Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1999 BMW 7 Series

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 325 Ratings for the 1995 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

Third Bimmer Might Be The Best Bimmer.

By on Sunday, April 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive and good looking."

Cons: "stereo not so great."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had Camreo's,Cadillac's,Firebird's and a Saab. But neither of these cars could come close to the three Bimmer's I've owned, with the power of a Camero and the interior styling of a Cadillac we may have invented the automoblie as well as the assembly line but the German's perfected the quality of an automoblie but we're getting closer..."

Greet Looking luxury car

By on Friday, April 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great to drive on long trips"

Cons: "cup holders broke and are not deep enough."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"One of the best riding cars I have ever owned. However, the headliner is saging at the rear window,and the control modual quit working, and the radio does not receive AM stations. To repair these items would cost more than the car is worth."

fun car to drive

By on Monday, April 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,876

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun v-12 lots of power 137 top end 0-100 fast"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"bought this car in Arizona NO rust when somthing breaks down xepensive to have fixed"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A great road car ,very comfortable.

By on Tuesday, April 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good road car,and more space then most people need"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Ive owned this car for 10 years,never have any serious probles. this will make the next owne very pleased. I personally think this is one the best sedan for looks even being 16 years old."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

second car I've owned and I love it!

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, smooth at high speeds, great quality"

Cons: "cup holders break easy headliner sags"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had my bmw 740il for a little over a year now, and its awesome!! I bought it from my grandparents who previously had it 10 years before that so it was well taken care of! I am 20 years old and I sold my Toyota Tundra to buy the BMW. I bought it with 186,000 and now has 206,000 miles. In one year I've put over 17,000 miles on it! now I pretty much do my own work on vehicles, (makes it much cheaper) so a list of things that I have changed are spark plugs, valve cover gaskets, spark plug boots, fuel filter, shocks and struts, different suspension components, oil pan gasket, tighten the oil pump do to bolts getting loose, and tires of course. my engine is the original M60 engine and still has the power of a bull!! I can still out run my friend with his 2004 BMW 330! Needless to say it is still a head-turning hot vehicle 20 years later, I love it and the quality is amazing I will hopefully keep it for years to come!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This is a lot of car!

By on Thursday, February 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome to drive. Great Value to buy"

Cons: "A lot to maintain the ultimate driving machine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great ride! It is a lot of vehicle to maintain, even if you can do the work yourself. It's like 2 engines worth of oil, plugs, wires, etc. However, it is like having a luxury sedan, sports car and family car , so 3 cars/2 engines. Hwy MPG depends on speed. At 60 MPH our MPG is excellent for a solid, high performance vehicle. At 60 MPH, it only runs about 2000 RPMs."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This is not a car, it is truly an Automobile!

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This vehicle dosen't drive , it floats"

Cons: "faint noise, on occasions, when breaking."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a very clean and solid vehicle that has been very well maintained: Oxford green/Tan interior. I purchased this vehicle from its first owner and it had 66K miles. Vehicle has not been driven much, as it is one of three vehicles that is kept in a covered garage. This vehicle is driven on good days during the weekends, long trips and very few times to work (twice a month-20 miles). This vehicle must be driven to maintain its integrity, and it must be connected to a Trical Charger (to keep the battery from running down) if parked longer than 8 days. Very quiet engine, Full tune- up with new spark plugs 2013. Oil change and tire rotations regularly. All rubber seals in tack, with no leaks. New breaks pads and roters (8/2014); All electrical components (including heating steering wheel; seats, and air conditioning) are working very well. Cons: The cassette player isn't working. The radio and 6 stack CD player (located in the trunk) is fully operational: sound system is Great, absent of any modification made to enhance the sound. The Navigation system needs to be updated (I use my Garmin Navigation system, which is more efficient and most reliable). Faint noise in the front end experienced, on some occasions, when breaking."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

by far the best car i ever owned

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very fast luxery car thats dependable"

Cons: "parts are very expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car is one of the best built cars I ever seen. the strength and durability is amazing.it is a sports car/luxury family car all in one. The most amazing thing about the 7 series is the v-8 that gets 18-20+mpg gas mileage. Everything just has quality written all over it. I understand why it cost 68000 dollars in 2001. the main thing is to keep brakes and tires and synthetic oil in it and what a great car"

16 people out of 24 found this review helpful

NICE NICE BIMMER

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "NICE DRIVE NICE LOOK LUXURY FOR LESS"

Cons: "A LITTLE THIRSTY BUT ITS AN HIGH PROFORMANCE CAR"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THIS IS A VERY BEAUTIFUL CAR IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR ONE THIS IS IT."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great car for the $$$

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfy, quiet, roomy, and very affordable to buy."

