Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1999 Buick Regal

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 409 Ratings for the 1997 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

this car was dependable but now has several issues

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "bad paint job from manufacture, runs bad."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Has several problems with service soon codes turning on constantly even after serviced and sensors replaced. Also several electrical issues with driver side power window and dash lights. This car is currently in the repair shop to find out what is causing it to shut off right after starting and engine continues to run poorly."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very nice

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was purchased new - only one owner - garaged - well kept. Oil was changed every 3,000 miles and tires rotated every 6,000 miles. Interior is leather and in excellent condition. Exterior has no rust and only a couple of small door dents. Excellent shape."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

very reliable great power and handling smooth ride

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability, power, ride comfort"

Cons: "window regulators, dash display. easy fixes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought with 76k, now has 260k on original motor, trans, supercharger, radiator,struts, springs, exhaust and many other factory parts. Handles great, power is great, love this car.I do all repairs myself and almost all have been normal maintainance or preventative maint. Will do struts and exhaust in the near future. Have since bought 3 more, 1999 gs 150k for son, also 99gs and 01gs both needing some work. I am L67 crazy."

can not believe the gas mileage 32 hwy 21 city

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"had a repaint same color charcoal grey looks black at night"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

quality that continues to run

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,419

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"My Buick is 12 years old with over 212,000 hard miles on it. It has a few leaks but the engine has never been replaced, and it continues to get me down the road. If all Buick Regals were built like this one, it is a pretty tough car."

Best vehicle

By on Saturday, August 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent car, has all fancy items found on Caddy'"

Cons: "Cup holder door is the only broken item"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this car for over 10 years and it has been one of the best cars I have ever owned. It has all the bells and whistles and they all work even after 13 years. The car is very comfortable on short and long trips. It has been very reliable for the amount of time that I have owned it. I wish Buick had stopped making them as they sure are a great value for the money. This car required very few repairs for the amount of time that I have owned it and for the 190,000 miles I have put on it. I highly recommend any Buick products. This is my second Buick and they both have proven themselves to me hands down."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

LOVE THIS CAR

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles snow great."

Cons: "Cup holder broke."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives like a caddy without the expensive repairs."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car, pricey, love to drive, comfortable.

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ok to drive, feel safe in it. Too pricey."

Cons: "Plastic parts break easily, Faux leather seats cra"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car, had it for 14 years. Starting to give problems. Biggest concern is the leather fabric in seats don't wear well, cracks, splitting used while working, parked in sun, it is now kept in my home garage. Seats are comfortable. CD player not working. A/C is great! Engine starts up immediately. Great tires/wheels/brakes. Average maintenance kept up all these years. Would buy another. m woods"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Super car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A dream to drive. Instant acceleration,the car really moves.Handling is perfect. I have had eight fantastic years of problem free driving pleasure. Again the best car I have ever owned. I am selling simply because I want a new vehicle nad have an excellent opportunity to purchase yet another good deal."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love this car-sorry it's getting old!

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had this car for 14 years. The comfortable drive-best feature. Of course it has had repairs,but the obvious culprits only.It is aging-sad but true;however, I have never regretted owning it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Worst Car Ever Owned

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Was fun drive....blower big engine this car can go"

Cons: "Gas hog even at 60mph"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Many, many reliability probs.......both front wheel bearings, trans, air conditioner all repaired at significant cost....especially annoying alloy wheels would not hold air;about every 30 days checking tire pressure and filling tires...the worst vehicle ever owned"

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

great car, take care and it will last forever

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best driver, maintains handling and drivability even after 10 years. 33 mpg on the highway at 75, wow! still rides like new. have only performed fluid changes and occasional alignment, no major issues."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Do not Buy! Ever

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "power seats."

