Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Buick Regal

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 403 Ratings for the 1997 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

Love this car

By on Sunday, January 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good mileage, comfortable and fast"

Cons: "cup holders are easy to break"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very fast pickup from a stop. I get 24-29mpg on highway but only 17-19mpg in town.It's a very smooth ride. The only thing negative would be paint job fading on bumper and around the windows. If we were not planning on rving I would keep this car forever."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great car

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car with 100,000 miles on it and have taken it halfway across the country (literally). It's got a LOT of miles left in it...and I plan on keeping it for a long time."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Decent for the money...but hey, its GM

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "comfy crusier, cops never blink an eye"

Cons: "lead sled, cupholder location, dash rattle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Aquired this car in early 2011, with 71K. I figured it was in pretty good shape for being a 2000 model year. Old tires needed replaced, no problem. Ride is comfortable but gas mileage is horrendous. 13-16 city/hwy combined. I was expecting at LEAST 17. And dash rattle is terrible. But I tell myself, its a GM product. Not the best interiors out there. Dash rattle from the left front, and glove box. Overall, cannot complain, as it was cheap to aquire. Its cheaper than a new/used car payment, although gas mileage is terrible. All in all, i'd say look elsewhere if you don't aquire one cheap."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

I really enjoyed driving this car!

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "cup holder is broke"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really enjoyed driving this car. I have always liked a car that will get up and go and this one would. Add in the comforts and luxury of a Buick and it is one of my favorites!"

gret car

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought this car used in 2003 had low mileagei drive it every day is a great reliable car"

comfort/versatile/fast

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"had since 2000 and 15,000 miles. Economical, good looking, agile, quick. Drove over 120,000 miles mechanically sound with easy maintenance. dependable comfort."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car with one exception

By on Monday, December 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "power windows"

Cons: "everything else."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car used and it has been one of the most reliable cars we ever owned. The heater and air conditioning are still as good as new. The only problem we have had is with the power windows. We have replaced them all and two, more than once. I love this car, it is easy to drive and a smooth ride for its size."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car. Good power, comfortable, economical

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Buick makes a great car. I'd love to drive the 2012 Regal but this one is going to do for now."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A great car!

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I owned and sold this car
Reason: moving

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i love the sound of the engine in this car! i loved it, except it doesn't have a economic gas mileage. but nothing is perfect."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

0 to 60 under 7 seconds, 28 MPG HGWY Sedan

By on Tuesday, December 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price, performance, ride, split fold down 60/40"

Cons: "old radio, no inputs, plastic is not the nicest"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2001 Buick Regal GS styling never got old. I shopped to find a better car for past 3 years and I can not find one. The GS when equiped with good tires is the best riding, stopping, handling, accelerating sedan for the money. I do not understand how the KBB estimate is not higher. If you find one of these, buy it and love it. I got as high as 32 MPG and no less than 27 MPG HGWY, and 22 MPG around town. At 10 years"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car, just old now

By on Saturday, December 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, CD and cassette"

Cons: "No auxiliary audio input"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 2001, and have driven it into the ground! I love how easy it is to drive, and how comfortable and responsive it has been. I did not spend any major money for repairs, until the last few years - recently (again, with 200K miles) it has needed a new alternator, something is wrong with the emission system, and it has several smaller problems that I just never fixed (gas gauge, etc.). I have been to South Carolina, and all over Texas with this car. I wish I could buy another just like it but new!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

an ok car, should have shopped smarter

By on Wednesday, December 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "great passing accerlation, windows de-ice quickly"

Cons: "no cup holder, air leaks around doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Bought this car used exactly 60 months ago in 2006 with 57,000 miles. The car handles nicely down the highway and has lots of power and the sound system is excellent. The CD player still works! But, the odometer (cluster) went out at around 100k, my mechanic will replace it for $500. The transmission is "shift hunting" (stutters at idle and at initial acceleration. $900 solenoid repair according the the dealer. Engine is leaking oil at the valve covers, motor oil pan and transmission oil pan; $1,100 repair estimate. So... at "fair" re-sell value of $2,300 with repairs at $2,500, I'll be upside down $200 not to mention the $9,600 purchase price that I'll finish paying off in 6 days. Original owner probably drove it hard and didn't do the prescribed maintenance. Can't say, but I'll be more selective on my next auto purchase."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Sunday, December 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, Reliable, Great Gas Mileage, Nice Rid"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car when it was 3 1/2 years old and had 22,000 miles on it. It has been a great car. The car is now 10 years old and I have only put about $250 into repairs. Car is great on gas for the size and I tend to get better mileage then many 4 cylinder cars. Highway mileage ranges from 33-37 to a gallon, and city averages around 19-22. This vehicle is very comfortable on long drives. I have owned 3 Regals and all of them have been great cars. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a reliable mid-size car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My Regalia

