Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2009 Buick LaCrosse

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 281 Ratings for the 2005 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Great car!! Quiet, smooth ride!!

By on Wednesday, April 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet, Comfortable ride, Great sound system"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"On the exterior, the body and paint quality are pretty high, but the paint/gloss quality of the plastics on the exterior door pillars is not too good, as the paint comes off of these pieces easily. The rims are excellent quality and with the right tires, provide a quiet and smooth ride for the car. On the interior, the leather seats provide for an added smooth and comfortable ride, especially on long trips. The carpets are easily cleaned after being dirty. The overall interior quality is very good, sleek and impressive in most respects. The sound system even with stock speakers and an aftermarket head unit provide excellent sound with a good amount of clarity and bass. The automatic headlight sensors make having to worry about turning on and off headlights non-existent. In the back seat, you can comfortably sit 3 adults for short-term rides and 2 adults for longer rides. The trunk is expansive and has a lot of storage space, and with the back seats folding down, provides even more storage and transporting space. Under the hood, the 200hp 3800 Series III V6 engine provides enough power to move around on roads and highways in the city. Have also taken on back mountain roads of West Virginia and the car has no problems navigating these mountain roads. It is tied to a 4-speed automatic transmission, and can be punched at the right time to allow for ease of passing people on the highway. Average gas mileage is 22-26mpg combined City/Highway doing daily driving around the Baltimore/Washington DC Area. Overall this car is a pleasure to drive. I had someone once tell me that you can drive any car in the world, but once you drive a Buick, it's an entirely different driving experience. Having owned 3 small Saturns and 1 Chevy Malibu, I now understand what this means. My 2006 LaCrosse CXL drives like a full-size sedan, despite being classified as a mid-size sedan. It's quiet, smooth, comfortable ride makes the whole driving experience a real pleasure again. Plus, with having one of Ward's 10-best engines of the 20th Century under the hood, the GM 3800 Series III V6 engine, this car is built to last for easily 200k+ miles. I am a rough driver and this car has taken everything I have thrown at it. Highly Recommended Car!!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Smooth riding, comfortable and reliable

By on Tuesday, April 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, spacious and great riding"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Never had any problmes with the vehicle. Had a small amount of routine work done, but nothing serious. No accidents. Only 1 previous owner. It was in almost brand new condition when we purchased it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Comfortable, Quiet, Fun To Drive, Economical Gem!

By on Thursday, March 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased the vehicle in June 2006 with 18,300 miles on it from Enterprise Car Sales and and have driven it all across the country and from coast to coast - NC to CA 6 times and from NC to Seattle, WA 4 times in all weather conditions and averaged 31.3 mpg. It is as comfortable, quiet, fun to drive and economical today (March 28, 2013) as it was the day I purchased it. I've done the routine maintenance at the recommended intervals and recently replaced the headlights and a fan belt at 118,000 miles. Great Car that's good for another 100,000 miles. Get's a Strong Recommendation from me!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

it's all buick,The Only Car I will ever Own.

By on Wednesday, March 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,899

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good LOOKS, GREAT RIDE and Very ECONOMICAL ."

Cons: "No rear window contrls in rear of car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It drives like a Buick. With a 3800 V/6,4speed. It has power like a V/8. With the tire inflation lowered from 35lbs. to 32lbs.The ride is very smooth. Steering very quick and responcive. With dealership matinance.It drives like a new 2013. And this car is defintely a road car. It averages 17.6 miles per gallon in the city. 21.9 MPG. highway mileage. With regular oil change at 5000 mlies . It burns 1qt. per oil change. IT IS A BUICK!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

mixed feelings

By on Tuesday, March 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "quiet ride"

Cons: "bad design of the steering column/shaft"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Steering column problem since the beginning without solution. Gas Mileage on mixed driving: ~25 mpg. Oil Consumption: almost half of the oil is gone at the 3k miles mark. Coolant lost: at 65k I notice that some coolant was missing, had to replenish the coolant reservoir. very hard to get into the steering fluid reservoir to add fluid."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very good overal daily driver

By on Saturday, March 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car to own. I've owned many cars including 3 BMW's and find myself enjoying this car at the top of my list. Interior holds up better than any of my others, looks and drives great too. I'm averageing 24.8 mpg which is fine being that 80% of the miles are in-town."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very good car

By on Sunday, February 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very fun to drive."

Cons: "bad gas milage city"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this has been one of the best cars I have owned. I would buy another with no problem"

Great running car

By on Wednesday, February 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We have had not problems replaced the tires"

Great Reliable Car.

By on Friday, February 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfy and great to drive."

Cons: "Gas Mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has never let me down or stranded. The Gas Mileage could be better. 22-24 on the expressway. I had a Regal GS Superchsrged that got 30-32. Same basic 3.8 Liter Engine. It has a nice quiet interior and quite comfortable. But that's what Buicks are all about. Overall it's been a Very Nice Car. But with 99000 Miles it's ready to be traded in. Great Car that I hate to see go, but another Buick caught my eye."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Outstanding

By on Friday, September 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride. Responsive handling. Great gas miles"

Cons: "There just aren't any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have purchased over 40 new cars in my life. I have had all luxury brands including Mercedes, BMW, Porsche, Cadillac and Audi. I could not believe how great this car has been at half the price of all those others. No doubt Buick has a very special product. My next car will be the new style Lacrosse."

