Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2009 Chevrolet Aveo

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.0
Out of 10

Based on 709 Ratings for the 2004 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.8/10
    Performance
    7.2/10
  • Comfort
    7.4/10
    Styling
    7.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 142 | Next

Totally usable commuter car. Very RED in color

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,900

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great overall economy"

Cons: "Not a family car. The back seat is tight."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Oblique view of driver's side

"I bought this vehicle as a commuter car and have driven it for four years. My commute is relatively short, hence the low mileage. I have had zero problems, that's ZERO problems with this vehicle. It is no race car but can deliver surprising punch when ask to. It is a small car and not really suited for long cross country trips."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Oblique view of driver's side

Totally usable commuter car. Very RED in color

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,900

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great overall economy"

Cons: "Not a family car. The back seat is tight."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Oblique view of driver's side

"I bought this vehicle as a commuter car and have driven it for four years. My commute is relatively short, hence the low mileage. I have had zero problems, that's ZERO problems with this vehicle. It is no race car but can deliver surprising punch when ask to. It is a small car and not really suited for long cross country trips."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Oblique view of driver's side

Worst engine timing belt situation ever conceived

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I don't own this car

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "decent body, fair handling, comfortable seat(pass)"

Cons: "Lousy timing belt design prone to anytime failure!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We just for all practical purposes lost our 2005 Aveo on 03/31/14 because of lousy plastic parts in the timing belt housing. we weren't "racing" or any such destructive driving.This is no doubt a critical error in the timing belt mechanics. What can you say about a car that has a decent body and interior but can self-destruct at any time, and at any mileage regardless of the timing belt replacement. Well I'm happy to say we will never drive another Aveo again!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car for a great price!

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Hope to enjoy for another 8 years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my vehicle new from the dealership in April of 2006 and still have it to this day (April 2014). It came equip with a spoiler, a/c, power steering, power windows, am/fm/cd radio, and cruise control. It drives beautifully and for a high school student purchasing a first car it was affordable and easy to maintain. I have only needed to do minor work on the vehicle (oil change, new tires, spark plugs, etc) but it still runs and drives like a dream."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best investment ever!

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value for the money."

Cons: "Wears tires out quickly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 2007 for $8900 new on the lot. It is just a plain basic car with nothing fancy. The only maintenance that I have had to do is changing the timing belt, spark plugs, servicing fluids, and oil changes. It now has 196000 miles on it and runs like it did when new. I recently checked the brake pads, and they are still in good shape. These are still the original brakes. The only problem that I have with it is that it will eat a set of tires in 20,000 miles, even if the alignment is good and the tires get rotated frequently. This has been the best investment I have made in a car. I would definitely buy another like it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 142 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Aveo near Honolulu. See local deals