Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2009 Chevrolet Avalanche

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 372 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Gorgeous truck

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "stylish, charismatic, smooth driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has the most charisma of any car or truck I have owned (I have had about 15 cars or trucks). Its a beautiful vehicle to look at and drive. It is in a class of its own."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A great SUV and Truck in one!

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, versatility, great options available"

Cons: "Underpowered. See changing a head light bulb above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After owning a 2009 Tahoe, I decided that I needed a little more versatility and space, so I traded it in on my Avalanche. Moving from the Tahoe to the Avalanche was an easy transition as the interiors are identical and with the same powertrain, it pretty much drives the same as my Tahoe did. The Avalanche handles the snow in upstate NY pretty well. I live at the top of one of the tallest hills in the area with a couple of steep inclines on the way up and it tackles them pretty well. It is a very large vehicle. Comfortable on the long hauls with gas mileage to be expected for a 6000 lb truck. I get about 20 mpg highway and 13-14 mpg around town. The one downside I find is that the truck seems under powered. The transmission is quick to find a higher gear to save gas, which adds to this. I would say this motor could stand about another 50 hp and 50 lb/ft of torque.After owning this for one year, I'm happy to report that I still love this truck. Not to say I haven't had a couple of issues. A month after I bought the truck, the truck went into a safe mode and left me limping on the side of the highway an hour from home. I had it towed to the dealership and it ended up being a sensor. I blew a wheel bearing and have had a couple of issues with the moon roof. All covered under the Certified Pre-Owned warranty. I did have to replace a bulb in one of the headlights-which turned out to be quite the process. There is no room to fit your hands behind the headlight assembly to change the bulb. The ONLY way to change a light bulb is to follow these steps: 1)remove the liner in the wheel wells 2)crawl under the vehicle to remove two bolts 3)remove six bolts above grill 4)remove the WHOLE BUMPER ASSEMBLY. 5)remove three bolts to release light assembly (one of which was hidden under the bumper) to replace bulb. Yes you have to take off the huge one piece grill/bumper to change a frickin light bulb. I don't know what engineering genius came up with this and thought it to be acceptable. He should be shot on site! Something that should be an easy fix takes over an hour. Ridiculous! The mid-gate function is awesome. Opening the back end up into the cab to haul larger items is a breeze. BUT you need two people to do it. During the summer months, I've taken the back window out and stored it behind the rear seats for some great open air driving. Overall, this truck is great and I would recommend it to anyone who asks me about it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I love the Avalanche over any pickup truck!

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's safe & 4-wheel drive goes anywhere."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third Avalanche. It has all the extras practically, that can be put in one & on one. Always bought used--the 2002, 2005 & my 2008. It's still in excellent condition, but I would like to get the newer Red 2013. Please Chevrolet, put the Avalanche back into production! Very dependable & best value in a truck that rides like a luxury car. Some friends of mine want mine, but I need to find the 2013 with my name on it, before I let this one go. They bought their 2005 Avalanche, new. I tell anyone who listens how much I love my Avalanche. Every owner of one has always said they love theirs, too."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Worst purchase I ever made!!!

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "None"

Cons: "A hole lot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"After just 2 years the truck started to burn oil. When I took it to the dealer they told me there was nothing wrong, 2 days later the engine was blown. I had to fight wuth the dealer to get a new engine. If that wasen't enough, 2years later the transmission had to be replaced."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this truck!!

By on Thursday, December 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Perfect Truck UV"

Cons: "Milage is the only con..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"If I could afford the gas I would drive this truck exclusively. Like riding in a 4WD Cadillac. Very smooth, quiet, and comfortable with that extra level of safety and security that being in a full size vehicle gives you."

11 people out of 25 found this review helpful

very nice truck its a pleasure to drive

By on Monday, December 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great truck at a great price"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great running truck it uses flex fuel great savings power everything"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I need a truck that is both luxurious and able to haul a lot of equipment. Avalanche couldn't be better. Why GM would discontinue this model is baffling to me."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

i am 82 and want to buy a new one

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is a great avalanche"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ive Owned

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent multi-purpose vehicle"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Where I am the happiest

"I absolutely love the Avalanche and am upset that Chevy has decided to discontinue it. I use this on road and off road and it works great. I beat this truck up while up in the woods and out on the rivers fishing, hunting, backpacking. it takes the punishment and even enjoys it. Comfortable to drive on longer trips for self and family. What a GREAT Vehicle."

