Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1997 Chevrolet Camaro

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 961 Ratings for the 1993 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 97 | Next

Great car

By on Saturday, December 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great place to sit, fun to drive"

Cons: "wonky cup holder position, gets slipper in the wet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my z28 used with 155xxx on the clock, never had a single issue with it. My only real gripe is the location of the center consel cup holder, which will leave you hitting whatever drink of choice you have there is your car is a standard. The fold out cup holder on the passenger side makes up for it though, if you dont mind the reach for it. I replaced its clutch and aside from plugs and wires (which I do to any car I buy used) I have not had to replace anything. The leather buckets are comfortable but do leave you sitting low on the ground, if you try to raise your seat up higher your thighs are rubbing the steering wheel. At least for me, I am over 6 ft tall. Love this car it is very reliable and easy to drive despite it being a car from a dying age of power performance and noise."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

this is very outstanding

By on Tuesday, December 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "t-top and very fast and its real z28"

Cons: "dash is cracked window motors dont work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"white with blue racing strips.has lt1 corvette engine which is 350 and has 350 turbo transmission with stage 3 shift kit.car is more than fast but needs little work.this car is amazing it has ram air hood but no radio and window motors dont work also only 2 head lights work .THE CAR RUNS VERY STRONG AND HAS DUAL MAGNA FLOW EXHAUST .THANK YOU."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Supper Fun to Drive! but not very convienient

By on Tuesday, November 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, convienient controlls, sounds great."

Cons: "Cramped space, road noise, gas guzzler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Its a great car for anyone who loves driving. With the top down the roar of the engine sounds epic especially in high revs. The car is comfortable only to the driver, the front passenger has to deal with the bump from the exhaust pipe and the rear passengers have to be children to fit in. The convertible version has very small cargo space only big enough to fit one regular sized suitcase. The controls are easy to reach and manipulate without having to take your eyes off the road. the aerodynamics make it impossible for bugs to hit the wind shield. Overall excellent car if you're by yourself but not so great as a passenger vehicle or shopping vehicle."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun, fast, reliable

By on Saturday, November 16, 2013

I owned and sold this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good reliable car, great fun"

Cons: "Parts are exspensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Just showing off

"I've had this car for 11 years and it has been a blast to drive. Handles great, runs like a sewing machine, very fast, 25 mph and lots of compliments. Had to replace the water pump, two oxy. sensors, right rear axle (factory defect) and rack and pinion. Has 134,000 mi. on it and never has had a tune up, starts every time and is ready to go. At 6'2" it is hard to get in and out of for us mid aged folks though, but once in, it is roomy and comfortable"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Just showing off

Great car for the cost!!!

By on Monday, November 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I picked this car up in June of 2012. I paid $8100 at a used car dealership in Roseville,CA. It had 110,XXX miles on it. It was in a minor accident years before I purchased and paint, and drive-ability were perfect. July 2012 I drove it from Reno,NV to Houston, TX. I averaged 28-33mpgs on the highway based on acceleration and cruising speed. I then commuted 80+ miles a day for work 6 days a week. Which is great for a 5.7 V8 with a 4 speed automatic. I have also taken several trips to Fresno area, about 340 miles from Reno. I have averaged over 34mpgs hwy on the way there. The performance of the LS1 motor is great about 270hp at the wheels and 290 ft lbs tq at the wheels. I also have a K&N air filter, custom tune, and muffler delete. All legal modifications. The T-tops don't leak at all which is rare. Monsoon stereo blew out but it was like that at time of purchase. No leaks either. Not bad for a 15 year old car. All around great car. Needs more power for my needs but that's a different story. HAHA"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I really enjoy my car

By on Monday, October 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What an awesome vehicle. I bought it new and have enjoyed putting every single mile on it."

very fun car!

By on Monday, October 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,950

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, very powerful"

Cons: "various plastics interior parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The LS1 V8 is an amazing engine, likes to rev and makes tons of reliable horsepower. Very easy to mod and responds well. Toss a cam, exhaust and a tune then your out running high end sports cars. This is definitely the car for someone on a budget wanting to enjoy spirited driving."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Thursday, October 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 244,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I can't tell you how much I love this car. I have owned "muscle" cars all my life, driven a manual transmission all my life (over 40 yrs driving) and this is the best car I've ever owned. It's fun, it's comfortable, it feels like an extension of me. It has been very reliable, given it's age. I drive every day to work on the interstate about 15+ miles in rush hour traffic. It is a joy. It will tear me to pieces to give this car up. But it's got 244,000+ miles on it and it's starting to get alittle tired... they don't make them like this anymore."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Raw power, very reliable

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Power, Performance, Reliablity, Price, Style"

Cons: "Water intrusion,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got my Z/28 with 64k miles has 186k, still runs very strong and very reliable. Easy and affordable to add more power. Not a car for a first time sports car owner, unless you do research on the power of these cars. You will need good rear tires as with any sports car. The rubber transmission mount will need replacment with a polyurethane or you will replace them a lot. They made the motor very hefty and the transmission is reliable just don't punish it too much, i did and do. I replaced my transmission at 75k miles, remanufactored chevy transmission still going strong after 100k on transmission. I have never failed a smog inspection and im second owner so i know this car in its life has yet to fail a smog test.With the t-top you will see water get into the interior when it rains not a big deal as not much water goes in. Affordable Muscle car, lots of fun."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

no rust...body primed...mechanically better

By on Tuesday, October 01, 2013

I want this car

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"body is in better shape...primed ..needs paint....excellent mechanically...tires good"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 97 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Camaro near Honolulu. See local deals