Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1996 Buick Regal

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 237 Ratings for the 1988 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

Great CAr!

By on Saturday, February 27, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just bought this vehicle as my second car I have ever owned. Vey nice car. Has 175000 mils on it and it doesnt have any problems...everything still works awesome....Very reliable. Real Comftorable..."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, February 01, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"1st time car. Gets me where I want to go. Its nice looking, and has very reliable parts. I prefer it over my moms car (2006 altima)!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, December 22, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car is very reliable, if if has the 3.8 in it those are some of the best engines gm made. I would recommend this car to any one of my friends. The car rides like a dream, it as always started for me even in below freezing temps. It has everything inside that you could want. (gransport). Very good car over all."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great car

By on Monday, November 09, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i got this car and drive it all over the place. very reliable and plenty of power."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best value ever

By on Friday, September 18, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I think it has been the best car I have ever Had. Rides very smooth."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid vehicle

By on Monday, August 31, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"My vehicle, a 1992 Buick Regal, is a very reliable automobile. I can trust that it will get me where I want to go with minimal (if any) problems, concerns -- and expense."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Thursday, April 09, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my '94 Regal Custom 3800 for $800 about 4 yrs ago with 85k on it. It now has 125k on it and is still running strong. I don't think the previous owner took very good care of it... it came with a bad alternator, virtually no brakes, bad a/c compressor, bad power antenna, bad coil pack, and a bad fuel pump. I know a mechanic that took care of all the problems for me for around $300 (using junkyard parts). I did have to replace the alternator again last year though. Regular maintenance aside, nothing else has gone wrong with this car. It starts every time, no matter what the weather (I measured -25F one time). Well worth the money for me!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Value

By on Friday, March 20, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned this vehicle for over three years and never had a mechanical problem other than routine maintenance. For the low cost of vehicle, you have almost every possible option, great performance and smooth riding as a car that costs ten times the price."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A DEFINITE GOOD OVERALL

By on Friday, March 06, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I got my 1994 buick regal custom sedan, 3.8 power everything, got from dealer @ 167K miles, now is at 193K miles, have had to do [alternator, starter, plug wires, and regular oil changes] i still have this car and is not in the best cosmetic shape, but hey, what do ya expect 4 a 94'. absolutly ZERO rust anywhere else except one little patch 1" square on roof. i run hard miles into town and back, i Would NEVER doubt this car, even with the mileage it has, i would take from MN to California, or NYC any day. about the only problem is is that the disc inside the steeringwheel air bag is messed up, so the air bag light is on. but doesnt affect performance @ all."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

cheapest to maintain

By on Friday, November 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"proper care to this car meaning regular maintaince like trany filter and intake gasket this car could get well over 250000 miles with very little expence these cars are not that easy to find for sale. several people I know with this car will not part with them. I have had mine for 11 years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Acts Like an Old Car

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2008

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought this vehicle with 128,000 miles on it, and had to do some typical maintenance, including replacing the A/C unit, steering column switch, air flow sensor, will need to replace the brakes in the near future, have been having issues with the mileage, lucky if I get 24 on the highway, 16 in the city, but approaching 162,000 miles and still running fairly strong, aside from the fact the prior owner must have been clumsy with this car, as it looks beat up both on the inside and outside. I certainly got my money's worth out of this car, and she has a mind of her own at times."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1990 Buick Tank

By on Saturday, September 06, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have a 1990 Buick Regal Custom 3.8 V6. First of all, this car was nicely kept in storage for about 6-7 years so when I received the vehicle it had low mileage and the A/C still worked, but only for about 2 years. Overall this car lasted me a good while; long enough to get me through college and saved my neck in a few car accidents. This thing was built TOUGH!! And I would know because I put it through a LOT. The gas mileage has always been stellar. The only thing that gave me problems was the transmission which I needed to replace around 2004 and the blinkers/tail lights, which happened to be connected to the steering column, shorted out and needed to be replaced constantly. The engine was built great and has a lot of power and the handling/steering is wonderful especially for turning corners and make tight u-turns. This would make a great car, no matter the condition, for a younger person who needs a sturdy vehicle to endure the normal wear-and-tear that it will be subjected to. Great fun, zippy, yet comfortable ride :)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

omg this thing is the best!!!!

By on Sunday, August 31, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"this thing is the best it has power and comfort and has good sound system adn its just the best thing i"ve never owned a buick except this one and its the best.... enjoy your regal"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Stole my heart!

By on Saturday, July 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This was the first car I learned to drive, passed down to me from my grandfather. After 17 years of existence (8 of those years being spent with me!), I continue to be amazed and awed by how well and how smooth this car rides. Other than routine maintenance, this car has always run great! I needed to replace the Mass Air Flow Sensor after the car would die at random moments, but after that was fixed 2 years ago, she's ran as good as new! This car has taken me to Washington and Idaho and Wyoming and all the way back to California without ever having to call AAA for a tow! I will admit that some features broke that would have been useful. The AC burnt out about 6 years back. The glove compartment handle broke, making it impossible to get to the trunk hatch button. The odometer has been on the fritz for about 10 years. The antenna does not go up and down, and the strero is beginning to get staticky. The seatbelts in the back never retracted very well. And the emergency brake handle snapped off. However, all things considered, as far as functionality of a car is considered, this car runs like no other car I've driven! A simple tap of the pedal and you have power; and with cruising? Take your foot of the gas and the digital numbers on the speedometer slowly begin to drop down. About 30MPG on the freeway. Not the best brakes, but that just means you have to drive more defensively. Like I said, GM truly created a fun, smooth car to drive with the creation of this model. Thank you for the many memories Buey!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best of the Best

By on Monday, July 14, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my Buick Regal GS new in July of 1989. it is now July 2008 (19 years). It handles like a sports car, is quick and has plenty of power, I could not expect more than it has given. This car was available in either the 2.8 or 3.1 engine, mine is the 3.1. I have never once had to add a quart of oil between changes at 5 - 7000 miles, never had any major engine or transmission repairs, only servicing such as brakes, oil/fluid changes, belts and hoses. About 10 years ago I had the left power window repaired, the computer module replaced, and replaced the headliner. Other than that, nothing but routine maintenance. Though the paint was still pretty good I had it repainted the original color about 5 years ago, and it still looks good. It now has over 275,000 miles and runs as strong as ever. This is an amazing vehicle that I would not trade even now for most of the new ones."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great car

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"own a 1996 buick regal custom has the 3.8 v6 i have owned this car since 2005 i have owned it 3 yrs now it had 150000 miles on it when i bought it now i have 195000 miles on it and i have done nothing but put a new set of tires on it i put a new radiator on it and a put new brakes on all 4 wheels other then that the car has been very reliable uses no oil motor doesnt knock or smoke runs like brand new ac gets so cold you can see your breath when its on wife uses the car for work every day and puts major miles on it every day as she is a hospice cna that requires her to travel would recommed to any won wanting a regal paint still in very good shape no peeling or fading bought it for 1400 dollers 3 yrs ago has been a very good investment"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Monday, May 19, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"Runs great, lasts, comfortable. Great all-around car. I recommend this car to anyone looking for an affordable, comfortable, reliable car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

92 Buick Regal Ltd. 3.8Ltr

By on Saturday, March 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this new and fell in love with it. Have 235,000 mi. and it is still purring. replaced water pump, air condition clutch, serpentine belt, brakes & rotors. Reg maintenance-change oil every 5000 mi. Does not use oil, get 30 mi. to gal. One rust spot on fender came this year. I don't want to part with it because it gets me everywhere even during the worst snow & ice storms. Great traction in the front wheel drive and travel through the mountains is wonderful--it likes to free wheel if not put in lower gear for downhill. Comfort of split front cloth seats and leg room great for long trips. Plan to donate it since lots of good travel left in it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Monday, March 17, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 1995 GS. Runs great, works great in the snow, extremely comfortable. Had numerous problems with the anti theft key system...bad design on GM's part. I now have over 190k with original engine. Still has power...3800 engine is the best V6!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, February 09, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This has been a fantastic vehicle. I have owned it for over 5 yrs and it has more than 190,000 miles on it. It has never had any major problems. just routine maintenance and it keeps on going. What a workhorse! The GM 3.8 litre is in my opinion their best 6 cyl. engine. It is almost impossible to kill them. I couldn't be happier with this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best ever

By on Wednesday, January 30, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this car for 8 years. It has never given me a bit of trouble. With routine maitenence, it could go on forever. I have 180,000 on it, and could put many more. I love my Regal. It was by far a great investment!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great reliable car

By on Saturday, January 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car has been a workshorse...has NEVER given me any mechanical problems and is wonderful for road trips. The trunk is huge and holds a lot. It seems to go on forever. With continuing regular maintenance the car has been virtually trouble free. I have over 150,000 miles on it. I've been very satisfied with my 96 Buick Regal Custom"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

An Excellent Car

By on Monday, November 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned this car for more than 3 years, When I bought the 1992 Buikc Regal (as a third owner), it had 56,000 miles on it. I wanted a commute car, and after 3 years I am very happy that the Buick is still with me! Averages 30+ miles on the Highway. Riding comfort is so good. On this oldie we (me and my Wife!) did a 800+ miles one way trip to Kansas and back - No aches or pains! At times I was doing above 95+ still the ride was smooth. Oil changes, Trans flush, Spark plugs replacements, Brake replacements, Oil pan leak fix are some of the repairs I made in last 3 years. But I think these maintenance would fit other cars too. I have added 60K miles on it, I captured the moment the odometer turned 100,000 - using my cell. Hoping to capture the 200,000 reading..."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

super economy,comfort,power

By on Friday, October 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"93 GS coupe, 3.8, loaded, owned since new, 150,000 miles. 20 mi/gal for short city trips in winter (lots of stop & starts/traffic) to 40 mi/gal on longer summer highway in O/D. (average 25-35). Change oil at manual specs. No oil adds required between changes. Lots of power when you need it in any gear range. This has been a super low maintenance car. Just change oil & tires as required and drive, drive, drive. I understand Buick has tied with Lexus this year (2007) for #1 car,,,, not surprising at all"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliability

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"The 3800 engine is one of the most reliable available, trumped only by Ford's 3.0 liter OHV engine."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Buick Regal near Honolulu. See local deals