Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

1996 Chevrolet Camaro

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 965 Ratings for the 1993 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next

Great cars!

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great all around car"

Cons: "Fuel pumps go out alot."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 1996 Camaro RS was just a project when I bought it. But I quickly fell in love. This car has so many upgrade options, you can make it completely amazing. I plan on doing many things with mine, and if the engine goes out before i'm finished, well i'll spend just $350 on a rebuild kit :)"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Sunday, February 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive even on long trips"

Cons: "Back seat is really short on space."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I rate it a ten on most everything. Back seat is not very comfortable if you have long legs. I love the body style. I like the way it moves when it is necessary to MOVE! It's paint is still great but I have had it garaged since it was new. You must be familiar with how to handle cars that are low in the front. Walk it through the water and dips in the road at an angle or you will surely bottom out. It handles terrific on mountain roads. I've owned 4 Camaro, 1 Corvette, and 3 Firebird. I happen to like the body styles... they are racy, sexy and sleek. The 2002 35th Anniversary model with the glass T-Tops is just plain sexy! This wouldn't be a good choice for people who have a hard time getting in and out of a low vehicle. If you are over 6 feet or large body shape, you won't like it."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best bang for the buck at the time!

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Best performance car at the price in 1998."

Cons: "Some may consider the ride a bit taught."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

1998 Z28 Camaro

"I bought the '98 Z28 new to use as a commuter car, replacing my '86 Corvette. I just couldn't see wearing out another Vette commuting to work and back. While the Z28 didn't handle near as well as the Vette, it did have perhaps a bit more power. I have 64K miles on it now and have not had any problems, except for air conditioning loss of Freon and a leaky clutch slave cylinder. The slave cylinder is a bid deal on a Camaro, as it is an integral part of the throwout bearing. That means that the transmission has to be removed to replace it! IMO, this was a big mistake on GM's part, just to save a couple of dollars in manufacturing. That said, the power of the LS1 engine is impressive and published dyno tests indicate that the horse power was underrated. Rear wheel HP is typically around 290. Considering that the car is light by today's standards, it is quick. The driveline is tighter than the '86 Vette and the body far more solid, with very few rattles. Handling is not anywhere as good as the Vette, but better than most cars. Gas millage is very good, considering that the engine is 5.7L, and I average around 24MPG commuting and 27MPG on trips. For a quick, go fast, good handling car, I don't think there was any competition at the time. The brakes are stellar! BTW, I searched hard to get my Z28 with a solid top, as I had my fill of flexing bodies and water leaks. All in all, a great car at the price. Unfortunately, now at 74 years of age, I am not so forgiving of the low entry and firm ride. I'm sure though that a younger person will enjoy it as much as I did."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

1998 Z28 Camaro

I just couldn't ask for more. What a great car!

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Very fun to drive, love the T-tops. Fast."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car with mileage under 10k. It was only one year old. I am not the type to take it to the track and race. I took care of the car and it took care of me. All I did was maintain it and buy it tires and it always ran like a dream. And talk about power. My camaro always allowed me to pass cars with ease. And the abs braking system let me stop on a dime. I bought this car in 2002 when I was in my mid 20's and single. I still have the car but also I am a family man now so now I drive a sedan and my camaro is sitting in my backyard. It still runs and the ac still works. But it no longer fits in my life."

Awesome car, never regretted buying it new

By on Friday, January 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very fun to drive, still looks cool!"

Cons: "They are getting older..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car new in late 2001 and still get a kick out of it every time I drive it. I have only had a couple of minor problems in all these years, not many cars you can buy new and drive for 12 years and say that about. Watch out for ones that somebody has driven the snot out of, these cars are fast and could attract an abusive driver. Driven reasonably, using the speed for traffic situations, the good braking and handling for accident avoidance, and it's one heck of a commute!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good, strong car for a decent price

By on Wednesday, January 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Stong LS1 engine, great price, reliable car, fun"

Cons: "Heavy doors, window motor goes out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Some things I dislike about this car: Heavy doors - Don't slam the doors, the window motors go out pretty easy. T-tops might leak when washing the car. TERRIBLE in the snow"

fun,fast and reliable

By on Monday, December 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love my car."

Very fast & reliable great car. fast fast fast

By on Saturday, December 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Performance, handeling"

Cons: "not very roomy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have had 7 Camaros & this is my favorite. You cannot beat the perfomance of the LS1. it eats mustangs for breakfast kunch & dinner. LOVE this car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My First car

By on Friday, December 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Looks great and its fast"

Cons: "interior is not great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I got my 2000 Chevrolet Camaro this year for my first car; my windows were broken and my center console were broken. I love the way it handles and look and for a v6 it is really fast!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, December 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great place to sit, fun to drive"

