Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2013 BMW X5 M Consumer Reviews

Unfortunately, we don’t have a Fair Purchase Price for this car in your area.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $89,745

Fair Purchase Price N/A

Invoice $82,635

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.6 of 10

10/7.6

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 176 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next

Best engineered automobile I've owned

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent engineering,except for the "I" Drive"

Cons: "With the engineering,Why the I Drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I had 13 New Cadilliacs, yet after I drove a BMW, you are in a different world. Being an engineer and having owned a manufacturing co.for forty yrs. I am completely aware of what goes into research and development of a product. I always purchased American,since I was an American Manufacturer. That was. Mistake! The ideas and engineering that goes into the development of BMW is top of the line! Their biggest problem,that I see, is that the Dealers try to skimp on service. Without service what have you got? ( an American car!)"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love my X5! Safe, solid and fun!!

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable and fun to drive!!!!"

Cons: "Expensive to fix!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Our X5 has been wonderful!! A few minor issues have popped up, but nothing too serious. My one small bit of advice to future owners is this: If your planning on buying an X5 out of warranty, spend the few bucks to have BMW do a pre-buy inspection. I almost purchased an X5 from a dealership that looked, sounded and seemed fault free. Upon inspection, we were looking at $23,000.00 in repairs to the engine! Someone had abused it. Anyhow, We found a new option, had it inspected and life is good. Also, Do not make the mistake of purchasing this SUV if you can't afford to maintain and fix it. They aren't cheap to fix!!! If you live in a metro area, do some research and check out a few reviews on foreign auto service/repair. If you can find a reasonable option for repairs, I'd say go for it!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The best SUV you can get that acts like a car.

By on Wednesday, January 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, value, features."

Cons: "Never enough time to drive it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hand down this is the best SUV you can get in this class. It handles like you are driving a car. The amount of interior space is excellent. We didn't opt for the 3rd row as we diden't need it and by seeing it I feel it is a waste. We went with the Premium edition and loaded it up with a nice amoutn of options. Must have options are the Multi-Contour seats and the Premium Sound."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sports Car with Storage

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun-factor, value, quality, storage"

Cons: "iPhone integration could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"On the test drive, I wasn't initially impressed. A nice, well connected ride, but just lacked the fun-factor I was expecting from a beemer with an "M" badge. When the salesperson told me to put it in Sport Mode, hit the "M" button on the steering wheel and then punch it, I was shocked. An instant transformation from nice to WHOA NELLY! Nearly three years and 45k miles later and I smile every time I drive it. The growl when it shifts still raises the hair on my neck! We've coined the Sport/M button combo Super Man mode and it is just that. Add to this handling that rivals most sports cars, agressive styling, value (30k less than anything similarly equipped with not near the horse power) and free maintenance for 4/50k and it was a no-brainer for me. I can take family and friends camping, snowboarding and cycling, and have fun getting there. When I want a more mellow ride, which isn't often, I just turn off Super Man mode. I save a little gas and enjoy a smoother ride, but still don't feel like I'm driving around in an clunky SUV. What more can you ask for? I'm hard-pressed to find many negatives. It gets horrible gas mileage (I average 15mpg) but so do all the others in this class. It has squeaky brakes at times. It has been in the shop a few times for warranty work and maintenance, but nothing major and I always get a nice loaner. My only real complaint is I wish it had better iPhone integration which is evidently solved for in the 2013 model. I should mention I'm a previous Cayenne owner. At the time, I loved it but had no idea what I was missing."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great vehicle but not a great value.

By on Tuesday, January 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "diesel and handling."

Cons: "regular seats, ride, pricing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wanted a diesel for economy, towing, and I love the torque. This is a very quiet and comfortable truck with a slightly rough ride vs. the ML. It is overpriced for the quality of materials vs. its competition. You can get a better riding ML for much less, but the ML will never handle or pull as well. Much better dynamics than the Audi Q7. Essential options are the upgraded seats, sport package, tech package and cold weather package. Diesel gets 21mpg city, up to 28 mpg on highway. Very quiet at speed."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.