Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2009 Cadillac Escalade ESV

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 56 Ratings for the 2007 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next

Escalade

By on Friday, March 12, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This vehicle is an absolute pleasure to drive. It has tons of features, is comfortable, has lots of power. I have 26k miles on it without any issues. In addition to being a very nice luxury vehicle, it tows a 4 motorcycle enclosed trailer very well. I love this truck."

Good Value

By on Friday, March 05, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"It really is a Cadillac in all ways."

Dissapointing SUV

By on Wednesday, November 04, 2009

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"I made a big mistake not buying a minivan when I decided I needed a large SUV and decided on the Escalade ESV. I live in a city, this car is too big and unwieldy. It also had way too many problems crop up over the 3 years I drove it - the sensors kept failing, requiring servicing. Also, for an SUV, it was very fragile - I cracked 2 rims - at $1100 a throw, without ever taking it off road! They bent in normal city driving, in a pothole I guess. No one will confuse the interior for a mercedes or even a lexus, lots of cheap plastic trim inside. I was coming off of a pair of Lexus 470's - an infinitely better vehicle. Next car is a minivan."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Tuesday, July 21, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am enjoying my Escalade ESV. I Have owned 5 Denali's and really enjoyed them. When it was time to exchange trucks this time I upgraded to the Escalade ESV. In the past I could not justify the $10k difference. There is a difference in the ride and comfort with the Cadillac over the GMC. Well worth the $10k. Our family enjoys the comfort and ride, it is a pleasure to drive. Treat yourself."

By on Friday, May 22, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

something missing,,,

By on Friday, May 01, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car not cheap, why the captain seats are so cheap? not soft? like in Ford excursion? if you spend so much money, why not to give the best? why DVD system is extra? learn from the Asian vehicles, if you pay for luxury you get luxury. but overall, the best American SUV."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Beautiful car

By on Thursday, April 23, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Wonderful car with great style, all of the luxury comforts you could want and wonderful ride."

By on Thursday, March 19, 2009

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Ultimate SUV

By on Monday, March 16, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I traded in a loaded Denali XL, as well as my 545 on this vehicle. Hated to give up the 545 but am more than impressed with the hp on the Escalade. The comfort and ride are unmatched. There is no equal on the road that gives you all that the Escalade does. I get 17+ on the hwy, 12 around town. Tough to beat!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, February 15, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, February 06, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Outstanding

By on Monday, January 05, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great comfort, and power. We haul a horse trailer with the Escalade and forget that the trailer is there. Also outstanding in deep snow conditions. Like a truck but with the comfort of a pillow top bed"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Caddy so far

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned 7 Caddy's and a total of 28 GM vehicles in my life and this is the best one yet. No issues with the vehicle and a real head turner. Gas milage is not that great at 14.2 but if you can afford to spend 75K for an SUV you have no reason to complain about MPG. Have an 08 now and an 09 on the way."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Luxury SUV out there

By on Saturday, September 20, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The 2008 Cadillac Escalade ESV sport utility vehicle is an EXCELLENT car. It's price is more than decent (comparing to the $75,000 LX570, $65,000 Land Cruiser, or the $78,000 Range Rover), at a fair $59,000. It can tow 7,800 pounds, and it still gets to 60mph in 6.5 seconds. That's FANTASTIC for a large SUV, considering the Honda Civic gets to 60mph in over 11 seconds. Under the hood - Not 203hp, not 303hp, but 403bhp, that's ridiculous. Compare that to a QX56 with 364hp, Yukon Denali with 380hp, or GL-class with 335hp. Luxury features are many, with a heated leather wrapped steering wheel with radio and climate controls, satellite radio, trip computer, 6-disc CD/DVD changer, Bose AM/FM radio, bucket seats, variable-intermittent wipers, adaptive cruise control, keyless entry, and SO much more. And the GL-class is less luxurious, but at the same price. And now I'm talking about the 2009 Cadillac Escalade ESV, which doesn't show much improvement from the 2008, but the 09 gets slightly better performance, reaching 0 to 60 in 6.4 seconds rather than 6.5. Also the Escalade ESV gets 424 ft.-lbs. of torque rather than 417 ft.-lbs. I'm a big German cars and Italian cars fan, but there's one American brand that I like more than Lexus, and that's Cadillac. An Escalade ESV-V version is coming out soon, and that will power the ESV-V to 60mph in 5.2 seconds! You won't find a better full-size luxury out there, for the same price or even for $20,000 more. I have an 07 Escalade, and I love it. So do what's right and save money on the luxurious, powerful, and worthy 2009 Cadillac Escalade ESV."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good ride..not a value.

