Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1997 BMW M3

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.6
Out of 10

Based on 141 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.7/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.8/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

Great vehicle for the price!

By on Monday, January 26, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased my dark green, 5-speed, M3 sedan with just under 220,000 miles on the original motor and tranny. The car is rock solid with minimal shakes and rattles. This is even more impressive knowing the amount of miles on the car. The motor is still very strong and it does not leak or burn any oil at all. The original tranny is a little stiff on cold mornings but this is to be expected since the synchros in the tranny are up there in miles. The interior of the car is made of superior materials and most people think the car is years newer than it really is. This car is not only fast in a straight line, but it will leave many current performance sedans behind when carving corners. Superb balance and massively strong brakes make this fact possible. While the car is extremely quick and sporty, it is also a very practical car. Seriously! A generous trunk, combined with excellent rear seat room (assuming you are shorter than my lanky 6'4") makes this car a great people hauler. My average mpg with this car is 24, although I can easily stretch that number to 27 if I baby the car (not easy to do, trust me). Quiet on the freeway, and unobstrusive in the city, this vehicle is the ultimate sports sedan of its decade. While there are some parts for this car which are more pricey than your dad's Ford, most normal wear parts are most reasonably priced, especially if you are willing to shop around a little. The low-end grunt of this motor, accompanied by the light, direct throw of the transmission will keep you smiling, while the decent gas mileage and good interior room will keep your spouse smiling. Win-win."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Loved It

By on Wednesday, May 29, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Totaled

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "bad cup holders, expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"These are awesome cars. best handling chassis ever. so much power. even good in snow with snow tires. all around great vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A timeless classic sportscar

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Handles great, engine growls, and is super responsive. The feel of being in this car makes you think the German Autobahn has landed in the USA. On the highway at high speeds or on country roads driving aggressively around corners, this car makes you feel safe and locked to the road. If you feed it good synthetic 0w-40 oil and Sea Foam gas treatment every few thousand miles, this car seems like it will last forever. The engine is bulletproof and the mechanics of this car are exceptional. Putting good snow tires on it like Bridgestone Blizzak and this car handles in the snow and ice like a dream...no need to store it for the winter. Put high quality low profile dry pavement tires for the spring-fall and tear the road up at your leisure. A/C runs cold...heater runs hot...this car is engineered to last and provide exceptional enjoyment for years. From a resale perspective, the value of this car HOLDS solid and only declines a few hundred dollars at most per year. i.e. buy it used and drive it almost free plus gas and general upkeep. Never buying anything but BMW again...and likely only M3 or M5 when I do. If you can find one, especially the RARE 4 door automatics, BUY IT!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

All Around Best Car For The Money

By on Tuesday, March 22, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my daily driver and it's just a blast getting into the car. It never gets boring, motor is just amazing and love the growl. It's comfortable and sticks to the pavement. All-In-One. "Ultimate Driving Machine!" Actually lives up to it's manufactures motto."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love my M3

By on Tuesday, August 11, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this car brand new, 10 years ago, and it's been the only vehicle, that I can honestly say that I love, it's styling, reliable, and fast. Never had a major problem, and I have over 200k on it. I'm keeping it for life."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW M3 near Honolulu. See local deals