Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1995 Chevrolet 3500 HD Extended Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 186 Ratings for the 1990 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

needs good home

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 269,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"needs air compresser runs great red with chevy strip down the side"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Doesn't drive like a one ton truck

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It's a blast to drive."

Cons: "Needs more cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"When I bought this vehicle, I was expecting a rough riding pickup. Once I test drove it I fell in love with the handlng and ride. Smooth like a half ton. With the 5 speed manual and 7.4L gas engine I was pleasantly surprised when I was averaging 15 mpg on the HWY and 12 city. I never have to worry if I can handle a load with this truck. It's built tough and looks good."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best Work Truck I Have Ever Owned!

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,785

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Truck, Great For Work, A Lot Of Room"

Cons: "N/A"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this truck since day one! It has been nothing but good to me and my business. I would highly recommend this truck to any buyer. I have kept it maintained and to this day it still runs like a champ! I know this truck has plenty of life left and will continue to use it until it can no longer run."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

solid performer , 19 + fuel mileage [ empty] ,

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability , solid torture proof trans , modern"

Cons: "brakes,gauges,power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"thou not a power house the truck just keeps on going and going , tows 6k with out any fuss , i owned a 92' f350 diesel and believe its non turbo engine would easily pull with the chevys turbocharged 6.5, BUT the chevys extra weight [ 800+lbs more per scale ] is evident every time you drive it the trk has just a very solid feel and rides smoother , it will also easily go thru snow /ice that would leave the ford spinning wheels , the chevy sits lower which the wife likes but the ford sat higher which i like , i loved the ford f350 its international eng is bullet proof but its ford e4od transmission proved the weak point ,chevys l480e is all around a far better trans , f350 @ 100k = 2 trans , chevy @ 218k [ towing more often ] = still original trans !!! still original eng ,this truck has had its troubles but nothing that i thought was excessive for the use/abuse it has received mostly fuel inj pump [ replaced one time @ 197k]. the brakes don't feel as strong as the fords and the fords gauges where more reliable , didn't mean this to be a ford vs chevy its just the ford is closest trk i owned to compare with , id happily own either one again ! , just be more mindful of the fords tranny , the chevy states in its owners manual that its ok to tow in over drive and i have….. without mis-hap… knock on wood ."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

1993 Chevy 3500 dually

By on Sunday, November 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Probably one of the best trucks I've ever drivin..the engine was a 6.5L (395cu) The truck is flat out beautiful for the old 90's decals they put on the trucks, the engine had NO problems what so ever, only thing wrong that I've seen was the old line was spitting oil that went from the radiator to the transmission, but thats normal right there from the old chevy lines. But I haven't seen an older truck from the 90's that was that smooth of a ride. The inside of those years are beautiful if you find the right one, and same as the engine. But the good thing about those trucks are the old diesel isn't a duramax so you don't have to worry about it breaking down on you like they are good for."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

love this truck

By on Saturday, August 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,090

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own the LS series. I have had my truck for 14 years and never had a problem. it is a very reliable truck. I get offers from people all the time."

My first truck!!!! Best truck ever total power!

By on Saturday, July 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,998

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome Ranch Truck"

Cons: "hard to park in towns malls sonic driveways"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just handed my sons his daddy's first set of keys to my first truck!!! All horse power get good mpg considering engine size 1ton"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

TONS OF POWER!

By on Saturday, May 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "2 wheel drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"will pull anything you hook it up to, listen to the turbo scream"

One of the best trucks ever owned

By on Saturday, March 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "a good truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Haul livestock anywhere in any conditions, never let me down. Can take to the opera, the rodeo or just a pleasant drive in the country, it always does the job. Will use more fuel than your average truck but then again the selfish ignorant idiots tend to mind their driving manors and our hesitate to cut off a one ton truck pulling a 2 ton trailer. Guess they have some sense."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Total Workhorse

By on Sunday, December 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "towing capacity, leg room"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own the SRW version of this truck and I love it! The towing capacity is superb for being an older truck. The ride quality is a little stiff but thats to be expected for a one ton truck. As long as the truck is taken care of it'll take care of you."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great truck to bring you where you have to go

By on Sunday, December 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"1992 C3500 Extra Cab Truck, new 454 engine, new transmission, new differential."

Best truck I've ever owned

By on Tuesday, April 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 233,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Heavy duty build."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a solid truck with heavy duty build. Regular maintenance keeps it going for a looong time. The only weak item on the motor is the oil pressure sensor. I've replaced two of these in the 10 years I've owned this truck so it's not that bad. The ride is a little stiff but it rides good for a one ton truck. The load capacity is well above the one ton rating. Fuel mileage is about the same as a gas powered truck. It seems to get 16mpg loaded or unloaded. All in all it is a great truck."

