Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Buick Regal

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 409 Ratings for the 1997 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

Reliable and comfortable

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good road car. Great gas mileage"

Cons: "Limited cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Comfortable and reliable car. Great highway gas mileage and not bad around town. Good road car overall."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The engine runs fine. But..

By on Wednesday, August 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"The engine runs fine and I plan on getting a lot more miles out of this car, but the interior is wearing awful! The only cup holder in the front broke. The seats have ripped. The lights for the heater and mileage don't work. I hate the heater. Its a poor set up. I have to take my eyes off the road too long to set it. And I never seem to get enough heat. I also don't like the storage in the front seat. But the engine is good and i'll continue to use the car."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Solid, Dependable Car

By on Friday, August 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "dependable"

Cons: "GM window motors dependably fail at 30-40K"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought as a program car with 15K, we've put 170K on this car. It has needed very few repairs, it's never left us in the lurch. It needed a tranny at 130K and other than regular maintenance and consumables that's it. We're getting ready to sell it, as at 185K, we can hear the power steering pump warning us that it's nearing the end. The engine is the old GM 3800, so it's still going strong, but the rest of the car is literally falling apart around it. I'd definitely buy another Buick if I could be assured that it would be as dependable as this one has been."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

good car. great engine. a tad small.

By on Wednesday, July 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The 3.2 liter engine is unbelievably good and reliable. I am just over 6 feet tall and the interior is a bit small. For my comfort I have the seat all the way back which means there is no floor in the back seat. Fortunately, no one rides in the back. I would buy this car again."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

the best car I have ever owned

By on Monday, July 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We love our Buick Regal, We wish GM still made cars of this quality, We have just done normal maintenance & this car is still serving us well"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fun Car, Unreliable with Age

By on Thursday, July 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fast, Comfy, Engine & Supercharger Indestructible"

Cons: "Interior Very Flimsy, Touchy Transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I absolutely LOVE this car, but it is not for everyone. The 3.8 Supercharged engine is a brute... so much torque and power, and also very tough. Easy and pretty cheap to modify too. But other parts of the car are somewhat weak or flimsy. The Interior is terrible... mostly brittle plastic. The transmission isn't the best... GM probably should have put something beefier in to handle all the torque, especially since it is FWD. Great in the snow... The traction control works surprisingly well. The suspension is okay... As the car ages, the rear starts to sag though. As for looks... Pretty ugly I have to say. Although when lowered with some aftermarket rims (OEM Rims make the car very ugly), it looks pretty mean! Boy this car is fast though! Very unsuspecting... that's really what makes this car worth having! The car does start going downhill at around 110000... at least mine has! Kind of a tinker toy, but I don't mind since it's my second car that I use for fun! I have about $1200 worth of modifications to the car... Almost have the Horsepower doubled! Not bad for a "Grandpa Car"!"

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Love this Buick! comfort, handling!!

By on Thursday, July 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, easily manuverable, good on gas"

Cons: "yea, no cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 2nd Buick, and I love this one more than the first. This Regal loves long trips, the longer the trip, the better the gas mileage, best so far (in 2013) was 24.3 ..not too shabby for a 2000! Even tho this car had been wrecked (minor) before I bought it, it still handles great, A/C still cold, etc, etc. I have done regular preventative maintenance as well as replaced battery, radiator(dealer should have done this), and changed plugs/wires. Also replaced both 1/2 axles in the front, new brake pads, and one rim. I've used this poor car as a truck sometimes, hauling things in the trunk, back seat, and with the seats pushed forward. Luxury and utility combined! I love this car, and will probably buy another Buick when the time comes, maybe a smaller one tho."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best GM vehicle I ever owned

By on Saturday, May 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,333

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "no memory seat position control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The car has performed great all the yrs that I have had it(original owner) Only one sensor failed, replaced AC comp and struts thats it The supension could have been a bit tighter Responded well to routine maint."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Nice to drive on highway!

