Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2009 Chevrolet Avalanche

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 346 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next

Awesome Truck!

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "tough, value, milage, family vehicle, luxury"

Cons: "they don't make them anymore"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is by far the best truck we have ever owned. It has great power and luxury combined! Pretty good gas milage as long as you don't have a lead foot. We have the automatic step assist which is a cool feature and very convenient for those who are not 6 ft tall! I wish they still made these because I would continue to buy them. They decided to make them under the escalade name and add a lot of $$ to them! Definitely worth it if you got the Avalanche when it was available and even to get it used, is still a long lasting luxury truck! I have friends who have early 2000 models and still going strong with very little upkeep!"

Hauls like a truck, rides like a car.

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Versatility plus comfortable ride."

Cons: "Cloth interior attracts lint and won't let go."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best overall vehicle I've ever owned. Extremely versatile with all the configurations available even with the basic vehicle. I LOVE IT!!"

Hauls like a truck, rides like a car.

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Versatility plus comfortable ride."

Cons: "Cloth interior attracts lint and won't let go."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best overall vehicle I've ever owned. Extremely versatile with all the configurations available even with the basic vehicle. I LOVE IT!!"

Hauls like a truck, rides like a car.

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Versatility plus comfortable ride."

Cons: "Cloth interior attracts lint and won't let go."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best overall vehicle I've ever owned. Extremely versatile with all the configurations available even with the basic vehicle. I LOVE IT!!"

Hauls like a truck, rides like a car.

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Versatility plus comfortable ride."

Cons: "Cloth interior attracts lint and won't let go."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best overall vehicle I've ever owned. Extremely versatile with all the configurations available even with the basic vehicle. I LOVE IT!!"

This is my 4th Avalanche

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The perfect vehicle"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I hope they start making them again soon."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Ride

By on Thursday, April 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride."

Cons: "No longer being offered as a new vehicle s"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the second one I have owned. I have enjoyed both of them. This one was over loaded with extras by the Car Dealer so it sat on their lot for almost 3 years until I bought it for about 56% of sticker. It rides better then many cars that are much higher priced. I love the back up camera. I would not have bought this color because it shows all the dirt but I could not pass on the price. Kelly Blue book on trade in is about $400.00 less then I paid for it 1 year ago."

best vehicle ever

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,150

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this is the best vehicle i have ever owned and i have owned cadillac sedan BMW745 and others just love the ride and comfort wife loves it to."

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,150

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this is the best vehicle i have ever owned and i have owned cadillac sedan BMW745 and others just love the ride and comfort wife loves it to."

best vehicle ever

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,150

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this is the best vehicle i have ever owned and i have owned cadillac sedan BMW745 and others just love the ride and comfort wife loves it to."

best vehicle ever

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,150

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this is the best vehicle i have ever owned and i have owned cadillac sedan BMW745 and others just love the ride and comfort wife loves it to."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,150

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this is the best vehicle i have ever owned and i have owned cadillac sedan BMW745 and others just love the ride and comfort wife loves it to."

good vehicle but

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability,great motor under hood"

Cons: "cheap,plastic interior,fading,and stripped parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"i have this truck for 5 years,I love how it drives(very smooth)but could have a better gearbox,also do like the midgate option,cover for back good towing capacity for what it is,it is really good for camping, drop the midgate have a great bed after throwing a blow up mattres in it.great sound system , dvd for back seat also really good,but here is the problem with this truck when u buy it brand new it is over 40.000 truck can reach up 60.000 dollar depends on your option.and u get fading on the back which is plastic u might say ok but what about the doors.this plasticy side panels fades and looks horrible after 5 years,and saying it is not a cheap truck it looks horrible,and interior,steering wheel stripping this black plastic,i finally cleaned it all and have a shiny steering wheel.all the ac unit controls are stripped,u no longer know which button is what,end lets come to cheeeaaaapppp plastic interior.i dont know how chevy manage to find this much plastic to put it everywhere.little crack because of sun front of windshield makes noise.and check under back seat,where are all tools are.i close it nicely but it is cheap plastic it comes of whenever someone gets on back seat and gets out.now i would say i dont mind fixing up engine parts or whatever,which i do have to replace fuel injection pump right after 100000 miles.or taking it for maintanance.i do clean my cars and take care of them,but after owning this truck for 5 years,it looks like truck is 20 years old because of all the fading,not the mention front right headlight is fading too.now 40 000,50 000 dollars truck should have a such a poor craftsmanship when it comes to use qualty product inside or outside on paint in that case."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Ride

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Most comfortable ride in a full size vehicle I've ever been in."

A really great vehicle

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "looks, ride, comfort,"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had DTS Cad, traded for Avalanche, excellent. Good millage average overall 18.3 mpg city/country. Excellent ride. Looks: is a head turner with Chrome 20" wheels and chrome body package."

