Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2008 BMW X3

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 249 Ratings for the 2004 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

Over all it's okay, not as good as expected.

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Very good in snow."

Cons: "Very harsh ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"very good engine & features. Hard ride and transmission shifts too soon from 1st to 2nd."

Love my BMW 2008 X3 3.0si. Handles wonderful.

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT machine and FUN TO DRIVE"

Cons: "Premium gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love my 2008 BMW X3 3.0si. Great feel and holds the road great!! A great driving experience. Had a 2006 325i and loved it too! I don't care what anyone says, there is nothing like driving a BMW, they are great cars. Only down fall is that I have to put premium gas in and now a days, it's really hitting my pockets."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

SAV with car-like handling. Fun to Drive.

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Utility. Quirky good looks."

Cons: "Coil springs, transfer case, valve cover repairs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought my X3 (E83) used with 48,000 miles on it in October of 2011. As of June 19, 2014, it has nearly 103,000 miles. I bought it as a transitional car after selling a new car that I no longer wanted. Quickly I realized what a great car the X3 is, but there were some major repairs. The rear coil springs broke so, I replaced all four with Eibachs. I repalced the shocks with Bilsein HDs. The setup makes the car handle better than with the junk OE stuff. Surprisingly, it rides much better too. Firm, but smooth and controlled. I had to replace the transfer case actuator switch ($900.00) and valve cover ($800.00+) in the fall of 2013. The crankcase breather is a part of the valve cover. When that goes, the whole valve and gasket has to be replaced. Recently I had the transfer case fluid, antifreeze, spark plugs, and differential fluids changed. All regular service items along with oil changes and brakes. Overall I like the car. It is fun, utilitarian, and handles like a sporty car. It is pretty quick too. I could have done without the major repairs. All things considered, if they still made this body style, I would probably buy another X3. Along with the Porsche Macan, I am considering the X1 as a replacement. The X1 has the quirky looks of an E83. To me, that is a good thing. One more thing. I have BMW style 150 wheels at all 4 corners (all are 19x8.5, 46mm offset) with brand new Pirelli Scorpion Verde tires in 255/40-19. This combo makes a huge difference in how the car responds. 255 mm wide tires in the front really bring it under control. Cheers!"

10 people out of 17 found this review helpful

The very best at speed and handdeling!!

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It is the best most fun car I have ever had !/:-)"

Cons: "The window Part has to be replaced:-("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is bar none the funnest and best safest driving experience ever!!"

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great all-around vehicle

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great all-around vehicle"

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

A few minor problems with a VERY good car

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Sporty, fun to drive and performs very well."

Cons: "Poor throttle modulation causing jerky ride cold"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought "Certified" and fuel pump died 6 weeks later (still on factory warranty) so no cost but a 3 hour wait for a flatbed tow. Drives and handles much better than a regular SUV, faster and no lean in corners, but throttle modulation (drive by wire) sucks. Engine surges and car jumps when put into gear when engine is cold. Problem goes away once warmed up. Maintainance is expensive once off warranty. If you're looking for an SUV that performs like a large sports car, this (or the Porsche Cayenne) is it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

NOT AS GREAT AS IT IS MADE OUT TO BE

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "HAD ALL OPTIONS-DONT THINK IT WAS WELL ENGINEERED"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"MANY PROBLEMS OVER THE YEARS WITH DEAD BATTERIES-THEY WERE ALWAYS LESS THAN 3 YRS OLD"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

BMWX3

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome car I have had it since 2006. Bought it with 24,000 Miles it has 145,000 it has zero problems. Highly recommend. My son has his license now, its probably the safest car for him to drive."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

A solid, dependable and wonderful driver's car!

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,170

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Solid as a tank, reliable, driving dynamics, style"

Cons: "Would like automatic lift gate & rear view camera"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car to do it all. Plenty of space without being so large it does not fit into compact stalls. Lots of power, wonderful cornering and driveability, and is a very stylish package with the M Sport package. Really enjoy the soft, oversized M Sport steering wheel and sport tuned suspension with the sport package. Bluetooth works wonderfully. Such a great car!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

DO NOT BUY USED over 60k miles

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought this car used when it had 60k miles and the engine light has stayed on pretty much the whole time. I have had it for a year and a half and bought it from a dealer. Just over a month from having it, I had to get something on it fixed. I have had it just over a year and have had to fix things on it totaling over two thousand dollars. This car is a money pit and it still does not drive as nice as I got it. The light is on again and I will have a new problem fixed next week. It will cost me 500 bucks (400 for parts and 100 for labor). This has been the worst car that I have ever owned and it makes me question if I will ever buy a used or new BMW ever again. I am just so disappointed in the quality of this car. It just looks nice. That is about it."

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW X3 near Honolulu. See local deals