By on Monday, March 18, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: broke down to much

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "comfortable ride"

Cons: "no cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"nice car but broke down to often. on the days that the vehicle did work it was a smooth ride loved it just wished it was more reliabil."

3 people out of 11 found this review helpful

a real good car

By on Thursday, February 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car is reliable no problems and still going"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My "Silent Assassin"

By on Tuesday, January 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas mileage, silent engine, trunk, sound system"

Cons: "driver side window starting to go up slowly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The "Silent Assassin" I call him does work. This car is by far the most reliable one I have had thus far (also owned a 1992 Buick Park Avenue & 2000 Chevy Malibu LS). I've had it for almost a year & only needed to do oil changes & a headlamp replacement. I've taken this car to Ohio & can easily get 30 mpg on the highway. Leather seats are comfortable, the Gran Touring package is great as its suspension is solid, trunk space is NICE, & it's a joy to drive, especially knowing that the engine remains silent no matter how I drive, so there is plenty of life. You gotta love the popular 3.8L V6 engine. The kids love riding in the back seat banging out to music with its amazing Bose sound system. I will have this car paid off by next spring & am contemplating on whether I will keep it or trade it in for the car I really wanted last year (luxurious 2004-2005 Hyundai XG350). Either way, I love this vehicle & will highly recommend it to anyone looking for a comfy, reliable family car with great gas mileage & reputation."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

The most reliable car i ever owned.

By on Friday, January 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great fuel economy...a car you can just drive"

Cons: "transmissions a little weak for FWD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased car with 42k on it in 06. Routine maintenance and this car runs like a top. The only major thing(if ya wanna call it that) was the improved upper intake that most all Buick 3.8 engines from this yr needed...drove it for 2mo. till I discovered it needed it. $40 part and back to smooth. Wish I had the model with the supercharger, but the regular 200hp engine is still very potent. Interior classy, great sound system, leather interior and auto dimming mirrors.. quite comfy! These cars get awesome fuel economy."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

What a Car

By on Saturday, October 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, And sleek"

Cons: "Speed makes it handel like a grandpa car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Grandfather boought this car Brand new in 1997. He passed away in 2008 and it sat in my fathers Barn until early 2012. Put a new battery in it and it started and ran like it never even had a four year nap. I only have a few qualms with this car, the first being the center cup holders. I dont know what buick was thinking, and maybe it was a last minute thing, But god are those cup holders cheap. The second issue i have is with the supercharger. I honestley cant tell if its boosting like it should, or if something is wrong. The boost gauge reads at the most 1.5psi. Maybe its just miss miss calibrated. Anyways, the car still feels fast. I wish it had a manual. That would make the car the most enjoyable car i have ever had the pleaseure of driving."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Pap's car may be a best kept secret!

By on Monday, October 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power of the 3800, 27 mpg, quiet ride"

Cons: "Cup holders too close to elbows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was fortunate to find a 2000 Regal GS recently with only 32,000 miles. The interior and exterior are in pristine condition. Beyond cosmetics the engine is smooth shifting and the ride is quiet and comfortable. The Monsoon stereo rivals the latest stereo systems. This was suppose to be my son's vehicle, but this older guy loves this older car."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Very reliable

By on Sunday, September 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great dependability, low maintenance."

Cons: "3.6 L engine did hav e recall for leaks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned a Regal since 98. There has only been one issue with the AC and a few minor oil leaks.. It has nearly 170000 miles ans runs great. Some engine oil leaks, recall fixed it. It's really too bad cars need to go up in flame before GM backs up known issues."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great ,reliable,and confortable!

By on Monday, August 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Plenty of power,nice ride!"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had this car for over 7 years and it has been a great car.It had just under a 100k miles on it when I got it and it still looked new.It has been a faithful friend and never left me or my wife stranded.The only problems have been the front wheel bearings,each replaced once,and I just replaced the brakes and rotors(on front only)twice.But considering the mileage on the car that's not bad.It still has plenty of power and rides great!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love This Car!

