Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2004 BMW X5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 399 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next

2002 X5 3.0

By on Monday, November 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"No doubt about it, this is the best vehicle I have owned in 36 years of driving. Purchased off eBay with 53k miles, I have added 40k miles in the last year with few problems. Only unexpected expense was a blower relay for the AC. Fuel mileage is amazing: 19.7 mpg in town and up to 25.6 mpg on the highway, even running 70 mph. Performance is more than acceptable from the 3.0 six cylinder. Towing our Waverunner is an easy task, and reduces fuel mileage about 10%. Very quiet as well, with almost no windnoise. The handling and ride are just the right balance between comfort and control. Mine does not have the sport package, and from what I have read and heard, the sport package can make the X5 uncomfortably hard riding for some people. But I am extremely pleased with the base suspension setup, and will go from the stock 235/65R17 tires to a set of 255/60R17 on the next replacement to enhance the cornering just a bit. New ones are a bit pricey, but they do hold their value very well. And you can't beat the free service under the warranty - but mine of course was used with an expired warranty - so how has it been? I have had to replace the brake pads and rotors (went with ceramic pads - dust free!), but that is normal at 60k miles. I also had to replace the front axles because the previous owner didn't catch the cracked CV joint boots. Keep an eye on those things. The repair bill was $1100, but I don't think that was the fault of the vehicle. I change the oil and filter every ten thousand miles (synthetic of course), even though the indicator looks like it would go about fourteen thousand. Surprisingly, the dealer only charges $80 for that service, and they alway do a quick check for any leaks, and inspect the belts and hoses, as well as top off the windshield cleaner and wash the vehicle. There are two minor convenience items: sometimes the automatic climate control is a little slow to kick the fan speed back up when you're sitting in the sun, and I can't get rid of a slow speed rattle from the left side of the liftgate. The dealer knows about the rattle problem and the 2007 liftgate design has eliminated that one. Overall, I am sure I will drive the wheels off this thing, on my way to another in the future!"

28 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Fun to drive but a hungry dinosaur at the pump

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Horrible MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bought mine back 2007 and still owns it to this very day. Like what most owners already said, it is a fun car to drive. Great as a family vehicle, and ample space for 5. Main downside, is its MPG. I used commute in the city everyday and it gulps a lot of premium gas. In addition, engine won't warm up enough when driving just a few miles and can or will eventually cause engine gunk leading to failure or problems. Really BMW? I'm causing more problems by driving my car less? Maintenance wise, it can get vey pricey if you rely on the stealership. Utilize the power of the internet to find good deals on oem parts(thanks amazon) as well as an Indy mechanic you can trust. In the end, owning an E53 X5 does not have to be costly. Just do your homework and understand what you are getting yourself into even before considering of owning one. Best of luck!"

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Green Machine for everything!

By on Saturday, September 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth ride, awd, luxury, power rear seats!"

Cons: "expencive to buy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"First time I bought a BMW. I own for the past 25 years around 35 cars! This BMW handles everything very well. The straight six (225hp) is wonderful if you considered this SUV weights in almost 2.5 tons! Recent trip to Savannah saw 24.76 mpg at 75-80 and fully loaded (4passengers and stuff). Very comfortable and smooth ride with the std tires. No mechanical issues so far. I only had to change the terrible factory radio with an aftermarket witch rocks! If you keep up with the recommended BMW maintenance you want have any issues."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Stay away

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Too many electrical problems."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This suv is the worst thing I've ever purchased. The car was bought used at 15K miles and up until 40k miles it was doing well. At around 45-50k miles all kinds of indicators were continuously popping up. The air suspension fault codes kept tripping. Brought it to dealer and eventually they replaced both front air shocks at 50K miles. Now it's at 53K miles and the on board computer tells me the air leveling suspension is inactive. Will have to bring into the dealership again. The car is a beast and performs well when everything is working right, but overall, it's just too much of a hassle. I would expect things to go south with beemers closer to 100K miles, but this thing's only halfway there and all sorts of problems. Would stay away from buying this particular model if had another chance."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

90,000 and still truckin'

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just clocked 90,000 and replaced two belts and pulleys. Total mechanical costs since purchase (2002) is APPROX $5,000.00 This includes 8 tires and oil change every 7,000 miles. Vehicle runs beautifully and the comfort has not been compromised. My goal is to hit 200,000 miles and the costs incurred with this long term goal are modest for thus luxury SUV. This is a 3.0 engine, probably the best for the long haul"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW X5 near Honolulu. See local deals