on Friday, December 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Looks great and its fast"

Cons: "interior is not great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I got my 2000 Chevrolet Camaro this year for my first car; my windows were broken and my center console were broken. I love the way it handles and look and for a v6 it is really fast!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, December 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great place to sit, fun to drive"

Cons: "wonky cup holder position, gets slipper in the wet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my z28 used with 155xxx on the clock, never had a single issue with it. My only real gripe is the location of the center consel cup holder, which will leave you hitting whatever drink of choice you have there is your car is a standard. The fold out cup holder on the passenger side makes up for it though, if you dont mind the reach for it. I replaced its clutch and aside from plugs and wires (which I do to any car I buy used) I have not had to replace anything. The leather buckets are comfortable but do leave you sitting low on the ground, if you try to raise your seat up higher your thighs are rubbing the steering wheel. At least for me, I am over 6 ft tall. Love this car it is very reliable and easy to drive despite it being a car from a dying age of power performance and noise."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

this is very outstanding

By on Tuesday, December 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "t-top and very fast and its real z28"

Cons: "dash is cracked window motors dont work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"white with blue racing strips.has lt1 corvette engine which is 350 and has 350 turbo transmission with stage 3 shift kit.car is more than fast but needs little work.this car is amazing it has ram air hood but no radio and window motors dont work also only 2 head lights work .THE CAR RUNS VERY STRONG AND HAS DUAL MAGNA FLOW EXHAUST .THANK YOU."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 97 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Camaro near Honolulu. See local deals