Cons: "Can be expensive to own/repair, get one w/records."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've had my 2001 740iL for about a year and a half now. It was a two owner 71k mile garage queen when I bought it. I've put 37k on it since. Comfy for all day driving, plenty of power yet remarkably fuel efficient for it's size and mass. I average about 21.5 mpg in my daily commuting and have seen tanks average 24.5 on road trips. These cars are a joy to own and drive, but not for the faint of heart. If you do your own maintenance and repairs, you'll be alright. My rule for older German cars is to budget $2500/yr to keep it on the road."

24 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Great car!!!

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Leg room,comfort, handling, acceleration, cold a/c"

Cons: "Cup holders, data display LCD cable,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car (740IL)for about 2 years. I fix it my self. Buy OEM parts on line. That way the cost of repairs are not too bad. It's not a short trip car. Short trips will make the alternator fail. It's a water cooled alternator, and over $400 for an OEM Bosh replacement, a lot more from the dealer. Some plastic parts are breaking, some electronic bugs, the data display LED cable fails and the cup holders are useless. I'm tall, 6 ft 6 in, and this car has great leg room, front and back seats. It's very comfortable. It accelerates quickly and handles great, fun to drive. It's an easy car to work on. Quick connect fittings on the coolant hoses. Remote R134A fittings on the AC system that are easy to get to. Paper cartridge oil filter on the top side of the engine that’s easy to get to, and doesn't make a mess. The exhaust pipes are balanced at the "X" pipe, easy to remove. BMW thought about the person servicing the car when designing it. The only thing I don't like is jacking up the rear end, the jack points are where you need to put your jack stands. The side skirt covers the jacking holes used on earlier cars, made for a lift. The front has a jacking point in the center of the front sub frame. Also, you need to set up a computer to use for interfacing with the car. Overall, a great car that I plan on using for many years. If you fix it your self, the maintenance costs are manageable."

18 people out of 23 found this review helpful

THE CLEANEST 7401L IN VEGAS

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "6500 ON NEW FRONT END COMPONITS AND WHEELS TIRES"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"6500 BUCKS SPENT ON ALL NEW FRONT END COMPONITS YOU MUST SEE AND DRIVE"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car when new, then a drain

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun to drive, smooth, great acceleration"

Cons: "electronic glitches over time become very costly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I bought my 95 740IL back in 96 as used. Great car. So smooth. Over the years it has worn down just like any car but the difference is that this car is very expensive to repair once out of warranty. Just a few small repairs items and you're over $1000 in one shot. But even with all those little electronic glitches the car is still very comfortable. And I like the fact that it is a large, heavy car that will hopefully protect me and my passenger/s if, God forbid, I'm ever in a serious accident. A new one would be great but out of financial reach for the time being."

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

best body style of 7 series made . still get looks

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "the best car i ever owened"

Cons: "can be pricey on repairs if you take to BMW ,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"13 model years old other motorist still look"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent older, rwd sedan.

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort, performance, toys!"

Cons: "Age, availability of quality replacement parts."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This is my second 7 series BMW. The first ran like new at 260k + miles! when we parted company due to an accident. Any less substantially constructed vehicle, may not have preserved my life. Built like a tank, glides like 747 jet, and does 120 mph with intrepidity. Were the new model more affordable, I'd try one...unfortunately, the $120k is not within my current budget. Perhaps, a certified pre-owned vehicle is my destiny...."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best investment in a car I've ever made.

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, dependable, spacious and elegant."

