Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

1996 Chevrolet Camaro

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 967 Ratings for the 1993 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 97 | Next

good project car the motor and transmision great

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: moving out of state

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great price fix er upper project car .t"

Cons: "mp3 player system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"the motor is great fixer upper for a young person"

good project car the motor and transmision great

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: moving out of state

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great price fix er upper project car .t"

Cons: "mp3 player system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"the motor is great fixer upper for a young person"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Cool factor is high!

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Lots of fun great Delco audio system"

Cons: "No DVD one cd at a time dated"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Makes me happy when my friends see it. Also is surprisingly reliable. Minimal issues, horsepower may be low due to the year it was produced. In 2016 when it's 20 yrs old the value should jump. Plus, everyone gets excited when you say, "I drive a camaro!""

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

good so far

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very cheap, great running, fast for a v6"

Cons: "does not go good at all in snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"have had my car about a month now has 259000 in dash but redone the engine and transmission. has a little over 100k now great running and driving car."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Everything you ever wanted in a Camaro Z28

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just a beautiful "arrest-me" red car"

Cons: "needs a headliner"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a one owner car. All paper available. ISCA Show car. (all dash plaques mounted) Original paint with painted stripes under flames upto the windshield. Lots of bolt-ons for appearance and performance. Modified suspension and chassis give an aggressive stance and the feel of a much more expensive car. All work done by myself. Lots of chrome, stainless under hood. Stock drivetrain. Personalized interior boasts a rosewood interior. Well taken care of, garaged, rain only by accident, serious head turner, Royal Purple always. Illness forces sale. Five years until antique status. 2007 Camaro Calendar(Canadian version) "girl" (July 2007)."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Bang for Buck

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, great fun, great looks, great mods"

Cons: "simplistic plastic interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Burnouts all day long"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This is the perfect car

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable nice interior / exterior, good on gas"

Cons: "i prefer halo headlights"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is comfortable nice interior / exterior, good on gas, it's very fast, and last but not least wont cost you an arm and a leg for insurance."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great cars!

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great all around car"

Cons: "Fuel pumps go out alot."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 1996 Camaro RS was just a project when I bought it. But I quickly fell in love. This car has so many upgrade options, you can make it completely amazing. I plan on doing many things with mine, and if the engine goes out before i'm finished, well i'll spend just $350 on a rebuild kit :)"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Sunday, February 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive even on long trips"

Cons: "Back seat is really short on space."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I rate it a ten on most everything. Back seat is not very comfortable if you have long legs. I love the body style. I like the way it moves when it is necessary to MOVE! It's paint is still great but I have had it garaged since it was new. You must be familiar with how to handle cars that are low in the front. Walk it through the water and dips in the road at an angle or you will surely bottom out. It handles terrific on mountain roads. I've owned 4 Camaro, 1 Corvette, and 3 Firebird. I happen to like the body styles... they are racy, sexy and sleek. The 2002 35th Anniversary model with the glass T-Tops is just plain sexy! This wouldn't be a good choice for people who have a hard time getting in and out of a low vehicle. If you are over 6 feet or large body shape, you won't like it."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best bang for the buck at the time!

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Best performance car at the price in 1998."

Cons: "Some may consider the ride a bit taught."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

1998 Z28 Camaro

"I bought the '98 Z28 new to use as a commuter car, replacing my '86 Corvette. I just couldn't see wearing out another Vette commuting to work and back. While the Z28 didn't handle near as well as the Vette, it did have perhaps a bit more power. I have 64K miles on it now and have not had any problems, except for air conditioning loss of Freon and a leaky clutch slave cylinder. The slave cylinder is a bid deal on a Camaro, as it is an integral part of the throwout bearing. That means that the transmission has to be removed to replace it! IMO, this was a big mistake on GM's part, just to save a couple of dollars in manufacturing. That said, the power of the LS1 engine is impressive and published dyno tests indicate that the horse power was underrated. Rear wheel HP is typically around 290. Considering that the car is light by today's standards, it is quick. The driveline is tighter than the '86 Vette and the body far more solid, with very few rattles. Handling is not anywhere as good as the Vette, but better than most cars. Gas millage is very good, considering that the engine is 5.7L, and I average around 24MPG commuting and 27MPG on trips. For a quick, go fast, good handling car, I don't think there was any competition at the time. The brakes are stellar! BTW, I searched hard to get my Z28 with a solid top, as I had my fill of flexing bodies and water leaks. All in all, a great car at the price. Unfortunately, now at 74 years of age, I am not so forgiving of the low entry and firm ride. I'm sure though that a younger person will enjoy it as much as I did."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

1998 Z28 Camaro

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 97 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Camaro near Honolulu. See local deals