Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUVs
Go

2004 BMW X5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 381 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next

Excellent high quality luxury performance vehicle

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, great perfomance, fun to drive"

Cons: "Leather seats very slippery, nothing else"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this SUV and I've owned 2 Nissan Pathfinders and 3 Ford Explorers. I have discovered one mechanical issue other buyers should be aware of. Its called "Transmission Failsafe Program" and (after Google research) is an automated program that kicks in when the voltage to the transmission varies outside of optimal range. Can be caused by electrical problems, frayed cables in the steering column, bad alternator, etc. In my case it happens when I accelerate very hard and the transmission has to shift during the hard acceleration. The program will lock the transmission in 3rd gear and only shutting off the car completely will reset the program to normal operation. Reports about the cause due to electrical problems apart from the transmission have caused owners considerable and expensive problems. Otherwise VERY pleased with this vehicle."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

AAA +++

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"AAA +++"

AAA +++

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"AAA +++"

This truck has it all

By on Saturday, March 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent!"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No need to explain anything. It’s self explanatory what BMWs are all about. German manufactured cars are always reliable, robust and made of great quality parts. I just love this truck. The gas mileage gets me about 470miles with full tank (21Gals). It’s just awesome... Strong engine, and awesome quality features on the truck. Value of the car keeps steady, and that’s good."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

nice car

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive. Great gas mileage!"

Cons: "no mp3 or retractable mirrors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"nice car, runs well, serviced regularly, all service records available and up to date."

Fun to drive but a hungry dinosaur at the pump

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Horrible MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bought mine back 2007 and still owns it to this very day. Like what most owners already said, it is a fun car to drive. Great as a family vehicle, and ample space for 5. Main downside, is its MPG. I used commute in the city everyday and it gulps a lot of premium gas. In addition, engine won't warm up enough when driving just a few miles and can or will eventually cause engine gunk leading to failure or problems. Really BMW? I'm causing more problems by driving my car less? Maintenance wise, it can get vey pricey if you rely on the stealership. Utilize the power of the internet to find good deals on oem parts(thanks amazon) as well as an Indy mechanic you can trust. In the end, owning an E53 X5 does not have to be costly. Just do your homework and understand what you are getting yourself into even before considering of owning one. Best of luck!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle looking to purchase same model

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value for the price"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent vehicle looking to purchase same model newer year"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Saturday, December 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great for family"

Cons: "Motor issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the first BMW I have owned. I love it, but, at around 100,000 miles the valve stem seals went bad, smoked when idling for a few min. Had it diagnosed at a certified BMW mechanic, will cost around $6,000 to fix minimum. That is granted nothing else "breaks" when tearing the motor down. I will not pay to have it fixed, the dealer I purchased from did not and will not give me the title, nor did he pay his loan off so his lender wants the car. Sorry for the next owner, very nice car, would love to keep, just can't take the 6 grand to fix!"

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Very costly vehicle to own!

By on Wednesday, December 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,500

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable interior and ride."

Cons: "It costs too much to keepup."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We have owned this vehicle for a couple years now and have had way too many things go wrong with it (and a great expense). The X5 had only 62K miles when we bought it (now 85K). Since its purchase, we have had to replace the water pump, the serpentine belt, the driver’s heated seat, both rear window regulators, the driver’s window regulator. As well (and as mentioned by others) the rear brake lights keep going in and out. And that’s not normal repair items such as brakes, tires, etc. We thought we knew what it was like to own a European vehicle (repair cost wise) because we’ve owned others (non-BMW’s) in the past. However, we never expected to have to shell out so much money on an ongoing basis just to keep the X5 drivable. I honestly think part of the problem is the X5 is made only for the North American market. What I think the BMW engineers did was take everything they’d put in their cars and put into a full-size SUV. The issue is the weight, wear-and-tear, use, etc. of an SUV is much different than a smaller car—the BMW “car parts” just don’t hold up to the “SUV demands”. Furthermore, BMW has known this for some time, but refuses to do anything about it. If you are looking to buy this vehicle, be aware, you most likely will need an extra $1500-$2000 per year in “spare cash” to keep your X5 working properly."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very Satisfied

By on Monday, December 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Feel very secure. Very responsive."

Cons: "Gas. It's 14/22, so yeah..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own this great vehicle for little over 2 years. I am very happy with it. I have put over 30k miles on it. Maintenance wise what I have done was changed front two bushings. Each cost me $350 so total I have spent $700 over the years. Other than that I had NO ISSUES with my vehicle. This is my primary vehicle and I drive a lot in the city. This car is all wheel drive, and it drives like a car. Very strong, very responsive and interior is very quite. Has beautiful Panaromic Moonroof and great factory sound system. Oh one more thing, You only do One time oil change on these vehicle a year. Every two years you have to Inspection service. Oil change will cost you $120, and I think it's good price for a year. It's great ultimate driving machine."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW X5 near Honolulu. See local deals