Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1998 Buick Century

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 518 Ratings for the 1997 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

buick

By on Thursday, July 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Low maints low coast last long time for ownership"

Cons: "CD player stop working."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this automobile is very good on road trips & also handle pot holes in city driving well also. im very happy."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

No worries

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Maintenance is almost $0 -other than oil and tires"

Cons: "Wife says it is a "grandma" car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car used for my wife and right after we got it we had to replace the fuel pump in the gas tank. That has been 4 years ago and other than replacing tires and changing the oil I have had to do nothing to this car. It is driven lots of highway miles ( 250 miles EVERY weekend for her to come home) plus all week it is driven short hops to and from work (<10 miles) All in all it has been a very reliable car. The AC will freeze you out and it rides smooth on a long trip so it is a comfortable vacation car."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Outstanding car. Very low maintenance costs.

By on Sunday, May 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 325,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Low maintenance, great mpg."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2003 Buick Century when new. I have been very diligent about routine maintenance. This car has had very few maintenance issues, and has been the most reliable car I have ever owned. It gets 30+ mpg on the highway and 27+ in town. It has a great ride, is comfortable, and will get up and go when you want it to. Other owners I have spoken to report the same. Why Buick stopped making this car is a mystery to me. I have kept a detailed expense spreadsheet on this car since the day I bought it. Overall, it costs me 19 cents a mile to drive it. If you find one, buy it."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

A great car to drive forever

By on Wednesday, March 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My whole family owns Buick Centuries now. It started with me buying my wife a 2002, then us buying a used Century for each of our Daughters as they graduated from College. I just bought this 1997 Century and LOVE it. Sure, the '97 lacks the dual passenger heat zones and enough cup holders. But the 3.1 liter push rod GM V6 just goes and goes. Keep good struts in these cars and they handle just fine. Most get 30 MPG on the highway, although this one seems to get less for some reason. The styling has been made fun of. Too bad. They are decent looking and so very functional. Why buy an equivalent Honda for 1 1/2 times the price when you can buy a 10 year old Century for so good a price as these generally go for? I love these Buicks for how handy they are, their roominess, and great function."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Wednesday, June 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "25mpg,comfort,size"

Cons: "no longer making this model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car brand new in 2001. Have not had any real problems with this vehicle. I will have to have a sway bar linkage repaired for about $100.00. Still getting 25 mpg. It has always been confortable and roomy. I wish they were still making this model as I would buy a new one immediately."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Buick Century near Honolulu. See local deals