Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2006 BMW Z4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 207 Ratings for the 2003 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

So much better than the new sDrive...

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "The best, bar none, weekend driver you can buy."

Cons: "Not so good in a city or on bad roads. Or snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My baby, brand new

"The 2006 BMW Z4, of any build, is infinitely better than the new sDrive Z4. The electronic controls have removed the driver from the new car. The 2006 Z4 is one of my favorite cars I've ever seen, and I'm lucky enough to have put 100,000+ miles on it with no mechanical issues. It looks fantastic, and driving through the mountains with the top down is one of lifes greatest luxuries. I could go on and on about how wonderful the car is. I really could. But I don't feel there's enough elaboration on the negatives, which are primarily ride comfort and maintenance costs. A full set of new brakes will run about $1000 installed, tires are generally Z rated and $180/tire (More if you stick with the runflat bricks) and though nothing ever really goes wrong, anything to do on the car is incredibly expensive. I had an oil pan gasket replaced and it costed me nearly $800. The ride comfort is... To put it bluntly, terrible. Low profile tires and a racing stiff suspension, you will feel every bump, rock, crack, and divet in every surface you drive on. As a daily commuter in a city, you will develop back problems quickly. That being said, that same suspension and those wide rear tires make this car one of the best weekend cruisers to have ever been made. I have the E89 i6 278hp 270lb/ft plant in my car, and that engine, combined with the amazing dual clutch flappy-paddle gearbox is an absolute DREAM to rev into the upper 6800rpms and hear that great engine purring as you cut a corner with the top down and the sun on your face. BMWs last true Ultimate Driving Machine."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My baby, brand new

What a Winner

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A real driver's car."

Cons: "Typical Z4 crummy cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my third Z car. Started with a Z3 a few years ago. Gave up a low mileage 2003 Z4 that won awards in area car shows for the Z4M. Glad I did. What a joy to drive. I don't find the ride harsh at all. It's just very solid. The engine is the most flexible I've ever encountered; very tractable at low rpm and a real screamer above 4500. It'll never be a rare car (they made 3041 N. America roadsters), but it should retain good value if well cared for. My wife will not believe it, but this is likely my last car. It's that good."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Two year old with me: second owner: awesome car!

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Superb driver after ditching the run flat tires:"

Cons: "None in my opinion."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought it two years ago, with 50K miles. Six-speed, 3.0, all options. My third BWM, and my best. Hauls a**, and cruises when necessary. Body still gets looks in a crowd, and low maintenance. Throw back to the long hood, in line 6 sports cars. A real winner. Looking for a great sports car, don't look any farther."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

love it.

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "ultimate drive"

Cons: "bit small but its a roadster"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I d buy it again"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Bought car off BMW lease and love it.

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Real sports car ride, handling, looks, fun drive"

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is beautiful with every extra in it. Leather power seats, GPS. Auto/stick option, AM/FM/CD/DVD on board computer, rain censor wipers, power roof. All in excellent condition and only 31200 original miles. Garage kept. Looks like new."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

If you're reading this review, you already know!

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fast and rare!"

Cons: "Expensive to keep up!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife bought this car for me 2 years ago in NC (2012). Its 2007 BMW M Coupe Black/Black with 29K on the clock! I paid $35K out the door. Since then I typcally only drive it on fridays or when the weather is perfect. I have since moved to CA where the roads are a bit harsh but the highway is a blast. I did use this as a daily driver and even with the sport mode "off", the jumpy and sensitve clutch is not for weak stomachs. I've since installed the CDV delete (best $35 bucks I ever spent). The only issues Ive run into are the headlight washer was stuck open on the right side, easy fix-remove the fuse so they dont come on. Beter than $750 to replace them at BMW. I did have a right rear tire blow out on Conti-Sport tires, the TPMS sensor worked great and alerted me before hand. Bad news though, insurance wont usually cover a flat bed tow(no spare tire). Change the fluids as suggested, premium only gas and be very careful on bumps (I've already replaced the underbody shield and plastics = Expensive!) I will admit that on long road trips its a bit harsh on my lower back ( I'm 5'11 @ 200 lbs) Other than that, she sleeps in the garage, covered in a BMW fitted car cover, ready for the next sunny day. No issues! I love this car more each day. Hope this helps and happy driving!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This car is power and fun!