12 people out of 14 found this review helpful

ALL AROUND GREAT VEHICLE.

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THIS VEHICLE HAS NEVER FAILED ME. SHE'S RELIABLE. HAS POWER WHEN I NEED IT. AND SHE CAN HANDLE A HEAVY LOAD LIKE THERE'S NOTHING IN THE BED AT ALL. THIS IS AN ALL AROUND GREAT VEHICLE AND I WOULDN'T EVEN THINK OF BUYING ANY OTHER TRUCK."

One of the best trucks I have had

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "handled well,power,comfort, all great"

Cons: "Turning radius could have been better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I used it to pull my 34ft. 5th wheel and it did not have a problem. The 454 gas engine was great.Great truck,great quality."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best buy for my money

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "worked hard and still looks good"

Cons: "the stupid G80 diff that explodes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought it new from the dealer in 1996 , was built to my spec's,(c3500 SRW) used it to tow a 10K 30 foot trailer with across midwest , was comfortable , powerful( 7.4 Vortec) only had a few problems, one was fixed by dealer , the others by me . for a 16 year old truck I still get what year is that it looks new from people , the cloth seats are comfortable too and the Bose stereo is nice . not going to be parting with it , wife said we can buy it a stable mate to do the towing with , going to be another chevy , last chevy I had (78 cheyenne K-20 ) had over 275 K miles before it was wrecked I was second owner."

Very reliable

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "12 miles per gallon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"two water pumps, one tune up and nothing else"

very good truck

By on Saturday, December 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very solid truck, could drive it the rest of my life!"

VERY NICE

By on Monday, December 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "nothing wrong with em"

Cons: "no cup holders in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is very relible and awsome cept the mpg but come on ya know its a truck"

A Loyal Companion

By on Sunday, December 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, tough and comfortable."

Cons: "Poor fuel mileage... but hey, what can you expect?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No its not the most fuel efficient vehicle, no it cant pull as much as a diesel, no the turning radius is not like that of a car... However after 21 years you can still jump in, turn the key and its up and running in no time. Interior is more comfortable than most new trucks and you can beat it to death without thinking twice. Like a Rock."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I have had better

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good ride"

Cons: "Poor fuel milage, troublesom fuel injection system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"There are some design issues with the early eletronic automatic transmissions. The Diesel fule injection system is poorly designed. The ride of the truck is good. Load capicity is good. Fuel milage is lacking"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A good looking, great driving, hefty hauler

By on Saturday, October 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I would rather drive it than a Corvette."

Cons: "Other than its getting old, None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My Silverado Dually, Casper

"I bought this truck in 2004 from original owner and have put 50k on it and it still is beautiful and great dependable truck for hauling my camper and horse trailer to mountains, horse events, or shows. A new truck like it would probably be $37k. Taking care of your vechicle and respecting your property keeps your investment your pride for years."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

My Silverado Dually, Casper

Fun to drive!

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable, pretty"

Cons: "Gas mileage (or lack thereof)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the truck new and had it lowered 5/8 inches at the dealership and a Gaylords bed top installed. The truck has a big block, so there's a ton of power, combined with the low center of garvity, really hugs the road and looks great hauling your boat or bike trailer. The interior is very roomy, with plenty of storeage space. With the truck sitting so low, it's like sliding in and out of an old Caddie. You won't hit your head on the doorway like on most of the newer small cars."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love my truck

By on Sunday, October 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "can haul anything, anywhere"

Cons: "poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this truck for hauling horses and cattle. The gas mileage isn't very good, and it's a large truck, so it's not that great for every day use - but if you need to haul, it's great!"

good dependable work truck

By on Saturday, October 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this truck has a few rust area at the base if the doors and around the wheel wells in the bed of the truck. the truck has a small tear on the driver seat and the carpet is dirty from foot traffic in the front seating areas. all the interior is in good overall condition. the motor is sound snd runs well down the road. transmission is good with no problems as is the four wheel drive system."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

torque monster

By on Friday, April 22, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"truck will pull anything. it is not fast but has plenty of power. i have only owned for 1.5 years but have driven 40k mi with a 10k lb trailer behind it all over the us. it has never let me down. never left me stranded the seats are vinyl and not the greatest in comfort but not bad considering i drive it 20 hrs at a time without stopping except for fuel."

12 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet 3500 HD Extended Cab near Honolulu. See local deals