Go

1994 Chevrolet Camaro

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 988 Ratings for the 1993 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 99 | Next

Best bang for the buck at the time!

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Best performance car at the price in 1998."

Cons: "Some may consider the ride a bit taught."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

1998 Z28 Camaro

"I bought the '98 Z28 new to use as a commuter car, replacing my '86 Corvette. I just couldn't see wearing out another Vette commuting to work and back. While the Z28 didn't handle near as well as the Vette, it did have perhaps a bit more power. I have 64K miles on it now and have not had any problems, except for air conditioning loss of Freon and a leaky clutch slave cylinder. The slave cylinder is a bid deal on a Camaro, as it is an integral part of the throwout bearing. That means that the transmission has to be removed to replace it! IMO, this was a big mistake on GM's part, just to save a couple of dollars in manufacturing. That said, the power of the LS1 engine is impressive and published dyno tests indicate that the horse power was underrated. Rear wheel HP is typically around 290. Considering that the car is light by today's standards, it is quick. The driveline is tighter than the '86 Vette and the body far more solid, with very few rattles. Handling is not anywhere as good as the Vette, but better than most cars. Gas millage is very good, considering that the engine is 5.7L, and I average around 24MPG commuting and 27MPG on trips. For a quick, go fast, good handling car, I don't think there was any competition at the time. The brakes are stellar! BTW, I searched hard to get my Z28 with a solid top, as I had my fill of flexing bodies and water leaks. All in all, a great car at the price. Unfortunately, now at 74 years of age, I am not so forgiving of the low entry and firm ride. I'm sure though that a younger person will enjoy it as much as I did."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

1998 Z28 Camaro

Teens dream

By on Friday, August 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Stick shift, T-Tops, Speed and acceleration"

Cons: "Gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for just over a year. I was nervous to get this as a first car because of the stick but now I love to drive the stick in this car. It doesn't get the best mpg around 18. In the last year i have had to replace the clutch pressure plate and fuel pump but these are the first major repairs that the car has had in its life time. If you get one with T-tops it is one of the funnest things to drive around in. The car has many aftermarket parts that you can get to enhance the performance and make it sound like a beast."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Fun to Drive

By on Tuesday, September 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Performance and Handling"

Cons: "Gas milage and Brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been wonderful i have owned the car for a couple years with no big problems besides being a daily driver and need to keep up on the maintenance. Pros - Great performance easy to maintain and very reliable. Cons - Gas mileage and if you plan on driving this car a lot be ready to get good brakes and keep up on tires."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A good car

By on Friday, March 06, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Idealy suited to longer drives on major roads, it has ample power with around 300bhp and drop dead looks. Handling is good, though on bendy European roads a little caution in tight turning should be advised. Ive had Double Diamond Subframe connectors added to stiffen the frame that makes cornering easier. The assisted braking can sometimes make stopping feel a little spongy, but they do a good job of shedding all that speed in a controlled manner. The dash is well presented with everything in a convenient place, and it is something else to sit in the drivers seat and see that dash stretch out to meet the windscreen, then flow out over the acres of hood. The greatest asset of this car has to be the engine. Just crusing along at 40 gives you a warm feeling in your guts hearing the engine barely tick over at 1500rpm, but when you press down that throttle, feel the front rise up in the air and press those rear wheels into the tarmac, its almost like riding an animal that rears up to to show its fangs. The rev counter surges up, and so does the speed. 0-60 in a tad over 5 seconds is possible, and ive had mine to a top speed of 149 before i had to slow down (was on a private road and it just wasn't that long) though i hadn't redlined it and was still accelerating. Fuel consuption for the V8 OH16v engine is also quite reasonable... the official figures state MPG (city) 17 MPG (highway) 26 MPG (combined) 20 Persoanlly these are a load of rubbish... these are mine averaged for the last four months (in winter but with careful driving and a light right foot) MPG (city) 22 MPG (highway) 30 (have gotten this up to 36 in past)"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This is the perfect car

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable nice interior / exterior, good on gas"

Cons: "i prefer halo headlights"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is comfortable nice interior / exterior, good on gas, it's very fast, and last but not least wont cost you an arm and a leg for insurance."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car for the cost!!!

By on Monday, November 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I picked this car up in June of 2012. I paid $8100 at a used car dealership in Roseville,CA. It had 110,XXX miles on it. It was in a minor accident years before I purchased and paint, and drive-ability were perfect. July 2012 I drove it from Reno,NV to Houston, TX. I averaged 28-33mpgs on the highway based on acceleration and cruising speed. I then commuted 80+ miles a day for work 6 days a week. Which is great for a 5.7 V8 with a 4 speed automatic. I have also taken several trips to Fresno area, about 340 miles from Reno. I have averaged over 34mpgs hwy on the way there. The performance of the LS1 motor is great about 270hp at the wheels and 290 ft lbs tq at the wheels. I also have a K&N air filter, custom tune, and muffler delete. All legal modifications. The T-tops don't leak at all which is rare. Monsoon stereo blew out but it was like that at time of purchase. No leaks either. Not bad for a 15 year old car. All around great car. Needs more power for my needs but that's a different story. HAHA"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Raw power, very reliable

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Power, Performance, Reliablity, Price, Style"

Cons: "Water intrusion,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got my Z/28 with 64k miles has 186k, still runs very strong and very reliable. Easy and affordable to add more power. Not a car for a first time sports car owner, unless you do research on the power of these cars. You will need good rear tires as with any sports car. The rubber transmission mount will need replacment with a polyurethane or you will replace them a lot. They made the motor very hefty and the transmission is reliable just don't punish it too much, i did and do. I replaced my transmission at 75k miles, remanufactored chevy transmission still going strong after 100k on transmission. I have never failed a smog inspection and im second owner so i know this car in its life has yet to fail a smog test.With the t-top you will see water get into the interior when it rains not a big deal as not much water goes in. Affordable Muscle car, lots of fun."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

with 192000 miles this car still shreds everywhere

By on Monday, March 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fast, fun, loud"

Cons: "to many people want to race!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"for the mileage and year of this car i could never ever complain one little bit about it. its so much fun and stylish i love it to death. wouldnt ever think twice about buying another"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable, Cheap and Fast

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great performance, reliable, good highway mileage"

Cons: "Chevrolet - It's cheap, creaks, rattles, etc"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned this car 6 years and have loved every moment. I've added a few things along the way and drive it year round. With good all seasons I handle every snow storm with ease and my 50mile daily commute is enjoyable. The car runs high 12s at the local 1/4 mile track and pulls 25mpg average during my weekly commute. 150,000 miles later and I have a very short list of things that have been replaced (tires, brakes, clutch, starter and fuel pump). Aside from brakes and tires all of the other repairs have occurred in the 120,000 mile timeframe. Been an absolutely great car and the LS1 is still proving itself to be a solid engine."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I LOVE THIS CAR!

By on Thursday, September 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "mpg, fun to drive, great handling, easy to care for"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm a 6'1 guy that usually has a hard time fiting into a low profile car like camaro convirtibles, but this car fits great. My 5'4" wife loves driving it too. Our gas milage is better than expected, and the V6 power blew us away. I'm used to V8, but the MPG was horrible, so now we have the cool style, and the 25 MPG. Have 110,000, no issues at all."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 99 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Camaro near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement