Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2006 BMW Z4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 213 Ratings for the 2003 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

VERY FUN CAR TO DRIVE AND A VERY GOOD VALUE

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "GREAT VALUE"

Cons: "NOT GOOD IN SNOW"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I USE TO RACE GO KARTS AND THIS VEHICLE HANDLES AND FEELS LIKE MY RACING KART. TONS OF FUN FOR THE ROAD."

9 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Tuesday, September 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car for the most part. Has some "issues" but don't they all. Fun, exciting car to drive. Great acceleration and good mileage. We have two Z4's. Love em both !"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

My previous favorite car was a 1973 BMW Bavaria 3L

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everlything"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fabulous car. Great style, very comfortable, best A/C ever. I have ever been able to make the tires squeak. Started autocross last week and very pleased. I have owned more that 60 cars, 40+ cars where new and this is the best so far. Fast, stable and fun!"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I love my car.....I smile every time I get in :-)

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "solid.......fun to drive.......makes me smile"

Cons: "bumpy ride.....pricey maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my car.......I will buy another one!!!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Always brings a smile to my face

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "a blast to drive"

Cons: "would be costly to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the second owner of a 2003 3.0, 6-speed, with premium and sport package. I love this car. It's quick, agile, and surprisingly comfortable for touring. The soft top takes up practically zero trunk space, so you can pack for a long weekend with no problem. Put Michelin run-flats on it a couple of years ago. They are a huge improvement over the OEM Bridgestones. I've had minimal problems the 4 years and 35k miles I've owned it. Biggest expense was replacing a power window motor. The cup holders are flimsy, had to replace both of them. Other than that, it's been completely reliable. I plan on keeping it several more years"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Fabulous handling & fun, sporty drive

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Incredibly responsive, sexy car. Worth it!"

Cons: "cup holders best for small, sturdy containers only"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent handling, turning, quality, reliability. Outstanding car. Only regret is not attending the BMW driving class on the east coast. Love unique shifting with paddles on the steering wheel. Turns on a dime. Only negative is that Sirius radio wasn't available when purchased."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

So much better than the new sDrive...

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "The best, bar none, weekend driver you can buy."

Cons: "Not so good in a city or on bad roads. Or snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My baby, brand new

"The 2006 BMW Z4, of any build, is infinitely better than the new sDrive Z4. The electronic controls have removed the driver from the new car. The 2006 Z4 is one of my favorite cars I've ever seen, and I'm lucky enough to have put 100,000+ miles on it with no mechanical issues. It looks fantastic, and driving through the mountains with the top down is one of lifes greatest luxuries. I could go on and on about how wonderful the car is. I really could. But I don't feel there's enough elaboration on the negatives, which are primarily ride comfort and maintenance costs. A full set of new brakes will run about $1000 installed, tires are generally Z rated and $180/tire (More if you stick with the runflat bricks) and though nothing ever really goes wrong, anything to do on the car is incredibly expensive. I had an oil pan gasket replaced and it costed me nearly $800. The ride comfort is... To put it bluntly, terrible. Low profile tires and a racing stiff suspension, you will feel every bump, rock, crack, and divet in every surface you drive on. As a daily commuter in a city, you will develop back problems quickly. That being said, that same suspension and those wide rear tires make this car one of the best weekend cruisers to have ever been made. I have the E89 i6 278hp 270lb/ft plant in my car, and that engine, combined with the amazing dual clutch flappy-paddle gearbox is an absolute DREAM to rev into the upper 6800rpms and hear that great engine purring as you cut a corner with the top down and the sun on your face. BMWs last true Ultimate Driving Machine."

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

My baby, brand new

What a Winner

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A real driver's car."

Cons: "Typical Z4 crummy cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my third Z car. Started with a Z3 a few years ago. Gave up a low mileage 2003 Z4 that won awards in area car shows for the Z4M. Glad I did. What a joy to drive. I don't find the ride harsh at all. It's just very solid. The engine is the most flexible I've ever encountered; very tractable at low rpm and a real screamer above 4500. It'll never be a rare car (they made 3041 N. America roadsters), but it should retain good value if well cared for. My wife will not believe it, but this is likely my last car. It's that good."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Two year old with me: second owner: awesome car!

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Superb driver after ditching the run flat tires:"

Cons: "None in my opinion."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought it two years ago, with 50K miles. Six-speed, 3.0, all options. My third BWM, and my best. Hauls a**, and cruises when necessary. Body still gets looks in a crowd, and low maintenance. Throw back to the long hood, in line 6 sports cars. A real winner. Looking for a great sports car, don't look any farther."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

love it.

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "ultimate drive"

Cons: "bit small but its a roadster"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I d buy it again"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Bought car off BMW lease and love it.

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Real sports car ride, handling, looks, fun drive"

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is beautiful with every extra in it. Leather power seats, GPS. Auto/stick option, AM/FM/CD/DVD on board computer, rain censor wipers, power roof. All in excellent condition and only 31200 original miles. Garage kept. Looks like new."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

If you're reading this review, you already know!

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fast and rare!"

