Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1995 Chevrolet Camaro

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 963 Ratings for the 1993 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next

My Maro'

By on Saturday, July 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Sharp, Fun to drive, Powerful, great look"

Cons: "Security System"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've owned this car for around 4 months now and I've encountered very minor problems along the lines of changing the Alternator and re-welding a exhaust pipe that's really all that has happened so far. I bought the car around 194,XXX miles on it, it just hit 200,000 just today. This car is really reliable as long as you respect the Camaro it'll respect you. Over the course of 4 months Chevy has made me a die hard fan of the Camaro it's simply amazing. The f-body type is the best of all Chevy Camaro's. The only real problem I have with mine is that there is a security system in my car and every time one of the two doors opens the alarm goes off and it gets really annoying. One night around 2 A.M my car starts going off randomly so I go outside to check on it come to find out it just keeps hoking randomly I took out the horn fuse to solve that issue."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Fun Vehicle Ever!

By on Friday, July 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sporty, fun to drive, lots of power"

Cons: "Sits low to ground, cup holders could be deeper"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second red chevy camaro (both bought brand-new). I've owned my 1995 for 18 years without any problems. Serviced and maintained every 5,000 miles. Sporty, reliable & fun to drive. Averages 22-27 mpg. V6 3.4 liter - lots of power. Plenty of room for two people, definitely one. T-tops never leaked. Roomy and spacious hatchback. Although a comfortable ride, can be difficult getting in/out of car...sits low to ground. Driver one-touch power window still works and original key remote still going strong. Passenger window motor problematic at times. Smooth and sporty ride. Best vehicle I've ever owned hands down. Wish chevy made them like they use to. Would buy another brand new camaro if were like this model (1995)."

Great car for performance and reliability

By on Monday, July 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "power, styling, reliability"

Cons: "interior materials, window motors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is great, it has tons of power, not bad mpg, very reliable other then some of the interior parts are cheap and its very fun, stylish and a great value."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Car I ever bought for $500

By on Friday, June 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable and parts are cheep and plentifull"

Cons: "The window motors like to go out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've only had the water pump and the fuel pump go out and after i change them out most reliable car I've ever had it out lasted two Chrysler a Ford and a Pontiac and its still tucking if you need cheep reliable transportation that has some style get on of these"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Extremely well maintained by dealer

By on Saturday, May 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Runs like a champ."

Cons: "Fabric seats worn - have seat covers. AC need work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Religiously changed Mobil one oil every 3000 miles for life of car."

Great car for my first car

By on Sunday, April 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, fun, affordable"

Cons: "No legroom backseat, replacement parts expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Photo when I just put in aftermarket headlights

"I got this car in 2010 as my first car. It's a very fun car to drive, fast, reliable, and comfortable to ride in, for the front seat that is. The backseat has practically no legroom, but no worries. People like to talk mess about the fact that it's a v6, but there's nothing wrong with the v6. It's incredibly fuel efficient, and is a very good car. I did do some work on the exhaust to make it a little quicker off the line, and to make it sound a little better, but nothing major... yet.Overall though, I love my car and I wouldn't sell it for the world. There are a few things I’d change about my experience with it, but those things are mere personal opinion... If you can help it, get one! You won't regret it!"

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Photo when I just put in aftermarket headlights

Good solid car

By on Tuesday, April 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun, affordable, easy to upgrade and maintain"

Cons: "Weak rear end"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have owned an 02 Camaro since '06. Fun to drive, is driveable in snow, IF you have GOOD tires, has a good safety rating, better than average brakes, good handling, better if you upgrade it, and fairly easy to work on. Even towed a Harley to Sturgis and back, with no problems."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great bang for your buck

By on Thursday, April 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun, affordable, economic, RWD"

Cons: "Harsh ride compared to newer suspensions"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I'm the 2nd owner of a 95 V6 Camaro, 5MT. To say this poor girl has been driven hard would be putting things lightly. The 1st owner was a friend of mine who received it brand new as a 16th B-day present. Needless to say, RWD and 16 year olds are a pretty risky combo and this was not an exception. Lots of power slides and other hoonigan activities have taken place over the last 18 years in this car and she just asks for more all while delivering 25+ mpg and road handling characteristics very "un-Camarolike". Love is not a strong enough word to explain my feelings for my Camaro. I grew up with her as my main source of freedom and I appreciate everything she's provided for me. You'll hear people say "Oh, you have the V6?" like it is some sort of pitiful existence. In reality, if you are looking for adequate torque/hp, and precision handling, the mid-front mount of the engine behind the front axle is optimum for a RWD platform. I rambled through that but its hard for me to quantify in words how great this car is. BUY ONE IF YOU CAN!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

LOVE THIS CAR!! Very FUN to drive Sharp to look at

By on Sunday, March 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only complaint is that replacing headlight is EXPENSIVE!! Truly thought it was a joke the first time they needed to be replaced..Other than that just normal oil changes etc. Drove her for 19 and 1/2 years - never got stuck, even in Michigan winters!!! Wish I could have her cloned!!!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Monday, March 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love the car . I had it from new 1998 one owner but must downsize for a move south. I had planned to keep it forever but times changed.Very powerfull and fun to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1995 V-6 Coupe a Keeper!

