Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUVs
Go

2004 BMW X5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 381 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 77 | Next

Great to drive but can be expensive to own.

By on Tuesday, July 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great to drive on the winding roads here in E.TN"

Cons: "Gas mileage and constant repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This was my first BMW and I fell in love with it after the first test drive.Purchased it in 04 with 32k miles. Now have 120k miles.Since the 50k warranty ran out it has had numerous small issues which drive me crazy. Examples are ; driver side door handle broke twice,passenger door handle broke once,windows went down and would not return to close position five times, display panel went blank and had to be replaced. Brake lights have been an ongoing issue since 2005.You get the picture. I now budget $1,000 annually in repairs and will continue to drive this car as long as possible as I do love to drive it!"

26 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Great driving machine and so good to look at

By on Tuesday, June 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great drive - perfect size - beautiful & reliable"

Cons: "Can be a little expensive to maintain, but worth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved this car since the day I bought her new. Nothing drives like a BMW - she hugs the road and the steering has no slop in it. I have tried others but there is nothing like a BMW. This 2002 has features that some of the newest cars do not. Automatically opening all the windows from the key fob as you approach the car on a hot day is such a simple and yet practical feature. Everything is made to meticulous standards. I recently drove a brand new X3 and decided to stick with my 02 X5 because it feels better to me. You can't go wrong with this car. My brother has one with 50,000 more miles than mine and still loves it."

20 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Only for those serious about an E53

By on Friday, May 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, amazing looks (classic styling)"

Cons: "Service, maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Maintain, maintain, maintain. The E53 is awesome, I still smile every time I see mine. It's expensive when things break, which they will. Only buy this car if you want to pay to maintain it (i.e., visits to the dealer or indy 2-3 times a year). After 5+ years of owning it, I can't imagine selling it, this car has personality."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sure, fun drive...while driveable!

By on Wednesday, May 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, comfortable, beautiful"

Cons: "Consistent repairs at only 108,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Bought the BMW X5, read great things about it before I decided to buy used. I can blame previous owner for issues, however I partly blame the car. Sure it is fun to drive, in between repairs that is. Have had issues consistently with this car. I expected more from BMW. Transmission is failing, went on one road trip and almost didn't make it home. Now am facing about an $8,000 repair from BMW after a month of purchasing at less than 108,000 miles. Super Bummed!"

13 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Best buy

By on Monday, May 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 194,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great driver"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned several newer model X5's. Sold them all- kept the 2002 year model. Almost 200K miles later, car looks and drives great. Usual maintenance done over the years but worth every penny."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 77 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW X5 near Honolulu. See local deals