Cons: "Expensive to keep up!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife bought this car for me 2 years ago in NC (2012). Its 2007 BMW M Coupe Black/Black with 29K on the clock! I paid $35K out the door. Since then I typcally only drive it on fridays or when the weather is perfect. I have since moved to CA where the roads are a bit harsh but the highway is a blast. I did use this as a daily driver and even with the sport mode "off", the jumpy and sensitve clutch is not for weak stomachs. I've since installed the CDV delete (best $35 bucks I ever spent). The only issues Ive run into are the headlight washer was stuck open on the right side, easy fix-remove the fuse so they dont come on. Beter than $750 to replace them at BMW. I did have a right rear tire blow out on Conti-Sport tires, the TPMS sensor worked great and alerted me before hand. Bad news though, insurance wont usually cover a flat bed tow(no spare tire). Change the fluids as suggested, premium only gas and be very careful on bumps (I've already replaced the underbody shield and plastics = Expensive!) I will admit that on long road trips its a bit harsh on my lower back ( I'm 5'11 @ 200 lbs) Other than that, she sleeps in the garage, covered in a BMW fitted car cover, ready for the next sunny day. No issues! I love this car more each day. Hope this helps and happy driving!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This car is power and fun!

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "So much fun to drive, leave them at the red light"

Cons: "not big enough for much more than fun"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I had this car build from scratch and watched the progress on the computer. Its silver outside and red leather seats. Its a classic look. The new are still look like this one. This was the only year they put the race car transmission in them, now you can only get it in the M6. It will last for many years to come. I needed more room for my business travel or I would still have it believe me."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Fantastic ride with the soft top down. Hot car.

By on Tuesday, February 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable and very sporty"

Cons: "Not enough interior storage space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Only drive it when I can put the top down. Very fun and exciting to drive. Great aggressive look."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fantastic fun and reliable performance car

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just plain fun car to drive"

Cons: "None, I love it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 5th BMW, all have been great cars. This one is my favorite. BMW made a winner here. Amazing performance but still docile in town. The torque range of the engine is wonderful, pull away in any gear with ease or drop down and leave the traffic behind. Handling is next to none and brakes that are out of this world. You can drive it as a lazy man or a wild man, it just comes back for more. I have owned the Porsche Boxster S as well, very good car as well, but I love the Z4M over it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fun toy!

By on Tuesday, December 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,476

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Ultimate Driving Machine (& I've owned other BMWs)"

Cons: "Nada"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this used in 2006 with approx 35k miles. Drove in California - ahhh...those twisty coastal roads! Nothing major for repairs or maintenance all this time. Selling because I moved and don't use it enough to make it worth keeping."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome car

By on Friday, November 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "cup holders a bit awkward, but useful"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fast, economical, timeless design, elegant simplicity."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun and sporty!

By on Saturday, November 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Handles well, very responsive, tight radius."

Cons: "Cup holders placed wrong in front of a/c and knee."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Car wash!

"The Z4 is an awesome little car! Flying down the highway with the top down is way cool. The best is a windy road when the car tracks like a dream. Awesome handling on turns. Will really hate to graduate to a new car one day."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Car wash!

Traded in Z3 for Z4. Well worth it.

By on Monday, November 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Whoever is driving it, looks good."

Cons: "Repairs pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Z4 is much more of competitive sports car...close to Boxer. Have had sports car since my first in 1968...a 1965 Sunbeam Tiger, if anyone knows it. Much quieter than Z3 unless you had hardtop. engine has great sound, not loud but distinctive. Have small engine with 5 speed manual. Have never felt like needed more power. Felt like could shift one more time. I'd buy it again. Had to replace top motor, about $1,000 and a couple of cup holders. If you have to have anything done, start at $1,000. Original tires were good run flats. Next set was bad selection on my part. I then went to Michelin non-run flat . I seldom get to drive this except when wife & I are together. It is her everyday car. She is not looking at new Z4 because of lost cargo space it would have. She can get half of Costgo in that car."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

head turner, high maintenence

By on Sunday, November 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Will receive many compliments"

Cons: "High maintenence"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"PROS: Stunning design, will receive many compliments, fun to drive, powerful, fast, hugs the road, people always smile at you as you drive especially with the top down, good stereo sound, surprising good gas mileage, makes you feel rich, did I mention fun to drive? CONS: High cost of maintenance, motor for convertible top guaranteed to fail (too expensive to fix and even when repaired will fail so get used to manual mode), engine/hood head light lens gets foggy quickly, hood/engine gets hot with accompanying burning/hot smell, car doors sound tinny when closing, door handle latch sticky, lens cover get foggy quickly, very expensive parts like run flat tires around $400 each"

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

love love it....

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great car"

Cons: "run flat tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a Z3, and then purchased the Z4.... i love this car ! ! !"

beautiful, fast and fun

By on Sunday, September 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Hot car"

Cons: "Expensive to repair."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"03, NICE 55k miles expensive to repair, door locks malfunctioned, replaced module over $1000. at 50k replaced gaskets on oil filter and valve cover for leaks. Rain water destroyed convertible top motor."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

ZEDDY

By on Tuesday, September 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive.. altimate swagg... fast n tight"

Cons: "speed bumper scrapper... pothole killer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"19 years old owned the car for 2 years. love everything about it besides having to navigate every pot hole and pull into certain areas at a slant(to avoid scraping front bumper) the car is awesome. i have the 2.5 after small engine work(throttle body spacer,intake,tune) she performs if not pulls on the 3.0. defiantly had my fun going thru a few pair of rear tires drifting. although maintenance can be very expensive make sure you get a full warranty(bumper to bumper).... handles beautiful hugs turns at high speeds. after owning this for 2 years i could only think to want a M3 or Porsche after this."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this car..

By on Tuesday, July 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks, quick response,good price, fun to drive"

Cons: "repair price, electronics."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Was going to get a Vette and my wife talked me into a Z4...Best toy I've ever bought.Absolutely love driving this car. I have no regrets whatsoever for choosing the Z4 over a Vette."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This car is perfect for someone that has class.

By on Saturday, June 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is perfect for someone that has class and want to showoff. Everything works like new."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW Z4 near Honolulu. See local deals