Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1999 Cadillac Escalade

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 56 Ratings for the 1999 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next

Best car I've had.

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"In December '99, I negotiated the purchase of a new Town and Country. At the last moment, the dealer cranked in a $700 dealer fee. No Way. I drove up the road a mile and turned into a Cadillac dealer. Window sticker on this white beauty was $46K. I gave $37K and my well worn Z-28 for it. The dealer put a huge red bow on the hood, and I parked it in my driveway, and told my wife to come outside for her Christmas present. This car was a thrill then, and we love it, still. It had everything on it, all the bells and whistles. I just recently discovered that the back seats are heated, too, when my granddaughter complained about the warm seat. We have driven it from Florida to New York and back, three times a year for 15 years. It's 21-22 hours of driving each way. We get out of the car at the end of the trip with no cramps or soreness. My mechanic told me this is the best Escalade ever made, and I believe him. I have had some repairs, but, I forgave this car every time. I did have a upholstery man resurface parts of the front seats. I am currently leeking a little engine oil. I think I will get that fixed and go for 300,000 miles. Gas mileage is way better than Nissan's and Toyota's big ones, better than Ford's and Lincoln's too. I never really computed it, but, my impression has been about 15mpg city, maybe as much as 17 highway. Anybody that can buy a clean one with 100-150K miles, and a quiet sounding engine for up to $4K will probably have a good value. The A/C has always been cool enough, but, never icy cold. And don't expect to leave any sports car in the dust at a stop light. This baby will go sneaky fast, but, it wants to wind up gradually."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Outstanding Fullsize SUV

By on Monday, October 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, Stylish, Comfort, Drives like a dream."

Cons: "Weak transmission, driving another car after this"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Escalade is an awesome vehicle. Very comfortable, decent economy for the size, plenty of power, very roomy. The Escalade is much higher quality than the Chevy and GMC counterparts. There is nothing about this vehicle that I do not like. The only downsize is the underbuilt transmission. These only last around 120,000 - 150,000 miles before requiring a rebuild. The rebuilt ones are of much higher quality due to upgrades and stronger internal components. While it is a little pricey to rebuild it is very worth the cost."

17 people out of 17 found this review helpful

very nice vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I don't own this car

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"durable, dependable vehicle. runs good."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

powerd windows doors 6 disc cd changer only have 1

By on Friday, October 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"its a really dependable truck 1 owner it only have 144,000 miles its tan everything runs and work great"

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Cheap Caddy

By on Monday, April 11, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Awesome car, decent gas mileage and power."

By on Tuesday, March 22, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, August 26, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, August 20, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, June 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Dream

By on Friday, June 04, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"Even before cadillac decided to make the Escalade I wanted them to. I have been a life long fan of Cadillac. I traded in a 1995 DeVille for this Escalade. At first I loved this truck, don't get me wrong I still do, just not as much. When it comes down to it Cadillac rushed the development of this model year (1999-2000). We all know it is the luxury version of a tahoe but with this model it really shows. The Luxury Cadillac is known for is just not there on this one. This is still a step up from all other SUV's of its time, and if you are looking for luxury for under $10k, than its a great truck, but if you want a true Escalade the way it was meant to be, look at 2003 models and newer. Maintenance costs for this truck are moderate, other than normal upkeep costs (i.e. oil, filters) I have had to rebuild the Transmission and get a new torque convertor at 120k miles. There have been some small electrical bugs as well. I currently have 150k miles on it and it is going strong, I can't see myself parting ways with this truck any time soon."

25 people out of 25 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, March 10, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, March 07, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, February 24, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Somewhat of a Nightmare

By on Thursday, January 14, 2010

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

"We bought this car used from a friend. I guess it was an excellent car back in 2000. We don't know how well-maintained it was but we got it when it had about 150k miles. We've had to repair several things on it: carburator, radiator, among other things. Does anybody know what is the life expectancy of these vehicles? It's already going on 190,000, just wondering when we'll have to save up when the time comes for a trade-in. I don't know how much longer it will be before we need to replace the transmission or motor."

16 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Long term investmen

By on Sunday, September 20, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Vehicle is absolutely the finest I have ever owned in 45 years. . . . great ride, great style. . . . may very well end up a classic. Absolutely indestructible and works like it looks. . . . absolutely top notch ! ! !"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great Used Value!

By on Wednesday, August 19, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"208,000 miles and counting! You can get alot of bang for the buck buying a used Escalade. Our truck litterally looks and performs like a 50,000 mile vehicle. Most of these trucks are purchased new by the older crowd who take excellent care of them. Many friends have told me if I ever run across another Escalade as nice and inexpensive as this one, they'll buy it!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, August 09, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Still Going Strong

By on Sunday, May 24, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"The hardest thing to date for me is trying to find another as comfortable as the 2000 Cadillac Escl. has been. It was definitely a great car in it's time. Unfortunately, but great for someone who could care less about "OnStar" is that it is no longer available on this model. And the VCR player needs to be updated to a DVD player. No rust on it at all since it was given priviledges in the garage."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, April 26, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Totally worth it

By on Saturday, April 18, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Very reliable, comfortable, great sound quality and hey has a huge engine that can haul. I own a 1999 and it has a 5.7ltr V8 Vortec its totally worth it, also if you want comfort and safetly with a look that is so good its your dream car!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Big MAma

By on Tuesday, March 03, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I would recommend her, very spacious and reliable. I wish that it wasn't so expensive to repair when I have to take it in for work. Overall great car!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Full Size AWD SUV

By on Sunday, March 01, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My Escalade is roomy comfortable the 5.7 has good power and the AWD takes us were ever we want to go. We has taken it on camping trips with the whole family it has been very reliable.It is very luxurious we love it and will keep it in the family for as long as we can. We love it !!!!!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

LOVE IT !! BEST VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY !!!

By on Friday, February 20, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had my Cadi for 6 years. It is the best car I have ever had. Other than regular maintenance, I have never put a dime into it. It runs perfect, still nice and smooth and I have over 150K miles on mine. I expect at least another 150K more! Its very comfortable and I love that it is safe for my kids. I wouldnt have anything else. The heated seats are awesome!! BEST CAR EVER!! AMERICA MADE TOO!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

its hot

By on Tuesday, February 03, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love it. it drives so smooth"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Cadillac Escalade near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details