19 people out of 19 found this review helpful

NICE TO DRIVE,ADEDQUTE POWER GOOD RIDE, QUIET RUN

By on Monday, September 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "NICE TO DRIVE, QUIET SOFT RIDE"

Cons: "POOR GAS MILEAGE, SMALL BUTTON CONTROLS FOR HEAT"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"NICE DRIVING CAR P-[LENTY POWER COMFORTABLE RIDE QUIET DISAP[POINTING GAS MILEAGE STYLING DISAPPOPINTING"

Very Reliable Vehicle

By on Saturday, September 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Outside mirrors block views on close turns."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not what I expected sizewise from Buick but it is reliable, comfortable and stylish."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good Road Car

By on Thursday, August 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very good on good roads, quiet, good MPG!"

Cons: "Suspension is not up to handing poor roads + noisy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Best car I've owned so far (used) Two road trips to Florida and back, very comfortable. But it is time to move on because 2005 LaCrosse suspension on our beat up Minnesota roads is not capable and it is getting clunky! I won't complain because I got it for a very good price."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

One of the best cars I have owned.

By on Sunday, July 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun and comfortable to drive."

Cons: "Cup holders could be more strategically placed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has a very smooth ride in town and on the road. I get 38 mpg on trips and 23 mpg in town. The 3.8L V6 engine is the best engine that GM ever built. It moves the car at a steady pace in town or on the highway and has enough power to get me out ofthe way of bad drivers quickly."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Good all around car

By on Saturday, April 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good looking and driving car"

Cons: "City millage isnt great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great looking car,comfortable, handles well and drives well. The 3800 v6 had provides good power and quick acceleration as well as being a bulletproof/reliable engine. I put a hitch on it and it pulls a 900 pound trailer with no problems at all (its rated to tow 1000 pounds). Only real complaint is that gas millage isn't great in the city (I average about 16 city). It will pull 30 on the highway if I drive it very nicely but I typically get closer to 28 highway which still isn't bad for a big car."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This LaCrosse has been a great vehicle. I purchased the LX so I could get the 3.8 engine. It has not disappointed me. No problems inherent with the vehicle. Only thing that sometimes tweaks me is the poorer gas mileage from the ethanol fuel. In town mileage has not matched estimated m.p.g."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not much mileage; most dependable car ever

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Everything about it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Covered above"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth ride and never had any issues"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I tell everyone if they want a smooth riding car that's reliable, get this model - it's the best overall car I have ever owned and that says a lot because I've owned them all!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love it! 3800 V6 and trans are bulletproof. Rides and handles great. Amazing comfort and roominess for the price. Might keep this Buick forever."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Dream to drive in summer, nightmare in winter

By on Monday, March 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,200

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Good price, lots of "get-up""

Cons: "Many blind spots, poor traction on winter roads"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I've owned this car for 3 yrs. Good handling and pick up. Gets 25 mpg city, 28 hghway, which I think is low for midsize car. Roomy interior but too many large blind spots, especially if you're short (I'm 5'3"). Has NO traction in snow, ice or slushy road conditions. If u cross out of ruts on road in winter conditions, at speeds of over 35 mph you quickly can go out of control and cross center line or in ditch. WOULD NOT recomend to a friend or relative. She's good lookin but if you have to drive in winter conditions...consider something else!"

1 person out of 6 found this review helpful

tHIS IS A GREAT CAR--VERY QUIET AND COMFORTABLE.

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "QUIET, RELIABLE."

Cons: "BAD ANTILOCK BRAKES! NO TEMP OR COMPASS, PAINT FL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"DROVE 160K FROM NEW AND NEVER A PROBLEM EXCEPT THE ISSUE OF ANTILOCK BRAKES. REPLACED WHEEL SPEED SENSOR 3 TIMES, STILL NG. VERY QUIET AND SMOOTH, GREAT ON LONG TRIPS, SEATS SUPPORTAVE."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good car but the inside is dose not have comfort

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,256

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"the inside is maid cheep and dont have the confort that buick has in their cars. i have a buick rivera and the lacross dose not come close to it."

great for the value

By on Saturday, March 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "descent fuel milage"

Cons: "kinda narrow, not much rear leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"ove"

Very quiet and comfortable car.

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable - great for long drives @ 30 mpg"

Cons: "Styling, even when new, was very dated."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very good car with excellent, quiet ride at 30 mpg on open highway at speed limit. A solid value, but not real exciting in appearance. Looks like a old, gray-haired guy's car -- which is correct as I am an old, gray-haired guy. I think the later models are better looking and have some useful new electronics. The leg room in the back seat is adequate, but smaller than I would have expected. I understand that this space is increased in newer models. But, all-in-all, this a very nice vehicle. No service has been needed yet -- at 45,000 miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Have owned this car for 3 years and love it.

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Buick LaCrosse near Honolulu. See local deals