By on Monday, March 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun driver, t-tops are cool, very low maintenace"

Cons: "Not good in the snow, doors ice up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car just keeps on running! Due to the abundance of fiberglass panels there's little rust. Never put in spark plugs or had any trans problems. The car has been neglected over the last few years, yet remains good looking and reliable. Probably the best value over time (many years) in any vehicle we ever purchased."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Lovable car in spite of flaws

By on Wednesday, February 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, fairly reliable, holding value"

Cons: "Uncomfortable seating, not completely relliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this 2002 Camaro in 2009 with 30,000 miles for $8,150 at a dealer; KBB says that's what it's worth more than three years later, and at 59,000 miles in excellent shape, which it is. V-6 Coupes were not sports cars; suspension was soft by Z28 standards, though not as lush as Buicks (thankfully). Car is very smooth and steady at highway speeds, though - passengers have commented on how it rides like a larger, heavier car on the highway. Gets a true 27-28 MPG on highway, but far less in city. Car has been reliable for me, except a shamefully expensive ($1,000 plus) fuel pump replacement at 40,000 miles. Gas tank must be removed, and rear axle must be partly disassembled (!) to get at gas tank. And, of course, power window motors have gone out twice already - I never use the power windows unless absolutely necessary. I probably would not have purchased this car save for the T-tops - they're just too cool, and you do get a convertible feel in the car when they are removed, yet there absolutely is no cowl shake in the car at anytime. T-tops and targa roofs are, all around, better than soft convertible tops. But car continues to look nice, though it's unbelievably cheap on the inside, worse even than the late Saturn Ion, for example - the plastic comes off of toys, I think. But, for all this, I like the car! And it is mostly reliable."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Solid car with decent mileage on highway.

By on Sunday, January 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Serviceability"

Cons: "Radio antenna linked to chassis"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The camaro F body has been quite reliable. I have had to replace ignition coils, spark plugs, and plug wires but that is normal wear. Chevrolet in 2000 used that awful environment friendly antifreeze that gummed up the coolant system but with a flush and clean out with todays green coolant things are back together. The vehicle is easy to service, runs great, handles like a sports car, is comfortable for a 6' 3" person to drive which is never the case for Foriegn cars. Probably the biggest issue with the car is the stigma of a muscle car. I get 25 mpg highway."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very satisfied with this car.

By on Monday, December 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has been the most reliable car I have ever owned."

GOOD CAR. I HAVE HAD 3 CAMEROS OVER THE YEARS.

By on Sunday, November 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable headrest. Good gas mileage. Reliable."

Cons: "The shifting could be smoother."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned 3 Cameros and all have gotten about 30 miles to the gallon on rode trips and one of them was a 8 cylinder. Two of them had T-tops and I have not had a problem with those. When I go through the car wash a little water comes in but that is water under pressure but never when it rains. I love the Camero. I bought a Honda Civic in 2011 because I am not happy with GM but it was not because I did not like the Camero."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

needs some interior work, T- top,rebuilt transmiss

By on Monday, November 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "$2500"

Cons: "radio/cd player working, need tires in afew months"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"ion,not much exterior rust,electreical work done,one owner, need window motor on passenger side, protective coating on exterior, a few bings and small scratches."

1 person out of 8 found this review helpful

1995 camero Z28 convertible-love this car

By on Tuesday, October 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Proud to drive-A real roadrunner!--have fun drivin"

Cons: "Bad cupholders--bad in snow--low to ground"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought this car new, in 1995. After the dealer fixed an oil leak problem, I have had only the normal expense with this car. It has provided me with 17 years of transportation, while only having 86000 miles on it. The long front end, means you have to leave enough room, when you pull up behind another vehicle. I love driving this car, but it does tend to slide a bit in rain, and it is definitely not a snow car. It responds very well when you need it to. It sits very low to the ground, which wasn't a problem 17 yrs ago, but now its a little struggle getting out of it.The bottom line--I'd buy this car again, in a minute. Sleek, black and beautiful."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Fun to drive, not easy to repair.

By on Monday, October 15, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Needed a truck

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, comfortable on short drives."

Cons: "Impossible to repair, not a cruiser."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I owned this car for nearly three years, and in that time I found out why everyone told me not to buy it. Plastic interior was cheap, the engine was impossible to work on, the engine had regular problems, and parts were never easy to come by owing to it going out of production in 2002. While I was almost never able to service it myself, I enjoyed driving it in my town. Journeys longer than 30 miles at once were unbearable, but while just in town the comfort and handling were great. My friend had a V6 Mustang from the same year and I could outrun him every time. I couldn't help but love this car regardless of its faults and its mpg wasnt bad either (20/25). Overall I probably wouldnt recomend this car to a friend, but i would buy one again just for the fun of driving it."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Awesome

By on Friday, October 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "THe Bomb All Around"

Cons: "Replacing Parts After Hot Rodin"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best Car Ever"

bad design flaw

By on Thursday, October 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,600

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "good gas milage"

Cons: "optispark distributor location"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I've owned my Camaro for 11 years and all I've done is put distributor after distributor into it every 2 years!! Its crazy!! But otherwise the motor is solid for its age and milage."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A blast to drive, but a burden to maintain..