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "So much fun to drive, leave them at the red light"

Cons: "not big enough for much more than fun"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I had this car build from scratch and watched the progress on the computer. Its silver outside and red leather seats. Its a classic look. The new are still look like this one. This was the only year they put the race car transmission in them, now you can only get it in the M6. It will last for many years to come. I needed more room for my business travel or I would still have it believe me."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Fantastic ride with the soft top down. Hot car.

By on Tuesday, February 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable and very sporty"

Cons: "Not enough interior storage space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Only drive it when I can put the top down. Very fun and exciting to drive. Great aggressive look."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fantastic fun and reliable performance car

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just plain fun car to drive"

Cons: "None, I love it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 5th BMW, all have been great cars. This one is my favorite. BMW made a winner here. Amazing performance but still docile in town. The torque range of the engine is wonderful, pull away in any gear with ease or drop down and leave the traffic behind. Handling is next to none and brakes that are out of this world. You can drive it as a lazy man or a wild man, it just comes back for more. I have owned the Porsche Boxster S as well, very good car as well, but I love the Z4M over it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fun toy!

By on Tuesday, December 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,476

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Ultimate Driving Machine (& I've owned other BMWs)"

Cons: "Nada"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this used in 2006 with approx 35k miles. Drove in California - ahhh...those twisty coastal roads! Nothing major for repairs or maintenance all this time. Selling because I moved and don't use it enough to make it worth keeping."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome car

By on Friday, November 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "cup holders a bit awkward, but useful"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fast, economical, timeless design, elegant simplicity."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun and sporty!

By on Saturday, November 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Handles well, very responsive, tight radius."

Cons: "Cup holders placed wrong in front of a/c and knee."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Car wash!

"The Z4 is an awesome little car! Flying down the highway with the top down is way cool. The best is a windy road when the car tracks like a dream. Awesome handling on turns. Will really hate to graduate to a new car one day."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Car wash!

Traded in Z3 for Z4. Well worth it.

By on Monday, November 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Whoever is driving it, looks good."

Cons: "Repairs pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Z4 is much more of competitive sports car...close to Boxer. Have had sports car since my first in 1968...a 1965 Sunbeam Tiger, if anyone knows it. Much quieter than Z3 unless you had hardtop. engine has great sound, not loud but distinctive. Have small engine with 5 speed manual. Have never felt like needed more power. Felt like could shift one more time. I'd buy it again. Had to replace top motor, about $1,000 and a couple of cup holders. If you have to have anything done, start at $1,000. Original tires were good run flats. Next set was bad selection on my part. I then went to Michelin non-run flat . I seldom get to drive this except when wife & I are together. It is her everyday car. She is not looking at new Z4 because of lost cargo space it would have. She can get half of Costgo in that car."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

head turner, high maintenence

By on Sunday, November 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Will receive many compliments"

Cons: "High maintenence"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"PROS: Stunning design, will receive many compliments, fun to drive, powerful, fast, hugs the road, people always smile at you as you drive especially with the top down, good stereo sound, surprising good gas mileage, makes you feel rich, did I mention fun to drive? CONS: High cost of maintenance, motor for convertible top guaranteed to fail (too expensive to fix and even when repaired will fail so get used to manual mode), engine/hood head light lens gets foggy quickly, hood/engine gets hot with accompanying burning/hot smell, car doors sound tinny when closing, door handle latch sticky, lens cover get foggy quickly, very expensive parts like run flat tires around $400 each"

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

love love it....

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great car"

Cons: "run flat tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a Z3, and then purchased the Z4.... i love this car ! ! !"

beautiful, fast and fun

By on Sunday, September 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Hot car"

Cons: "Expensive to repair."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"03, NICE 55k miles expensive to repair, door locks malfunctioned, replaced module over $1000. at 50k replaced gaskets on oil filter and valve cover for leaks. Rain water destroyed convertible top motor."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

ZEDDY

By on Tuesday, September 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive.. altimate swagg... fast n tight"

Cons: "speed bumper scrapper... pothole killer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"19 years old owned the car for 2 years. love everything about it besides having to navigate every pot hole and pull into certain areas at a slant(to avoid scraping front bumper) the car is awesome. i have the 2.5 after small engine work(throttle body spacer,intake,tune) she performs if not pulls on the 3.0. defiantly had my fun going thru a few pair of rear tires drifting. although maintenance can be very expensive make sure you get a full warranty(bumper to bumper).... handles beautiful hugs turns at high speeds. after owning this for 2 years i could only think to want a M3 or Porsche after this."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this car..

