Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2009 Chevrolet Aveo

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.0
Out of 10

Based on 731 Ratings for the 2004 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.7/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.8/10
    Performance
    7.2/10
  • Comfort
    7.4/10
    Styling
    7.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 147 | Next

Spacious but watch the tie rods

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "space good"

Cons: "tie rod weakness and susceptible to wind gusts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Front seat great for long legs, if you sacrifice leg room in the rear. The fold down rear in the 3-door will not fold down completely if the front seat is back all the way. Have had the left front tie rods replaced twice within less that a year. Make sure your mechanic checks these each time. Also wind gust will move this light-weight car suddenly."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I read this is the 10 worst car

By on Saturday, September 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Best gas mileage for a small car"

Cons: "quality not good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I bought this 2006 Aveo LS used in 2008 since then I spend almost more than a thousand for repair and maintenance. As far as driving I liked it, just had a lots of problem, gas mileage is great. Changed the timing belt at 60000, plus the water pump and belt, they tuned it up changed the wire and spark plugs. Recently while I was driving the car stops and really hard to re start it takes me while, by the way the engine light is on and off, I took it to my mechanic and the problem is the Thermostat body so they have to replaced it for $500 that includes labor. So far no problem car is running great. The suspension needs changing too cause it's making noise.By the way there is a re call on this vehicle about the day running light it says overheating. The recall is from 2004 to 2008."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Nice little car - requires alot of maintenance.

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Inexpensive, little, and decent mileage."

Cons: "Maintenance costs, and nothing exciting."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I purchased my 2006 Aveo used (with ~45000 miles)and it has been a great little car. I'm an avid hatch-batch lover so that was my main requirement, and I have 5 dogs so I wanted something easy for them to get inside and something inexpensive since I would have dogs in the car frequently (I don't think dog hair helps the value). 1) Gas mileage is OK - as others have said, I'd expect about 5 extra MPG than what it really gets, but it is still higher than most cars. 2) Maintenance.... I've had to replace the wheels twice! The box around the air filter is cheaply made and will need to be replaced. The shifting consul I've had to replace twice. The interior cloth has torn easily and the door handles have become loose and they rattle. Overall, the car is inexpensive, but I feel like I have to dump a lot of $$ into it for repairs yearly. The tires/wheel situation is a bit much. They just can't handle any bumps/potholes without getting worn and bent. I've also had to fit exhaust issues twice. Expect to drop at least $500-1000/year in repairs and maintenance. 3) Exterior has held up great! No paint peeling or rusting. 4) It is noisy and a no frills car when you drive. 5) Handles well and has nice get-up and go (better than my hubby's truck). Overall, if you want a no-frills, inexpensive car maybe for commuting and for something around a city, I think it is a great deal. I've gotten my Aveo over 150,000 miles and am now starting to look to trade in the ole' gal. Down-side, the maintenance has been more than I bargained for."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

takes a wallop

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,195

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "takes an impact and keeps cabin safe"

Cons: "gas mpg a little disappointing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A little disappointed in gas mileage but convenient and comfortable to drive. Took a wallop by a minivan that didn't even touch the brakes going through a red light and the Aveo absorbed the impact and kept the passenger cabin intact. Seat belts and airbag did their jobs. Surprisingly safe for a little car!"

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great gas mileage,versatile storage,reliable"

Cons: "rough ride, noisy,seats don't fold flat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this new in 06 and the most we have done is tires and tune-ups, the ride is kinda' rough and the seat cushions are thin. My husband gets about 30 mpg and if we were not looking for comfort and a smooth ride at our advanced ages we would keep this car until the wheels fell off."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 147 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Aveo near Honolulu. See local deals