By on Monday, September 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "They are cheap and fun to drive"

Cons: "Labor costs, overall design flaws, lack of quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I received the car when I was 16. At the time, I was in the market for a camaro, and I decided on a red 1997 Camaro (V6)with approximately 150,000 miles. I fell in love with it from first glance. However, it spent most of my high school years in and out of the shop. I ended up paying three times as much on repairs as I did on the original purchase price of the car. I should have done some research before getting the car. Cons: It has had issues with the wiring harness and issues with the wiring in the key-lock cylinder. The car has an ongoing issue with the daytime running lamps. I have replaced the timing cover; timing chain; timing guide (which is capped with nylon, which wears out and causes the chain to rattle and wear against the timing cover); rear end; radiator; fuel injector gasket; head gaskets; drive train (the factory piece consists of two separate pieces which have a connecting joint in the middle that wears out); water pump (3x); Thermostat (2X); Window motors (3X); window guides; front driver's seat (rebuild); three wiring harnesses; trunk pistons; Brake lines; brake master cylinder; fuel lines; EVAP canister with solenoids; Rear main seal gasket; and transmission lines. Cons (continued): The interior is cheaply crafted of plastic. There are cracks in the handle inserts and dash. The clips in the switch panels break. The center console top rots off. The left rear-view mirror does not operate. The sun visors are cardboard covered with thin fabric and cost over $100 for a new pair. It causes me shame to even look at my visors. The cigarette lighter socket busted inward. The trunk latch button fell off. The A/C has not worked since I owned the car but blows air. The engine rattles terribly. Lastly and most importantly are labor costs/time. The way that the car is designed makes it a nightmare to repair in all aspects. This also means higher labor costs. Pros: The visibility is unbelievable (Thanks to large windows). It is wonderful to drive (It is not super smooth, but better than a comparable mustang). The engine is literally bullet proof (other than the few moronic design flaws). It has a decent amount of power. It gets decent gas mileage. It handles well with responsible driving even under poor weather conditions. It has a uniquely attractive body style. Conclusion: To conclude, I write this review as friendly advice. I spent time labeling out each issue to be thorough and to effectively convey my point: I love the car even with all of its quirks. If you do not mind shoveling money out the window on repairs($8,000+), then by all means, get one. On the other hand, if you are strapped for cash, invest in something more durable. In my opinion, GM's negligence of quality during the 90's caused the issue-ridden fourth generation Camaro to be discontinued and caused GM to go bankrupt. My ultimate verdict: I WILL NEVER buy a fourth generation Camaro again!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Fun to Drive

By on Tuesday, September 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Performance and Handling"

Cons: "Gas milage and Brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been wonderful i have owned the car for a couple years with no big problems besides being a daily driver and need to keep up on the maintenance. Pros - Great performance easy to maintain and very reliable. Cons - Gas mileage and if you plan on driving this car a lot be ready to get good brakes and keep up on tires."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A perfect intro to American power

By on Wednesday, August 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power, great value, nice lines, fun to drive"

Cons: "weak passenger window motor, plain interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I started off with a 10 year old Hyundai Accent as my first car as it was given too me and I sold it for $3500. I found my 95' Camaro for $1625 from a dealer page on Ebay. It only ran on five cylinders for the five hour ride home and got 17mpg but once I replaced spark plugs, serpentine belt, and ignition coil it ran great on all six, up to 22 mpg. After putting a fluid cleaner through the gas tank into the engine and using 89 octane gas, I am getting 26mpg. So for about $2000 I got a 25+mpg car with 200 hp and great looks. Can't complain about that for a 17 year old. The motor in the passenger window needs replacement as does the muffler, drive shaft, and tires. After that all should be good for under $3000. Talk about bang for your buck. I recommend this ride to anyone not wanting to invest too much into a quality vehicle. I will upgrade after college but for now I'm enjoying this car a lot."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

SO great that I bought it back...

By on Friday, August 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Cheap power and easily modified for more!!!"

Cons: "Interior plastics should have been designed better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Power and looks are great. I sold my Camaro 2 yrs ago and bought it back after the previous owner only put 3500 miles on the car. Compared to the price of a new Camaro, these 98-02 SS & Z28s are the best bang for your buck!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Teens dream

By on Friday, August 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Stick shift, T-Tops, Speed and acceleration"

Cons: "Gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for just over a year. I was nervous to get this as a first car because of the stick but now I love to drive the stick in this car. It doesn't get the best mpg around 18. In the last year i have had to replace the clutch pressure plate and fuel pump but these are the first major repairs that the car has had in its life time. If you get one with T-tops it is one of the funnest things to drive around in. The car has many aftermarket parts that you can get to enhance the performance and make it sound like a beast."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Camaro near Honolulu. See local deals