Cons: "wonky cup holder position, gets slipper in the wet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my z28 used with 155xxx on the clock, never had a single issue with it. My only real gripe is the location of the center consel cup holder, which will leave you hitting whatever drink of choice you have there is your car is a standard. The fold out cup holder on the passenger side makes up for it though, if you dont mind the reach for it. I replaced its clutch and aside from plugs and wires (which I do to any car I buy used) I have not had to replace anything. The leather buckets are comfortable but do leave you sitting low on the ground, if you try to raise your seat up higher your thighs are rubbing the steering wheel. At least for me, I am over 6 ft tall. Love this car it is very reliable and easy to drive despite it being a car from a dying age of power performance and noise."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

this is very outstanding

By on Tuesday, December 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "t-top and very fast and its real z28"

Cons: "dash is cracked window motors dont work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"white with blue racing strips.has lt1 corvette engine which is 350 and has 350 turbo transmission with stage 3 shift kit.car is more than fast but needs little work.this car is amazing it has ram air hood but no radio and window motors dont work also only 2 head lights work .THE CAR RUNS VERY STRONG AND HAS DUAL MAGNA FLOW EXHAUST .THANK YOU."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Supper Fun to Drive! but not very convienient

By on Tuesday, November 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, convienient controlls, sounds great."

Cons: "Cramped space, road noise, gas guzzler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Its a great car for anyone who loves driving. With the top down the roar of the engine sounds epic especially in high revs. The car is comfortable only to the driver, the front passenger has to deal with the bump from the exhaust pipe and the rear passengers have to be children to fit in. The convertible version has very small cargo space only big enough to fit one regular sized suitcase. The controls are easy to reach and manipulate without having to take your eyes off the road. the aerodynamics make it impossible for bugs to hit the wind shield. Overall excellent car if you're by yourself but not so great as a passenger vehicle or shopping vehicle."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun, fast, reliable

By on Saturday, November 16, 2013

I owned and sold this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good reliable car, great fun"

Cons: "Parts are exspensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Just showing off

"I've had this car for 11 years and it has been a blast to drive. Handles great, runs like a sewing machine, very fast, 25 mph and lots of compliments. Had to replace the water pump, two oxy. sensors, right rear axle (factory defect) and rack and pinion. Has 134,000 mi. on it and never has had a tune up, starts every time and is ready to go. At 6'2" it is hard to get in and out of for us mid aged folks though, but once in, it is roomy and comfortable"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Just showing off

Great car for the cost!!!

By on Monday, November 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I picked this car up in June of 2012. I paid $8100 at a used car dealership in Roseville,CA. It had 110,XXX miles on it. It was in a minor accident years before I purchased and paint, and drive-ability were perfect. July 2012 I drove it from Reno,NV to Houston, TX. I averaged 28-33mpgs on the highway based on acceleration and cruising speed. I then commuted 80+ miles a day for work 6 days a week. Which is great for a 5.7 V8 with a 4 speed automatic. I have also taken several trips to Fresno area, about 340 miles from Reno. I have averaged over 34mpgs hwy on the way there. The performance of the LS1 motor is great about 270hp at the wheels and 290 ft lbs tq at the wheels. I also have a K&N air filter, custom tune, and muffler delete. All legal modifications. The T-tops don't leak at all which is rare. Monsoon stereo blew out but it was like that at time of purchase. No leaks either. Not bad for a 15 year old car. All around great car. Needs more power for my needs but that's a different story. HAHA"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I really enjoy my car

By on Monday, October 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What an awesome vehicle. I bought it new and have enjoyed putting every single mile on it."

very fun car!

By on Monday, October 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,950

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, very powerful"

Cons: "various plastics interior parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The LS1 V8 is an amazing engine, likes to rev and makes tons of reliable horsepower. Very easy to mod and responds well. Toss a cam, exhaust and a tune then your out running high end sports cars. This is definitely the car for someone on a budget wanting to enjoy spirited driving."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Thursday, October 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 244,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I can't tell you how much I love this car. I have owned "muscle" cars all my life, driven a manual transmission all my life (over 40 yrs driving) and this is the best car I've ever owned. It's fun, it's comfortable, it feels like an extension of me. It has been very reliable, given it's age. I drive every day to work on the interstate about 15+ miles in rush hour traffic. It is a joy. It will tear me to pieces to give this car up. But it's got 244,000+ miles on it and it's starting to get alittle tired... they don't make them like this anymore."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Raw power, very reliable

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Power, Performance, Reliablity, Price, Style"

Cons: "Water intrusion,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got my Z/28 with 64k miles has 186k, still runs very strong and very reliable. Easy and affordable to add more power. Not a car for a first time sports car owner, unless you do research on the power of these cars. You will need good rear tires as with any sports car. The rubber transmission mount will need replacment with a polyurethane or you will replace them a lot. They made the motor very hefty and the transmission is reliable just don't punish it too much, i did and do. I replaced my transmission at 75k miles, remanufactored chevy transmission still going strong after 100k on transmission. I have never failed a smog inspection and im second owner so i know this car in its life has yet to fail a smog test.With the t-top you will see water get into the interior when it rains not a big deal as not much water goes in. Affordable Muscle car, lots of fun."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

no rust...body primed...mechanically better

By on Tuesday, October 01, 2013

I want this car

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"body is in better shape...primed ..needs paint....excellent mechanically...tires good"