13 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Where I am the happiest

GREAT VEHICLE

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT RIDE, SPACIOUS, COMFORTABLE, RELIABLE."

Cons: "THE OUTSIDE PLASTIC TRIM FADING."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my avalanche it is great overall, the only thing is the discoloration of the plastic on the back outside is fading. I would probably buy another one if Chevrolet were still making them."

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Love the truck -Best of both worlds!

By on Saturday, November 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Love the truck!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

nice for driving, great gas mileage, stereo, nice,

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Cons: "6 cup holder,surround sound,tilt seats front,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"We bought this vehicle because his daddy was a chevy man never bought or own any other truck. So that was my husband favorite truck to own."

11 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Best truck I ever owned. Great ride and quiet.

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great ride and quiet"

Cons: "cheap plastic door handles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Smooth ride, quiet, pretty good mileage for a full size truck. Other than the inferior outside plastic door handles that all failed, I was extremely happy with this vehicle."

11 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Sharp truck with good diversity!

By on Saturday, August 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality ride and drive, decent towing capabilities"

Cons: "Mid-gate is a bit cumbersome."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Although my experience purchasing this truck left very much to be desired... the truck it self is fantastic and fits my needs well. All of my trucks previous to this has been Silverados - and granted... I loved my 2010 Silverado heavy half with a 6.2L. But I like the diversity of the Avalanche... nice cab that can fit people with room to spare, can still haul my horse just fine and looks sharp doing it. Have had a few mechanical things needing work on it, but overall it feels and drives like a solid truck. Beautiful interior, sharp exterior. Only wish is that the mid-gate was a push of the button type thing, and not a major event."

14 people out of 26 found this review helpful

It is everything all in one sad the are not built

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "awesome"

Cons: "had it all nothing needs to be added"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Tow , off road, camping sleep in back. drive to the country club. The Black Diamond is cool any where"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever owned

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"averages 19+ mpg putting around town and 23 on the highway great ride and comfort"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love my truck

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "nothing compares"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wish GM. would change their decision. GM needs to continue building Avalanches. NOTHING COMPARES TO AN AVALANCHE"

love my avalanche

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy to drive, good on fuel for its size and age"

Cons: "not great leg room in rear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My only complaints: rear leg room could be better - but thats a chevy problem overall for their trucks, would have liked a multi disc dvd like the ltz tahoe of the same year instead of the single disc. Huge blind spots, but that is corrected with the rearview back up camera. I love my truck! The ability to have a fully waterproof, auto locking tailgate with easy to remove solid panels is awesome. Would continue to buy if still made. The dvd system is easy to use, the bose sound system pumps out the tunes and sounds great. It towed the family duel car trailer accross 5 states fully loaded and never missed a beat!!!"

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

It has been a great auto, with no major problems

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,250

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "a great driving autoand is like driving a car"

Cons: "not 4x4,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If it was a 4x4 I would not get rid of it"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

rides better than a lexus and is lesstiring trips

By on Sunday, June 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"needs nothing, has new tires ,18mpg on trip to Florida and back driving 75 to 85 mph"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A real driving pleasure

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "see review"

Cons: "see review"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Could not ask for a better vehicle. Beautiful finish, handles like a sports car, rides like a luxury vehicle with all luxury amenities, lots of interior comfort and space, and has neat, clean, hard covered, locked cargo carrying space that can easily convert to take in the rear seat area inside the cab. Only downer, not so good mileage (14 mpg). I really love this vehicle and rate it as THE best I have ever owned."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love this truck

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,213

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Cannot for the life of me understand the reasoning behind stopping production of this vehicle. Best vehicle I ever owned."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love the luxury with practicality

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable"

Cons: "discontinued"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love driving in comfort/luxury. I also love do be able to haul full sheet of plywood along with my tools while having the gate shut! This is my 3rd Avalanche would have gone for the fourth if they didn't discontinue."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Its to bad Chevy discontinued the model in 2014

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great driving and the hard lid truck bed"

Cons: "mpg is disappointing with the 5.3 liter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best all around truck ever, comfortable to drive great 4 wheel drive. A little disappointed in the gas mileage, 15.8 mpg average. Although its a truck so what did I expect. The hard covered bed and the ability to open up the wall between the bed and rear seats is fantastic. I was able to load 12ft pieces of wood trim, and close the bed gate. Don't know what Chevy was thinking when they discontinued this great vehicle."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

this is agreay truck and very dependable

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive great in the snow"

Cons: "12 miles a gallon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great all around truck"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Avalanche near Honolulu. See local deals