Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2009 Chevrolet Avalanche

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 382 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next

Great vehicle for multi-use sportman!

By on Friday, January 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Expensive but worth it-- always get compliments"

Cons: "rear view mirror auto dim--cant see backing up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The box is small but rarely use a full size box. I use the box for the dog after a hunting trip. The truck gets decent gas mileage-- I have gotten 23.8m per gallon on a 400 mile trip during the time coasted up hills and kept it around 55mph... all together average 20mpg hwy and 14 city. Stylish vehicle--- always get compliments. Love her almost 100k on her and never an issue."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best of both worlds

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very Comfy to Drive"

Cons: "No Moon Roof"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We did our research on this vehicle and found the best of all worlds. It is comfortible to drive, roomy for all our animals, we have 3 dogs, We can set the seat down adn have plenty of room. It will tow our trailer and still give us room to haul extra. The headlights are wonderful. They really light the road up. We are like it so much that we are going to buy a second one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Above Average Choice For a Truck in it's class

By on Monday, July 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Seems built to satisfy most practical needs with stregnth and style"

Cons: "Paint, and certain interior accessories aren't necessarily what you would expect for the price."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I flew to Albuquerque, NM for a job interview with an aviation firm in 2008. My flawlessly performing Chevy Silverado was at a San Antonio Chevy dealer having a fuel pump changed after about 144,000 miles. I was driving a rented Dodge product when I saw this blue Avalanche on a street corner. I said to myself 'now that is me', and kept going. On arrival back in San Antonio, a salesman asked me if I was ready for an upgrade. He showed me an Avalanche excactly like the one I saw in Albuquerque. The rest was history. All I can say folks, is that this Avalanche is the best vehicle I have owned to date. Pricey? yes, but this truck delivers. Everything Kelly blue book says about it I have to agree with. One of the few complaints I have though, is the paint. It is chipping in certain areas,if you look closely enough. After it is paid off (I owe about $17,000.00 after about three years), I plan on having it repainted anyway. Nevertheless, the vehicle still turns heads. Right now the government is subsidizing E85 fuel, and that helps on the refueling side. Oh yes, after three years, the lock on the front seat center console storage box lid (plastic) broke, a new lid would have cost around $400.00, so I bought some $1.99 velcro strips and installed it, now everthing is good again. Looks good, runs well. To be fair, not cheap. that's Chevy Avalanche."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Most comfortable truck

By on Friday, May 20, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my '07 Avalanche since June of '09. When I bought it, it had 30,000 miles. It now has 82,xxx and I've only had one issue that was resolved with the powertrain warranty. I've also had to replace an O2 sensor, but thats been it. I drive a lot for my job and have been extremely impressed with the mpg's considering this truck is based off the Suburban platform. I've gotten as much as 23 mpg on the highway and average about 17 in the city. Overall, right at 20 mpg. The versatility is outstanding. There is no other truck like it and mine is just the LS with the towing package. Plenty of power to pass on the highway and haul whatever you want. The most comfortable vehicle I've owned. I've had a Toyota Camry, Volvo 740, Chevy S-10 blazer 4wd, Honda Accord coupe, and a Nissan Xterra."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love This Truck

By on Wednesday, February 23, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"By far one of the best trucks i have owned. I have owned ford, dodge and this one is the best is power and comfort. This truck will go on forever"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

worst new vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, February 08, 2011

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"We have a 2004 Yukon Denali, 128000 miles, no problems. We have a 2008 Cadillac ESV, no problems. We have had a 1999 Chevrolet Tracker, no problems. This Avalanche has been in the shop many times. The WORST issue is the oil consumption problems that many have had. It is hard to tell me this is normal when I have had many other GM vehicles with no such issues. Having the ADD OIL light come on every 3000 miles is wrong!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great ride

By on Friday, December 11, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We had a 2004 Avalanche & now a 2007. We love both of them. The styling is right on, ride is great & interior look & comfort is superb. The 2007 has over 50000 miles & the only problem we've had was a slight brake chatter. The dealer installed new front rotors & it's been fine ever since. I pull an 8000 pound 30' Travel trailer with no problem. It is extremely versatile with the fold down rear seat, removable rear window & 3 piece tonneau cover. You can ride 5 adults very comfortably or haul just about anything. We probably will get another one. We drove up into N.C. in the snow & it went great with 2WD, traction control & limited slip differential. We climbed steep roads in the mountains & I don't know why you would even need 4WD."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, October 04, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Have had this truck for almost 3 years, have had a few warranty issues, transmission problem, all my speakers died but all that was fixed and covered under the warranty. Mine is a 2007, got it Dec 2006, some popping when you make a sharp right turn, cannot be diagnosed for a problem though, was not happy when I found out that you cannot buy regular windshield wipers to replace, you have to go to the dealership and buy them, $20 a piece....other than that I love my truck and I am glad I have it. I live on a bumpy dirt road and it has lasted very well."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very Impressed

By on Monday, September 01, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I just purchased this vehicle, and I must say, I have thoroughly enjoyed it from every aspect. The fully loaded LTZ is what I have, and I must say this vehicle has really come a long way compared to the earlier releases of this vehicle. It is very roomy and comfortable. Pros - I like almost everything about it. The ride is as smooth as the Escalade (for $10,000+ less). It's not ridicuously bad on gas, compared to its competitors. Cons - Gas, though good for a big truck, is still bad overall. Bluetooth, because of ONSTAR, it doesn't have it. Overall, I would definately recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a pick-up truck\SUV."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Rding Utility Vehicle

By on Monday, June 16, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Chevy did an outstanding job on the suspension with the redesigned Avalanche. The LTZ is so smooth and quiet its like riding in your living room. The midgate offers the best utility for hauling gear of any vehicle out there. The quality of the paintwork is not great. I've noticed that the clearcoat finish gets scratched very easily - as opposed to the GMC or Cadillac variants (at some point you do get what you pay for - the fit and finish of the GMC/Cadillacs is better). My other complaint is that the sat radio antenna does not work well - the XM signal constantly drops out - even after the dealer pulled it apart and confirmed it was properly connected. I have had both Ford and Chrysler SUVs in the past, and this is by far the better choice. I've not had a single mechanical problem after a year and 15K miles. Overall very please and would buy another, especially if a hybrid version becomes available."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Avalanche near Honolulu. See local deals