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great for road trips, great for daily trips"

Cons: "five people on a road trip wasn't very comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for the last seven years, and prior to that it was my brothers, this car has taken me to North Carolina, Virginia, and Texas. To say that this car was reliable would be an understatement. This car created a family feel for me and my family, and to have to let it go was very difficult. I bought this car from my brother with 120k on it and drove it for the last 100k with little to no problems."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has been wonderful for my family. Great MPG, comfortable ride, dependable. Overall would buy another one in a heart beat."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best vehicle I ever owned.

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "no lock on gas cap, no inside trunk release."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very comfortable reliable car. I love driving this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Extremely reliable!

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, comfort, easy to drive"

Cons: "I'm thinking........."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We like everything about our Buick. It starts first time every time and it gets about 30 on the highway with the air on. Comfortable, reliable and economical....why wouldn't we like it!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A great car. It has class. It is dependable, comfortable and economical to drive. It was a lot of car for the buck. This car will go another 100,000 plus."

The best car I have ever owned.

By on Friday, November 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sports car look"

Cons: "I never found anything I didn't like with this car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought our Regal used. Had an electrical issue right off but was fixed by the buick garage. Good gas mileage with such a powerful engine. The outside style of this car never gets old! It always looked in style. Inside the instruments are easy to use, seats are more than comfortable with plenty of leg room in the rear. Always a joy to drive, very responsive, corners very well and accelerates fast! Sound system excellent although the cd player ate a disc after a few years and hasn't worked since (I'm used to cd players going bad in cars). Have had a computer failure and other usual problems associated with age."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car!!

By on Tuesday, November 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,280

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "at 11 years young, it is a great car to have"

Cons: "gas mileage not as good as I would like"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"At 11 (model) years old, I am constantly getting comments on how good the car looks. It has been very reliable and I would buy a new one if it had the room that this one does. Overall, a good build by the GM team."

Great vehicle for the price

By on Wednesday, November 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value!"

Cons: "No trunk button release!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car has a very reliable engine, never needed a major overhaul of any components. Transmission shifts very well and for the power in the motor, it gets great gas mileage, expect to get over 300 miles of of 1 tank of gas even if you have a heavy foot."

excellent car

By on Saturday, November 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, economical, spacious trunk, dependabl"

Cons: "dumb front cupholder location"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it used and switched to synthetic oil and saw 30mpg highway. Problems were a leak in a shrader valve in AC, and electrical problems in taillights due to poor installation of trailer connector. Engine did use 2 - 3 quarts of oil between changes. Car was totaled in a highway accident but driver emerged with barely a scratch. Even with passenger door crushed, roof crushed, windshield pillar crushed, engine was running along with a/c and stereo. We were sad to leave it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Friday, November 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "lots of torque. Great sound system."

Cons: "gas mileage is poor if you have a heavy foot."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Me and my GS

"There is not a car on the planet that I would trade for this car. 3.8 supercharged! Power when you need it. Economy when you don't."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Me and my GS

One of the fastest factory stocks I've ever owned.

By on Thursday, November 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this car 2 1/2yrs,good in any road condtion, including roll over,great response, aminity's great,noise level,5/5 very dependable,need better location for cup"

Powerful luxurious ride

By on Tuesday, November 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very powerful, great handling and features"

Cons: "No manual transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my 2002 Buick Regal GS Joesph Abboud edition for about 6 months. I bought it from a dealer at 122k miles and has about 128k on it now. We had to replace both left side wheelbearings and a sway bar link. the rear suspension is sagging a slight bit now but the car handles very well. It takes turns extremely well and when it does downshift it has so much power. It easily spins the tires unassisted on dry pavement and has serious highway passing power. Ride comfort is excelent but has been degrading since i've owned, no doubt because of the spirtited driving I put it through. Has great sound and amazingly plush leather seating. I am selling it now only because I have an oppurtunity for a 5-speed and half the mileage on my brothers car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Buick Regal near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details