Z28 1LE

By on Saturday, September 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Absolutely a blast to drive and cheap to maintain"

Cons: "Firm ride, no creature comforts ie. air, pwr stuff"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car is one of 135 1LE cars that were built to comply with SCCA stock class rules and Canadian players challange rules. 20 went to Canada and the remaining 115 were sold in the US. No AC, No power windows or door locks or seats. 6 speed trans. Faster than my 96 LT4 vette, and handles as well. Has Factory 2 way adjustable Konis all around and is a great track day car. Fun to drive and only draw back is ugly Black cherry and Pearl yellow factory paint scheme."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

98 Chevy Camaro

By on Thursday, September 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my car it's the second Camaro I have owned and it is a lot of fun to drive. It handles excellent, looks sporty and fun, the only down fall for this car is fuel economy."

Unusual emotional attachment

By on Wednesday, September 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "looks great, super performance, handles remarkably"

Cons: "keeps the mechanic in business"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Taken in 2009

""Unusual emotional attachment." That's what I call it. This is the second Camaro I have owned. The first was a 1984 V6. I loved it and had a mild mental breakdown when I tried to trade it in on another car. Until, I saw this car on the used car lot. It was Christmas 1999, had about 75,000 miles on it and cost me $9,000 with my trade-in. The new sticker price was well over $20,000. I felt I had robbed the bank. I didn't understand why anyone would give up this car, but I found out the young man that bought it new had just had a baby and traded it on a mini-van. His loss, my treasure. As you can see it is still a beautiful car. I have loved driving it every minute. It has great horsepower and anti-lock brakes, which for me go together! It does break a lot, though. My husband hates the car for that reason. Everything on it is high performance. I've been told high performance parts don't always last as long. I don't mind the sacrifice. It has been a very good car for me. Right now we are looking for a mechanic to replace the engine and transmission. A new Camaro would cost a lot more than keeping this one going. I wouldn't mind a new one, but just don't want to pay for it. That's why I say this car is a good value."

Taken in 2009

This is my baby!

By on Monday, August 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive, dependable, long lastin"

Cons: "blind spots, low to the ground"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this car since day one and have always loved it. I like the nice, clean lines, I like the way it handles and rides. I like everything about it! The only thing I would caution is that it does have blind spots. Once you are aware of those though there are no issues!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Inexpensive and powerful!

By on Monday, August 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great motor, a/c transmition, mechanical wonder"

Cons: "low quality interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is the first car I have ever bought after 2 hand me downs and it is the best first time decision I have ever made as a sports car/American muscle enthusiast. Bought it for only $4500 at a lot with original rims and great motor and a/c . interior quality is a small sacrifice gm made to compensate for faster acceleration and detailed motor/transmission. I ran it top speed and bust a radiator leak and the temp hit 360 plus and the alloy motor was still intact, had it been aluminum goodbye motor, extremely reliable and fast acceleration, repairs are also cheap since parts are very easily found and mechanic knowledge of this vehicle is extensive"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun to drive!

By on Friday, August 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great Performance, great looking and Fun to drive"

Cons: "Poor interior quality, some quirks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a performance car for a cheap. So you tend to not get great interior quality or fit and finish. However, the exterior does look awesome. I have owned this car for 9years now and I still love the look of it. From the factory the 97 Camaro is a very good performance car by todays standards. 285hp isn't much today, but this is the lightest Camaro since the 1st generation. So it accelerates to 60 in 5.7sec(man) and 5.5(auto) and both transmissions will run a 13.9 in the quarter and top out just over 165mph. This is also I very reliable drive train if its not meddled with the wrong way. The LT-1 will out last a LS-1 nearly every time. That being said the power window motors do go WAY to often. The LT-1 also has a small oil leak. It will never harm the engine, it is simply to small, and if driven daily it will be hard to tell. The T-tops will leak if out in a bad enough storm, but I still wouldn't trade them for the world.(it doesn't leak that bad) The handling is much better than you would expect. It is able to pull .98gs with a good set of z rated tires, and the breaks are very good as well. The handling takes some getting use to, but when you do it is capable. I had a C4 Vette and I know that should be the better handling car. The ride was to firm for comfort, but I still found the Camaro gave me better feed back. Simply I felt it was better and the ride is much more comfortable. Now my car is modified and makes 390-410hp and 440-450 torque.(depending the weather)These are from all bolt ons, and this is obviously not a wild tune. Though you want to be careful not to run it to lean. This it has tiptonic internals, that do not take to detonation. So you need to be careful and tune the car properly by a trained mechanic. My car wasn't there yet, but it is still very fast. It runs 12.8 in the 1/4 and the 0-60 us 4.3-4.5sec(pending how I shift and the temperature) Still its not bad for a very reliable car, and I still get 17city and 24highway. So for the price this is a great performance car!"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Camaro near Honolulu. See local deals