Cons: "Flimsy cup holders, requires intelligent mechanic."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased my '97 740IL with 50K and have put 190K on it. Still a great-looking, great-running car. Repairs have been minimal--new catalytic converters the most expensive item. Great handling, comfort and power. Front and back seats extremely comfortable with spacious leg room. Very happy with purchase."

15 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Next to my 928 Porsche, best ever.

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "best car I owned other than my 928 Porsche"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Original Owner, well taken care of. Exterior Black, Interior Champagne."

Fun to drive, but expensive to own and maintain.

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: ""Cool to own", Fast, Drives like a dream, Quiet."

Cons: "Expensive to own and maintain."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"This car has been a double edged sword. It's cool to "have" and fun to drive. However, it has been the most expensive car to own and maintain that I have ever had - and I have owned 44 cars. Now, at 14-years old, it is unreliable. I have spent over $1000 trying to find an intermittent electrical leak that causes it to drain the battery overnight. Sometimes it's fine for months. Then all of a sudden it's dead in the morning. this makes it practically useless as a daily driver. Conclusion: I loved it, but now I hate it - and it will be worth almost nothing if I try to sell it with the electrical problem. Good Will, here it comes..."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Engine and drive train excellent;

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Extreme costly repairs

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good looking vehicle"

Cons: "Not worth the cost to maintain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Interior and exterior trim, seating and seat belt connections deteriorate quickly. Headlight and stop light contacts erode and require replacement. Repair and maintenance costs are extremely high."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Awesome car...cant't afford anything new like this

By on Thursday, January 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great luxory car and suprisingly good on gas! Take a long trip, seats are comfortable, back seat has tons of leg room. Features on this car are beyond its time. Only bad thing is some of the led lights go out on the dash read out. Haven't looked into the price to fix that."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Ok, but over-rated in supposed quality.

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fast, comfortable, handled like a dream."

Cons: "Disappointed in the durabilty of the car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Was a good car in all. Frame felt solid. Think it was a little short on some of the appointments and build qualities, like having effective cup holders for a $65k car. Exterior rubber was dissolving towards the end of us having it. Window regulators broke all the time (every window broke twice at $400 a whack!). Everything was overly expensive to fix. Bought a MBZ to replace. Let's see if that is any better. Had the car for 13 years, so you can't say we didn't give it our best, and gives you a good idea of BMW endurance."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great Car - expensive repairs

By on Thursday, May 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A great driving, handling car"

Cons: "Expensive to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"188,000 miles and runs great. Any repair seems like an automatic $700."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Amazing , bees knees

By on Saturday, May 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "handles great raw v8 power 21avg mpg very luxuriou"

Cons: "cup holders are flimsy in front, scares mechanics"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

i put a euro tag plate and different rims on

"this car is great it handles like a new car and has sooooo many random little gadget typ things I'm constantly finding a new button. these are are suprisingly fast and mine averages 21.7 mpg 25.9 on highway (it has a gauge to show your real time mpg and average) my car has so many random (useful) accessories it makes my dads 2010 camaro seem like its from the 80s. the BMW 7 series is wwaayyy ahead of its time."

19 people out of 22 found this review helpful

i put a euro tag plate and different rims on

Best automobile I have owned in 60 years

By on Wednesday, April 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This is the time to buy, take care, change fluids"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Beautiful styling, comfortable ride, luxurious interior, drives like a sports car and I have had Jaguar XK120, Austin-Healey 100, etc., Paint is like new for a 13 year old car."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Bought my DREAM CAR FOR SURE!!

By on Tuesday, March 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "I clearly love the car!!"

Cons: "Feel I out grew it, just need something smaller."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my '01 in '02 for $47k w/ 41k miles on it. I now have 173k miles on it. WHAT DOES THAT TELL YOU! LOVE THE CAR, THE LOOK!! Gas mileage, not so much with gas at $4 a gallon, but COME ON, the car ROCKS! So many compliments! Only thing now, need to part ways before it starts to really cost me in repairs etc. I'm now looking at a 5 Series because the 7 series back then, is just too much car for me today!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW 7 Series near Honolulu. See local deals