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I own a 2007 ESV. Prior to purchasing this one, I owned a 2004 ESV. I love the way it rides...so comfortable! It definitely has plenty of room for my children and friends. The only issue I have is the same issue many of us have...with gas prices rising my SUV has depreciated drastically. I put $12,000 down on my latest ESV and received 2.9% financing along with paying extra each month and I would still take a loss with the sale of this vehicle. Before buying this vehicle make sure you are up for the challenge when paying for the gas!!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Only the Best

By on Sunday, May 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"By far the best SUV that I have ever driven, riden in, and parked. I average 21.3 mpg IN THE CITY!!!! It is also great for families (five or above)"

Great! But EXPENSIVE...

By on Friday, April 25, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"We went to buy the 07 Denali and frankly, in my opinion, they were almost the exact same car (the Denali had less horsepower and a few other minor differences...) BUT my husband just HAD TO HAVE the Escalade, it had just come onto the dealer lot and he was infatuated bad. So we've had it almost 2 years... seriously a nice ride, I will admit... but we will be upside on that loan for at LEAST another 2-3 years, and the gas required to drive it ($94 for me to fill the tank this morning, and I average 13.9 mpg - GRRR...), not to mention the monthly charges for Onstar, XM Radio, etc... makes it REALLY tough for me to say it was worth it. Still, if you have the cash... it is a great car... if I have any complaints - it would be nice if the 3rd row seat folded down to disappear, rather than us having to take it in and out... On the positive side, it is SOOOO easy to drive, park, u-turns are a PIECE OF CAKE, and it's extremely comfortable!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best SUV Available

By on Saturday, April 12, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've driven a number of SUV's as I have a large family and "toys" to tow. This Escalade is by far the best of them. It handles more like a car than a truck. The stability control system doesn't let this car dip while cornering and has great straight line stability. The new rack and pinion steering is much better than the previous models' recirculating ball gear box. It's speed limited to 105 MPH and you never feel you are going as fast as you are, so you have to watch the speedometer. All of the creature comforts of the interior cabin are there. The power of the 6.2L V8 pulls my 5000 lb boat easily, up hill and down. The "tow" setting on the transmisson is great for this purpose, keeping it in a lower gear a little longer when pulling and downshifting when you apply the brakes to help decellerate. On the "negative" side, the controls for the HVAC are small and can be confusing to first time users. It could use some extra power ports. The standard chrome wheels are a bit on the cheap side where the finish is concerned. And the standard Bridgestone tires ride smooth, but the handling is compromised and treadwear is a problem. A Michelin Cross Terrain would have been better. The six speed transmission is great for economy, but every once in awhile I get a "clunk" when upshifting. Overall, I love the truck. I can get 19 MPG crusing on the highway if I keep the AC off. The thoaty exhaust is cool. When you step on it, it can beat a lot of cars on the road but you better have an expense account just for gas."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, January 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Not What I Expected

By on Tuesday, January 08, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Well appointed, family loves the room and DVD/Entertainment System. I love to growl of that V-8, not sure why those better looking wheels have to cost so much. Fit and finaish issues left me agasp. Poor quality on interior metalic surfaces (serious fading to plastics), driver counsol is too loose feeling. Since mine was amoung the first delivered, I had to pay extra for several things that were included with later deliveries (luggage cover, mats, some trailer harnesses) - really annoying. Watch that price drop - UAW is no joke, the drop in the $ value is making a trade for MB very likely, since they now have room in their SUV."

worth the expense

By on Monday, December 31, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car is perfect to travel in. The comfort and reliability is a great plus. There is lots of room for all the kids and friends including plenty of space for shopping. The options you get are fantastic and make the whole car experience worth it. And you will never get lost again or stuck in a jam."

confort and great looks

By on Thursday, December 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i love this car it looks great and it feels so good to drive it, my kids love it it has lots of space and the trunk is huge."

The pursuit of what?

By on Friday, November 02, 2007

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
6/10

"Shame on you Cadillac!!! Wanted to buy American and am totally disgusted with my 2007 Cadillac Escalade ESV. The quality, fit & finish, durability, quietness, tightness, driveability, and overall value for a $68,000 vehicle is entirely disappointing. Great looks, well amenitized, and a complete "sled" of a vehicle that does not drive like the Cadillacs that my father or grandfather drove years ago. 8 or 9 major changes needed to make the vehicle anywhere near the quality expected of a Caddy and to exhibit the engineering common sense that keeps the driver in mind like a Lexus, Mercedes, etc. Those are real cars and still offer a value that doesn't make you feel ripped off every time you get in to drive it. I'm trading mine for a $20,000 loss because it depreciated like a rock! Never again, Cadillac! You should be ashamed to put the Cadillac name on this vehicle. Oh, and the gas mileage is nowhere near what GM estimated. What a total disappointment!"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

New Escalade Owner

By on Friday, November 02, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Just picked up the car - a red Escalade ESV with most options. The car is a head turner. So far it runs great. Gas milage - well, that's not why you buy this car. Lot's of room for the kids - even my wife likes it."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Cadillac Escalade ESV near Honolulu. See local deals