Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1993 Chevrolet Camaro

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 983 Ratings for the 1993 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

good for the money

By on Thursday, September 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"If you whant a car that is good on gas but has that little extra power when you need it. This is the one! It also has very good handiling. I have had mine since new that was 8 years and 120,000 miles ago. No problems so far and I push on her pretty bad. Also on a side note this car is compatable with most z28 parts. So if you see one for a good price do not let it go.I for one am very pleased."

25 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Third Vehicle

By on Saturday, November 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My '95 Camaro Z-28 is the third car I have had (first was a'99 Dodge Dakota, second was a '88 Camaro RS). It has the six speed, oil coiler, t-tops, limited slip, most of the options you could get. The transmission shifts really nicely (mine has an after-market shift knob and shifter because the stock shifter is about ten feet tall). I also can get up to 25 MPG because of the tall gearing. Performance: The performance is nice to say the least. I can usually burn the tires through the first two gears and sometimes squeak them going into third and that's with wider after-market wheels. It handles like it is on rails (pulls a little above .9 g's). Stops quite quickly, the only complaint about the breaks is that they can fade rather quickly (still better than most of the cars out on the road though). Because the Camaro has the SBC in it if you wanted to do any performance modifications then the sky is the limit. From stroking it to supercharging it, even twin turbo-charging not to mention all the other doo-dads. Also, the gearing in the six speed (T-56) coupled with gearing in the rear end and tire size (drag not included) makes potential top speed of the Camaro 202 MPH, but it doesn't have nearly the power or down force to do it so don't go trying it anytime soon. However, it does have a good top speed with it topping out at about 160 MPH. 0-60 is in the higher 5's with quarters running in the higher 13's. The only complaint I have is that you can't run it through the gears before going over the speed limit. Often times it's first, second, sixth. Comfort: The interior is comfortable with everything nicely positioned, my single complaint about the interior is that it only has one cup holder. Also, if you're a fan of marshmallow cars with soft rides, this car may be somewhat uncomfortable. However, if you've been driving a third gen Camaro going to a fourth, it's a major improvement. And this slight discomfort pays off when going around a turn. It has plenty of leg room and head room (I'm 6' and have no problem fitting it it) and the seats are very comfortable. Leg room (or space at all) in the back is very limited but if you want you can throw your two friends in the back that you like the least and it's do-able. Reliability: So far I have had no problems with reliability. The only problems I have had with it are because of age and high mileage (150,000 and still going strong). The first was the through-out bearing going through the clutch but that was because the last person who owned it didn't install it right and used old parts, didn't resurface the flywheel, etc. The other problem I have had with it is some minor oil leakage. It's very minimal but from what I've read these fourth gen Camaros can have some problems leaking some oil when they get into higher miles. Another problem to consider has to do with the windows. Because they don't have a frame around them they can get off track more easily than other framed windows can. In the end it's a Chevy small block; the design has been around since 1917 and is still being used today so they must of done something right. That mated to a stout transmission (T-56, used in the Viper, Mustang and Corvette too) and a sturdy rear end will probably outlive you. Styling: I love the styling on it personally, but that's really up to an individual to decide upon. Quality: It's a Chevrolet. Don't expect it to be a Maybach. Nevertheless, it does have a good fit and finish and I'm not all that picky. Value: I don't think that these will decrease in value as long as you take care of them but I also don't foresee them becoming big classics all of the sudden. If you want one that will hold a higher value try going for some of the last ones ('00-'02). They usually have a higher price tag. They are really good bang for the buck and I have thoroughly enjoyed mine. In conclusion the Camaro is a great car, I've really enjoyed mine (my second now) and would recommend it to just about anybody. It has performance, comfort, reliability, style and overall it's just fun to drive."

16 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Best bang for the buck at the time!

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Best performance car at the price in 1998."

Cons: "Some may consider the ride a bit taught."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

1998 Z28 Camaro

"I bought the '98 Z28 new to use as a commuter car, replacing my '86 Corvette. I just couldn't see wearing out another Vette commuting to work and back. While the Z28 didn't handle near as well as the Vette, it did have perhaps a bit more power. I have 64K miles on it now and have not had any problems, except for air conditioning loss of Freon and a leaky clutch slave cylinder. The slave cylinder is a bid deal on a Camaro, as it is an integral part of the throwout bearing. That means that the transmission has to be removed to replace it! IMO, this was a big mistake on GM's part, just to save a couple of dollars in manufacturing. That said, the power of the LS1 engine is impressive and published dyno tests indicate that the horse power was underrated. Rear wheel HP is typically around 290. Considering that the car is light by today's standards, it is quick. The driveline is tighter than the '86 Vette and the body far more solid, with very few rattles. Handling is not anywhere as good as the Vette, but better than most cars. Gas millage is very good, considering that the engine is 5.7L, and I average around 24MPG commuting and 27MPG on trips. For a quick, go fast, good handling car, I don't think there was any competition at the time. The brakes are stellar! BTW, I searched hard to get my Z28 with a solid top, as I had my fill of flexing bodies and water leaks. All in all, a great car at the price. Unfortunately, now at 74 years of age, I am not so forgiving of the low entry and firm ride. I'm sure though that a younger person will enjoy it as much as I did."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

1998 Z28 Camaro

Teens dream

By on Friday, August 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Stick shift, T-Tops, Speed and acceleration"

Cons: "Gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for just over a year. I was nervous to get this as a first car because of the stick but now I love to drive the stick in this car. It doesn't get the best mpg around 18. In the last year i have had to replace the clutch pressure plate and fuel pump but these are the first major repairs that the car has had in its life time. If you get one with T-tops it is one of the funnest things to drive around in. The car has many aftermarket parts that you can get to enhance the performance and make it sound like a beast."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best Car I ever bought for $500

By on Friday, June 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable and parts are cheep and plentifull"

Cons: "The window motors like to go out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've only had the water pump and the fuel pump go out and after i change them out most reliable car I've ever had it out lasted two Chrysler a Ford and a Pontiac and its still tucking if you need cheep reliable transportation that has some style get on of these"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Camaro near Honolulu. See local deals