Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2005 BMW X3

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 257 Ratings for the 2004 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next

Favorite Car I've ever owned

By on Thursday, September 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used about two years ago, after owning a 3 series two door for about 8 years. All BMWs have similar traits. . .awesome handling, tough as nails engines, smart design/engineering, great streed cred, questionable electronics, etc. This is by far my most favorite vehicle to drive. I own the 3.0 liter with the sport suspension and the M trim package. Very fast for an sport utility, corners as good as a corvette, the all wheel drive -- especially in the snow -- really just powers through anything. Our two kids enjoy riding the back seat (although a 3rd would be tight) and the seats/console have a snug, german-style feel to them. Not plushy like a lexus or domestic SUV, but sporty and comfortable. I had to put some money into the A/C around 80K miles, but have otherwise enjoyed a pretty maintenance free experience. Especially used, in the $17-25K range, this vehicle is a phenomenal value. Happy motoring!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

NEVER BUY ANOTHER

By on Friday, May 15, 2009

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

"this car was in the shop for 120days last year for drive train troubles i have a book of paper work it has to be the worst car i even see falls apart all the time i spend more time at the shop driving a loner. i spent time waiting for a tow truck 3 times on the side of a highway due to the gas not reading on the dash afte breaking 7 times i would not give any good info on this car i got mine with 1000 miles on it and it was living heck."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Nagging problems

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"3 times in for leaking sunroof. 3 times in for non-operating passenger rear view mirror. 3 times in to replace airbag seat mat 2 times in to replace accelerator pedal. Replaced window regulator, steering gear and rear brakes (e-brake problem). The car was in the shop 8 times during the first 2 years of ownership."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

not impressed with quality

By on Thursday, April 17, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"I have owned this car for 3 years. In that time I have spent a lot of time at the BMW dealership for quality/build issues. So far the following have been replaced under warranty: belt tensioner, front airbag covers because fabric was puckering and bubbling, all door seals for relentless creaking, radio replacement, cup holder was peeling/had to be replaced, front door faux wood trim fell off and had to be re-glued, transmission would not shift into fifth gear when below 20 degrees. This was my first and LAST BMW! My car is now out of warranty and will be replaced. It was nice having free maintenance, but as you can see - I cannot trust it when the bills become my responsibility!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Solid Vehicle

By on Thursday, October 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great quality, classy look for a SUV"

Cons: "steering is tight and hard when not rolling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my X3 2.5 new and have really enjoyed it. This car is built like a tank. Everything has that tight German functional engineering. The steering is stiff and requires some effort when not fully up to speed. I would not want to parallel park this car daily. The 2.5 engine is fantastic on gas for a SUV and provides plenty of power. The ride is very SUV like, this is not a smooth luxury ride. But this car is fun to drive if you are looking for a SUV that handles like a sport car. This beast is incredible in the snow and just can't be stopped. I have had zero problems with it and would recommend it for someone looking for great build quality, fun driving, good on gas, classy looks."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW X3 near Honolulu. See local deals