Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2010 BMW X5 M

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 180 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

Handles great, poor quality unreliable

By on Thursday, March 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Handling"

Cons: "Frequent repairs at low mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"At 23,000 miles I have had over $10,000 in repairs, mostly paid after warranty by BMW. The car's reliability is very low. All kinds of electrical and engine issues when most cars haven't even been broken in. Love how it drives for an SUV but would NOT buy this brand of SUV again. I think it is very poorly made mechanically. Goes thru tires like I go thru underwear with NORMAL driving. On 4th set since new in 5 years. And, because they are run flat they cost a fortune. More reliable SUVs out there for sure"

Be prepared for costly repairs

By on Tuesday, March 17, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: lemon

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Awesome handling, great headlights, fun to drive"

Cons: "Sluggish, horrible reliability, quality, MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Where do I start? Well, the problems initially started on day one when we purchased this vehicle used. Bought the 2010 X5 3.0i Xdrive as a CPO with 45,000 miles on it. Had the premium package, cold weather package, and the most expensive and useless running boards ever. DO NOT SPEND THE MONEY ON THE RUNNING BOARDS. THEY DO NOTHING BUT GET YOUR PANTS DIRTY. The first problem with the vehicle was the exhaust. Every time the SUV would come to a stop at idle, it raddled like crazy! We took it to the dealer and they said rocks were making their way into the heat shield. Second problem was when it started to become cold out (We bought the car in August) around late October. It wouldn't start and we kept getting a message that said "High Battery Discharge!" on the navigation screen. Come December, the car wouldn't start if it was 25 decrease or below outside. One of the worst problems we had with this vehicle was the time I went outside to start the car, and shut the drivers side door and IT MANAGED TO SOMEHOW BLOW OUT 3 OF THE WINDOWS! And the car would not drive correctly UNLESS it had run flats on it. We went through 3 sets of tires in the very short 2 years we owned the SUV. Something was very wrong with this car. Lots of problems, poor quality, no height adjustable seat belts, and some of the worlds worst cup holders. Aside from the handling, this car was not so great. The only thing I miss about this car is the legendary handling."

great condition 1 driver

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"like new driven only for personal stuff brand new tires run flat"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

ITS A GOOD CAR

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"COME AND SEE IT"

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

I love my SUv! It's very comfortable. It's a good

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's a very powerful Suv,. It ' s vvery easy to."

Cons: "N/A"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've kept the SUV in a garage since I've owned it so it looks brand new!"

23 people out of 52 found this review helpful

Great handling. Fun,perfect long distance cruiser.

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great handling and responsive engine. Actually fun to drive for an SUV. Very little body roll with the Active Roll Stabilization/Dynamic drive suspension. V8 tends to develop oil and coolant leaks."

15 people out of 31 found this review helpful

NO PROBLEMS AT ALL

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"NO PROBLEMS AT ALL"

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Too early to tell, but have formed some opinions.

By on Monday, October 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "German quality control, powerful good looking SUV"

Cons: "Brake dust, premium gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought a beautiful Vermillion Red metallic 2011 X5 sport utility a few weeks ago. I can testify that it gets 25 miles per gallon on a trip and that is in the mountains of Western Maryland when I drive the most. I believe on level ground with the A.C. off and driving below 70 I could get 28 mpg. The only drawback so far since I am a fanatic for keeping my car clean is that the "brake dust" drives me crazy trying to keep it cleaned off of the wheels, and the use of "high test" gas. (but I knew that going In). I have always wanted a BMW and it is a far cry from the 2007 Honda coupe that I was driving. But so far, I think it is the most beautiful SUV on the road."

22 people out of 28 found this review helpful

SUV, sorry SAV, fails to impress on a daily basis.

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "I can say I own a BMW"

Cons: "I hate to say that I own a BMW"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought this vehicle brand new. Buyer's remorse set in 1 week after. The jarring ride, crackle and squeak sounds from plastics are few characteristics of this SAV from day one after bringing it home. An expensive vehicle should be more better than this. Heck, I've rented economy cars that had better ride and craftmanship. I can't believe that I am comparing a BMW to simple cars now. Considering selling it for its value of 20K as of September 2014, and buying something practical for 20K like a Honda Fit that will bring more happiness for years to come. What a shame."

33 people out of 69 found this review helpful

Great vehicle and fun to drive!

By on Saturday, September 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun, fast, driveability"

Cons: "cost of tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I bought my 2011 with 25k miles and certified. I now have 66k miles on it without any problems. The only complaint I have is that I have the wide sport/staggered tires on the vehicle and they will not get more than 10k miles. I have used Michelin and Bridgestone tires and both have been completely worn out at 10k miles. So if you want this car with those rims make sure you set aside about 1k per year for tires."

13 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW X5 M near Honolulu. See local deals