Cons: "everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The only reason we have this car is because it was a gift. However, we should have traded it in the moment we received it. Every few hundred miles it needs to be worked on. And it's really expensive work that needs to be done. or a lot of little things all at once that builds up to one hefty bill. Once something starts to go, it just keeps going. the windows, the spark plugs, the fuel injectors. it was really interesting, our catalytic converter went out before our fuel injectors. overall, the comfort level was awful and the blind spots horrendous. And to top it off, really bad gas mileage."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This has been a very good car

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "no CD player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best car I've ever owned. It has given me very little trouble over the 13 years I have owned it. It also rides well and is very comfortable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best vehicle ,

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car, is as good as new."

This has been an excellent car

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It is a pleasure to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would recommend my Regal to anyone. It has an excellent ride and gets very good gas mileage. People have told me they can not believe it is a 1998 red Regal. I am looking for another one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Great Car!!!

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 290,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very dependable."

Cons: "Everything a car needs - except a compass."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought with 105,000. Now has 290,000. Minimal expenses. Great car. Would buy Buick product any day."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This car fit me, bought it NEW, glad I did !!

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Still stylish, great ride, looks like a new car"

Cons: "parts, few rattles from loose speakers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I tried a lot of cars (in 2000) till I picked this 99 buick regal GS (new from dealer), I am a large guy 6'3" 275# , this car interior designed well, I bought it NEW in January 2000. Has just turned 114000, I drove it for almost 12 years and just gave it gas, religious oil changes at every 3K, washed it alot. Only recently have run into some issues, most fixed for cheap (got a great old school mechanic) My model is a factory enhanced model, which has caused a few issues in part replacements, Ie: braking system (high performance) , suspension, super charger, but luckily have found what I needed or some specialist to rebuild my parts..in all, I LOVE THIS CAR, rides great, still gets OK milage, considering I have to commute over a a canyon to work & back. My mechanic accuse me of being addicted to my car, maybe so..but it has served me well all these years, looking forward to another 114K"

I love this buick it is always able get me around

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Rides great and very comfortable"

Cons: "It does have a few minor cosmetics to see"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It does have a few minor things but nothing to worry about. it is a v6 im looking to down size a little"

Best car we've ever had!

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Never let me down!"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the original owner. I have always felt this car has everything, power, reliability, comfort, and nice looking. I would buy another Buick."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

RUNS AND DRIVES REALLY WELL

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "LEATHER INTERIOR IS COMFORTABLE"

Cons: "CRUISE CONTROL DOES NOT WORK"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"BOUGHT THIS REGAL GS NEW AND HAVE SERVICED IT REGULARLY."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car.

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: new car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "minimal maintenance and comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this car in 2007 with 40,000 miles and just passed it on to my oldest son with 120,000 miles on it. Great driver and dependable runner!"

We bought the car new and it has been a great car.

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A nice car, fun to drive, very good condition"

Cons: "Fender needs repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"A very good car to drive. Mileage is good and have had regular oil changes and repairs as they are needed. It has no rust but the right front fender needs to be repaired."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Really Nice Car

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "excellent acceleration, nice turning ability"

Cons: "no heated seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my first regal that I had gotten. I had a different make of vehicle before and after 18 years broke down competely. This vehicle is currently undergoing some engine repair since it leaked antifreeze really badly. I am also working on it myself and compared to the other car I had this one is soooo much easier to work on with only a few problems it also has never to my knowledge under gone extensive repairs before other than what I have had done on it. It keeps on going no matter how I drive it. It does get up goes with little to no problems."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The car for me.

By on Tuesday, February 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable and so comfortable. Never broke down"

Cons: "steering wheel block air. cup holder broke easy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am large this car is very comfortable. I have never broke down in this car. The engine to this day is excellent. Air conditioner still works , heater will blow you out of there. When folks ride in my car they always comment about how smooth the ride is. Little problems were the design of the steering wheel caused cool air not to blow on you. The frame around the gear shift doesn't stay together good as well as the cup holder. But those are miner things. My drivers side window has stopped working now and My torque converter is going out. But hey I am so proud of the service it has been given me. I am fixing to fix the car. I know it will be good for a few more years. Then When my niece pays off the car I co signed for her I will see about buying a pretty new one."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Buick Regal near Honolulu. See local deals