By on Tuesday, July 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks, quick response,good price, fun to drive"

Cons: "repair price, electronics."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Was going to get a Vette and my wife talked me into a Z4...Best toy I've ever bought.Absolutely love driving this car. I have no regrets whatsoever for choosing the Z4 over a Vette."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This car is perfect for someone that has class.

By on Saturday, June 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is perfect for someone that has class and want to showoff. Everything works like new."

Best vehicle ever owned.

By on Thursday, May 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "handling, MPG, power and torque, wonderful 6 speed"

Cons: "Cupholders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I know now why it is called the Ultimate Driving Machine. I love this car. I have owned 7 or 8 cars n the past, mostly VW, Audi or German built, but this car is amazing. The handling, the raw power, the convertible electric top, fantastic maneuverability, and responsiveness to the driver. The 6 speed manual is a dream."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Amazing

By on Friday, February 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Too much fun to drive"

Cons: "Painted Calipers, no garage openers,cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I recently bought this car about 6 months ago, and I love it more everyday..I have the coupe and get compliment everywhere I go. Its has one of the best engines ever designed its quick even with sport mode off. Well built, stiff ride, well appointed interior. Car stoppes on a dime,great gear box..lots of fun I have the premium package with navigation which I could have done without. Bluetooth is nice for hands free driving.. I plan on keeping this for a long long time..if you can find one..buy it.."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Very fun to drive !

By on Saturday, February 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fast, powerful, and just plain fun!"

Still in love with it after almost 5 years!

By on Wednesday, January 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "The look. The sound."

Cons: "ill go with the cup holders. Really dysfunctional."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Absolutely love drive this car. Got this for my 30th birthday and have loved it from the very first day. Not practical if its your only car. Its the fun ride! It drives like its on rails. Its awesome on the highways, dodging traffic and equally fun cruising at a low low speed. The best part is the way it sounds. NOT a quiet car, the cabin can get noisy. But i do like that. I plan on keeping this car and be a owner of a classic someday. :-)"

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Here's some buying help

By on Saturday, September 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value. Perforance. Quality."

Cons: "Cupholders. Firm seats. Top up visibility."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I recently bought a 39k miles 2003 Z4 2.5. I was originally intent on the 3.0 version until I drove the 2.5 with Sport Package. It's all the power and handling I (and most people) will need for a pleasurable BMW driving experience. Accelleration is 0-60 in about 7 seconds and top speed is rated at 146 MPH. Honestly, who needs more than that for most driving? On top of that, I recently got 33MPG on a 150 mile day trip which is remarkable considering the car's performance. Also, when buying, you really need to make sure you get the Sport and Premium Pacakges. They include all the goodies to make driving your Z4 the most enjoyable experience possible. (Not to mention helping you with resale value when that day comes.) For the money (middle of the road expense for a roadster), the Z4 probably gives you the best value on the market. It's a HUGE step up from any Z3 in every way, and you can get a really good Z4 for around $16-20k which is a bargain at less than half the original selling price. Not only that, but if you read on to all the reviews on Kelley, the engines in the Z4 are time-tested and pretty much bulletproof in terms of repair issues. Personally, I prefer a manual transmission, and I have heard there can be problems with the Steptronic and SMG versions if that's your preference. For wind in your hair fun, classic two seater performance and pinache, you won't do better than a clean, low miles Z4. Good luck with your search!"

42 people out of 42 found this review helpful

My favorite car so far!!!

By on Tuesday, September 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun, Sexy Design, Fast"

Cons: "Flimsy Cup Holders, Limited Sight With Top Up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this car, fun to drive, reliable, great gas mileage, only draw back is the high cost of maintenance"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW Z4 near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details