By on Tuesday, August 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 194,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All the options, V6, good mpg, comfort, reliable"

Cons: "Price, but expected with Buicks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used 5 1/2 years ago with 87,000 miles. It now has almost 195,000 on it and the only things I've ever needed to replace (aside from the expected costs like tires and filters) were the battery and water pump. The only real quirks I've experienced is that the left blinker goes out frequently and the driver's side window goes down when the car gets turned on (it goes back up). This problem seems to occur on a lot of vehicles, but I've never bothered to fix the window issue just because it's just a mild inconvenience and doesn't really bother me. I LOVE how it handles in the Minnesota winters and have never had an issue driving through even the worst snowstorms. Mine has virtually every option that they have (leather, sunroof, etc). I love that it's quick and responsive with the V6 engine which makes driving fun. The ride is quiet and comfortable even during 16 hour drives to Kentucky. Even with the V6, I still get about 20mpg in town and 25mpg highway. The best ever was on a trip to Indiana, I was getting 29mpg! Everyone laughs at me because I'm only 24 and have been driving this car since I was 19. After this car, though, I think I've become a lifelong Buick driver! VERY solid car with minimal issues! Can't say enough how much I love this car! Plan to keep it until it's no longer running!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I have had Many cars this is my first Buick.

By on Friday, July 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Powerfull V6."

Cons: "Some of the workman ship could use some work."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

My Buick Regal

"Well it drives Great. Mine cost me almost 7k. I like the leg room and the head room. Got a half a tank of gas for only 20 bucks. Great cold a/c Amazing power for a V-6 My first 4-wheel drive car. I like the stereo controls in the steering wheel. If you can pick one up under 7k I diffidently recommend this car."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

My Buick Regal

Great, dependable, powerful vehicle

By on Friday, June 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Powerful, comfortable, dependable, lots of space!"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I got this vehicle from a dealer with 96k miles on it, and have driven it for about a year putting 10k miles on it. The gas mileage is not amazing, but with the turbocharged engine lugging that huge car around you don't really expect amazing gas mileage. I love how quickly the engine responds, and steering/driving is generally fun. Almost everyone who rides in it comments on how comfortable and smooth the ride is for "such an old car" As far as work, other than putting new tires all i have done is oil changes, tire pressure and fluids. Overall, is a great car. Just wish it was standard/manual trans"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

No wonder GM went bankrupt

By on Monday, June 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great ride and very comfortable"

Cons: "little items break all the time, poor design."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"o/k car fairly reliable,redeemed by its great ride and powertrain. but always have minor items breaking. poor design of window lifts and body pannels and trim. no wonder GM went bankrupt. im buying a toyota."

4 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever owned

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned 3 Buicks in a row. Great cars, especially the 3.8L engine. You have the comfort of a full size car and the fuel economy of a compact."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

My car has been very reliable.

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Earlier this year I spent alot of money on repairs. Those repairs were needed for maintenance updates because of its age."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This is the best car I have even owned!!

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Price"

Cons: "Cant think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2003 Buick Regal has been outstanding. It's reliable, comfortable and still running stroung."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very easy driving and control. very comfort

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great car for 2nd car or 1st."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"everything on this vehicle is in top shape. easy steering .very comfortable. good mileage. torbu get up and go!s one owner car. selling because, i"m moving to an assisted livinghome."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

VERY good vehicle

By on Sunday, March 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"drives nice, very good cruiser or around town vehicle - 30 plus mpg highway,handles sharp- 'Gran Touring Suspension' xlnt stereo - 'Concert Sound II'. Seats could use more lumbar support - we use lumbar cushions from chiropractor - also - all these newer cars you sit too low - that's why pickups are so popular.Replaced front brake rotors and fuel pump @ 150000 - no other repairs.Fuel pump was still working fine."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Buick Regal near Honolulu. See local deals