Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1997 Cadillac DeVille

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 426 Ratings for the 1994 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 86 | Next

My 98 DeVille

By on Thursday, May 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable, comfortable, spacious"

Cons: "lower gas milege than new cars,21mph in town"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had 3 cadilac's and I love them. I owned and 88 DeVille which was hit by a semi and totaled and I had to replace it and I got a 91 Eldorado and a tree fell on it 7 years later. But I loved the car. I bought My 98 DeVille in 2011 and I have enjoyed this car just as much as my other ones. They ride smooth. They are classic. My only complaint about my 98 DeVille is that this year of cars are so cheaply made in the interior. The corners of the headliners and vinyl seem to be coming apart and the decal on the outside of the car is bubbling. An expensive car like this was shouldn't have been using such cheap materials on it to be doing this. The wheels are peeling metal off of them. But other than that, the car is fantastic. It is everything a cadilac should be."

17 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Very Nice Road Car

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had this car for 5 years and has been nothing but a joy. Mine has 137,000 miles and just agve it a tune up. It runs and drives great. Highly recomended"

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Best Car I've Owned

By on Thursday, May 19, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my '96 Deville 10 years ago, and now have finally decided to upgrade to something newer. It had 55,000 miles on it when I bought it from the original owner; it now has 135,000 miles on it. The Northstar engine is awesome -- an incredible work of engineering -- it has incredible acceleration power, yet on the highway, I average 25 mpg at 80, and 32 at 55-60. Yes, 32! It has a very soft and quiet ride, as all Cadillacs do, but handles and brakes more like a performance car and, in fact, two times saved my family's lives from highway accidents because of its braking power and handling. In 10 years, the only time anything cost me more than $150 at the shop were 2 new sets of tires! I've been looking for months to find any car under $15 K to even compare to my '96, and I'm out of luck. I wish I could afford another 5 year old Cadillac!!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

A Real Cadillac!!!

By on Saturday, November 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my 98 Deville since April 2005. It was a low mileage (58K) little old lady owned car. I'd never owned a Caddy. This is a REAL Cadillac!! It's quiet as a ghost, rides like a cloud, gets over 25 mpg on the highway, and does it at 75 mph. I've put 45,000 miles on mine, and nothing has gone wrong. No oil use between changes. The Northstar engine makes this car absolutely fly low. Someday, my Caddy will wear out. The paint is still perfect, the seats are holding up the best, but still, everything wears out. When it does, I'm getting another one. The last one they made of this style, complete with tail fins, was 1999. I like it better than the 2000-2006 style Cadillacs. These cars cost over 40,000 dollars ten years ago. You can buy an excellent condition example for a fraction of that, now, but you can't buy mine. It's not for sale."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

At 90,000 still high quality, reliable, & style.

By on Monday, May 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, fun to drive, comfortable sedan."

Cons: "No cons. This car fits my needs and made to last."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just turned 90,000 on odometer. No real mechanical problems, interior & exterior holding up nicely. It has outlasted all my previous vehicles, and still running strong. Simpler 4.9l engine is reliable and easy to maintain."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 86 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Cadillac DeVille near Honolulu. See local deals