Overall, this is a super nice vehicle

By on Sunday, February 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It looks good/drives good/handles great"

Cons: "Lack of more cup holders inconvenient location"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Light towing/highway comfort/plenty of power. This third Avalanche owned outright and I love the handling/comfort/lack of wind noise and have had very few minor problems with 2004/2010/2013 I've owned."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle for travel and towing

By on Sunday, February 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Appointments, handling, hauling"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle. Hauls like a truck and rides like a luxury car. Lots of power to haul a boat and still get decent gas mileage too. I've had one repair in 138000 miles; the oil pressure sensor failed. Love the interior, appointments, dual AC zones, and the flexibility to fold down the rear seat and extend the truck bed for additional hauling. Vet good at maintaining their resale value too."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very versitle

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great style love color,every one thinks its a cady"

Cons: "could have more storage in the consol aera"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"can do more in this truck than other trucks"

Note on my 3 Chevrolet Avalanche's

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best vehicle I have ever had"

Cons: "None.... This is a Chevrolet I am talking about."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Chevrolet got it right in 2009. My first Avalanche had some issues with the drive train, but those are expected for a new model. My second Avalanche was unbelievable when it came to performance, reliability, quality and comfort. My third Avalanche has exceeded all expectations. I am sorry to hear that the model is no longer going to be manufactured. I am hoping to find a suitable replacement when the time comes."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Many Disappointments for Avalanche

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"When first looking at the Diamond Edition of the Chevy Avalanche, my eyes starred in wonderment. A Beautiful Truck inside and out. The test drive was amazing. Tight Turning Circles and comfortable handling. I purchased the vehicle. And 2 months into my purchase, I feel it was a very bad investment and wishing I never purchased it. 1. The truck is very underpowered and lugs from 15-40 mph where you need to hit the low gear towing button to get some needed power. The back seats fold down, however, using that space is useless. When you fold the back seats down, you have the frames of the seats in the way. You can only place one or two small bags in that space. Why didn't Chevy create a flap to create a large flat space to haul items that you don't want to place in the back of the truck. Now the bed of the truck. Lower the tailgate and then grab your step ladder to access anything in the back of the bed. Much too high for any practical use. Also of interesting note, when entering and exiting the vehicle, you must be very careful, the doors swing widely open with little resistance and hit the stopper very hard. Very easy to ding another car next to you if you are not careful."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Rough idle only complaint

By on Sunday, January 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great looks, handling, and versatility"

Cons: "Rough idle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 6.0 LTZ with 107k miles in black is a beautiful functional ride that turns heads when clean. Quality materials that still look new inside and out. 16.0 mpg and a good sized tank get 400+ miles/tank every time. Only complaint is my 6.0 has a rough idle since new. My 5.3 silverado idles better with 165k miles and no tune up."

Great Vehicle-Flexability of an SUV & a Truck

By on Monday, December 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Design, fit and finish, flexibility"

Cons: "Needs more power."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After pining for an Avalanche for the past two years, I finally decided to trade in my Tahoe for one. I loved the Tahoe and it has similar underpinnings and the same interior, so it was an easy transition to the Avalanche. I can say that aside from my Pontiac G8, I've never been happier with a vehicle. I absolutely love it! Spacious, great amenities and it is very comfortable on long hauls. The overall fit of the panel gaps are tight and on par with, or dare I say better than many European vehicles being shipped in from overseas. My only grip would be is that the engine is under powered and actually feels gutless around 1800-2000 RPM. The transmission helps and downshifts pretty quickly. This truck could have used about 50 more ponies and about the same bump in torque to make this the perfect power train. As an overall package though, the Avalanche's combination of comfort and style really can't be beat."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Please bring back the Avalanche

By on Sunday, December 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own a 2008 Avalanche with 142,000 miles on it and it is still running very strong. I love everything about this truck....GM please reconsider your decision and continue producing the best truck on the market."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I'll miss the Avalanche!

By on Monday, October 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, versatile, smooth, unique"

Cons: "Useless running boards removed prior to use."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 2009 is my second after putting 100K on my 2004, both 4WD. I can't believe that GM is dropping the smoothest-riding, most versatile SUV ever invented. 25K of the 75K miles I've driven have been towing a trailer. It could use more torque, but its mileage beats others in its weight class. The built-in bed boxes are a huge advantage, as is the lockable, weather-tight bed. Even my 80+ year-old mother likes riding in the Avalanche better than any other vehicle."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I'm absolutely craaaazy about this vehicle!

By on Tuesday, October 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable with luxury feel;like a p/u"

Cons: "Expensive!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Always wanted one and had to settle for older used Avalanche, but it is still great."

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Avalanche near Honolulu. See local deals