Go

1999 Cadillac Catera

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
5.8
Out of 10

Based on 228 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    6.0/10
    Quality
    6.3/10
  • Reliability
    5.9/10
    Performance
    6.8/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 46 | Next

Great car!

By on Thursday, October 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car after using my mother's. Although earlier year models had a lot of problems, the 2001 has proven to be a great car -- a lot of bang for your buck!"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

car with mf defects

By on Wednesday, April 28, 2010

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"this car was poorly manufactured the rear end gets out of align it runs warm unless the heat is on it often will leak fluid from the head or upper or lower intake this seems to be immpossible to fix even if you replace all the seals. the igntion coil box also will need replaced after 50000 mi and 75000 mi the rotors if replaced wont save you from getting brake pads every 15000 mi max"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

After the investment...

By on Sunday, December 21, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"At first I thought this was a great car. Drove nice. Responded well. And if you get on the gas you get a fairly decent exhaust note. Then what everyone else wiser than I experienced already... Electronic Brake Control Unit (Controls Speedo tach, Traction Control, ABS) $1,400 for the unit, $100 install ; Power Steering pump and hoses over $1,000 ; Brakes front and rear $900 ; Fuel pump $873 ; Radiator Fan MOTOR $723 ; Engine cover gaskets and seals $1,800 ; Exhaust manifold gasket $670 ; Timing Belt, water pump, and tensioner pulley $1,530 ; brake light switch $30 (replaced myself) Aside from the repairs I do still like the styling. 4=way heated seats are awesome and friends get a kick out of it. Stereo is still remarkable with absolutely no problems to date. It has enough weight and just enough HP that pushing it right out of a turn will get you a nice Dukes of Hazard approach to driving. Good enough handling to take corners. Does great U-turns and quick ones to get you out of the way of oncoming traffic. Great stopping ability (if brakes in good condition). ABS on this car rocks though sometimes you feel like you are gliding on the ground. The gunshot sound of the ABS will tell you otherwise. Dual climate control is great though seldom used. The "leather" has managed to keep its shape with no tears or cracks at 80k. The chrome wheels still shine like no other despite the mild pitting or oxidation that has occured in limited amounts. The lift struts for the hood have failed also... cheap but rather worthless fix. Sunroof is absolutely leak free. Same with the trunk. Exhaust pipe is in outstanding condition. The motor will still rev nicely and deliver the same power it did nearly 3 years ago. My own emotion of hatred toward this car is because of the every 4 month cycle of dropping no less than $700 in a single repair. But if the car has had significant repairs, especially by the dealer and have been done right as they have been with my car, it should give you some peace of mind. There truly are lemons that fail over and over without limit, but if you are seriously considering this vehicle for purchase, check for receipts of repairs and dont be frightened by excess. If the vehicle has been heavily repaired, there's not much else that could go wrong with it aside from what you would expect for a 10 year old vehicle. The only thing you should stay away from is repeated failures."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

OKAY

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"This vechile was purchased with 72000 miles. I bought the vechile about 4yrs ago and since have put over $5000 of work into the car. My main problem is the alternator (which don't ever buy non cadillac parts) cause it caused my engine to through a cyclinder and I still ended up buying the cadillac alternator after the cheap one did $3000.00 worth of damage. I also have had problem with people putting noe enough oil in the car since it holds six quarts and had to replace my cooling system due to the wrong antifreeze eating all the hoses. The car now has 160000 miles on it and for the price I paid it has been an okay car to purchase. I would not buy one again though cause if something does break it is to expensive to fix."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Awesome Car........

By on Saturday, August 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned this car since 1997, runs excellant..... Have only done regular maintance with no major issues. The car is fast..........you step on the gas and it goes like a sports car and handles like one. I live in Maine and it is great in the snow too........ But what else would you expect from a Caddy.........."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 46 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Cadillac Catera near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement