Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1996 Buick Regal

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 233 Ratings for the 1988 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 8 9 10 | Next

not that good-96regal

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"driver's seat is way way too low..i am 6 foot tall , but i still sit too low.power window channel got chewed up somehow inside the door-regulator and both channels and glass guides all had to be replaced.front struts are very expensive to replace.gas mileage severely lacking for a 3.1 litre , even though i keep it meticulously maintained.bulbs are not replaceable in the radio nor the heater control. rides very nice . steering feels good . radio sounds great , but am reception is horrible ."

Good and Bad

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"I've had this car for 5 yrs and put only 25k miles on it. Best feature is the power, especially from 30-45 mph when accelerating to pass. It's pretty good from start, but won't beat any sports car. This power is due to the axle ratio of close to 3:1 than to the 3.8L V6 @170 HP. I know because I've driven comparable weight car with 200HP 3.OL V6 DOHC and 3.7:1 axle ratio that doesn't approach the Regal's power. I like the styling, but if you're tall, you'd like an inch or two more headroom. Cup holders are poorly spaced, at least most forward one, interferes w/the shifter in low gear. A few things give it poor economy and reliability marks. The alternator is undersized for what the car needs, resulting in a reliable need to replace it after failure every 18-24 months. That's the worst. The flush door handles are poorly constructed, with a weak inner latch that, after 12 years is likely to break, causing you to have to open the car from the other door and reach over to open the broken-latch door from the inside. Costs $300 to repair from dealer. And, on my car, the horn went out, & because the actuator is a complex panel that costs more than $500 to replace, I had my mechanic wire a separate button to the console for $50 instead. Detroit insures a trip down the drain w/engineering failures like the horn, door latch, and alternator. Also, infrequently used passenger-side window motor replaced, which at 22,000 mi. was way out of line to have happen, but vehicle was out of time warranty, so no recourse for a fair no-cost fix. Very comfortable seats."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

A good running sporty sedan

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"I have owned many cars, mostly american and this regal gs has held up well. it runs great and is reasonable on repair costs. mileage is comparable to most v6 engines but with more power. Great transmission, I had to repace it at 70k though. Be sure to check for leaks as they are expensive to repair. The interior is ok, It should have better lumbar support and better fitting door panels but the dash, shifter and accessorys are great. (I would have preferred a better design for the cup holders and better placement for the ashtray) It looks great and has an excellent suspension system. If you are looking for one I would reccomend you get the gran sport GS package or dont get a regal at all. GS is the only way to go because it has a moonroof, leather, suspension and all the goodies."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

good over all car to own

By on Saturday, July 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i think the car is a very godd safe realible car and economic to run it uses very litte gas, has a great stock radio in it and rides like a dream and is comfortable."

By on Saturday, July 07, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned my 1996 Buick Regal for 3 years and I believe it is a great car. My 17 year old daughter drives it and I feel that it is a safe car and it averages 27 miles to the gallon"

Nice Car

By on Saturday, July 07, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

"Good car, had some issues with the engine, but only when the weather was really humid, and i was stupid enough to let the gas tank go down too low."

great dependable car

By on Friday, July 06, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've had the car for 9 years, and it has been very dependable. It currently has over 200,000 miles and still runs strong. Good gas mileage, average 26-28 miles/gallon hwy. A/C has always been very cold.All dash instruments work,comfortable seats. It has a large roomy trunk, seats up to 6 people. Great car for the money!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 8 9 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Buick Regal near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details