Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1994 BMW 7 Series

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 82 Ratings for the 1988 - 1994 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

love this car it is a pleasure to drive

By on Wednesday, July 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "wonderful to drive, great car"

Cons: "mantance costs about double an ameracan car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This car is a pleasure to drive in every way, power comfort, handling, braking. and even being as old as it is it still turns heads and catches peoples attention with how it looks. I am always getting comments on how good looking the car is. you will however need a budget of around 300 a month to put away for maintenance costs. as that is what I have figured my true cost to own on this vehicle. That may go down some for a bit once I get the car fully restored. now at about 13000 I am looking at having to replace the struts so that could be another 3500-4000 repairer bill. my cost to own includes that replacement of the struts. all in all I do recommend this car you just have to be prepared for the maintenance costs."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Amazingly comfortable, looks amazing, bad mpg

By on Wednesday, January 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "cheap, fast, comfy, roomy, fun, features"

Cons: "mpg, expensive replacement parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car is very comfortable with leather (heated) seats. Its also very roomy and fits 5 comfortably. Had the car but 2 weeks and the crank shaft sensor went out making it incapable of turning over, but 150 dollars later it was fixed again and shouldn't be a problem for another 20 years. The mpg is horrible at 15.3 mixed highway and city but makes up for it with convenience, room, style, comfort, and overall being amazing. Also is very fast (in my opinion) in a jam i can get 0-60 in about 4-4.5 seconds without it even shifting out of first gear."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great Driversa Car

By on Thursday, June 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "if you can find one in good shape...BUY IT"

Cons: "Nlo cup holders... repairs cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned my 740 i for 5 years.... yes there are some things wrong (they do not work as they should), but the 32V aluminum V-8 and 5 speed automatic are as good as new. The car handles great...so much fun to drive! The power seats have a problem...unless you want a "gangsta lean" and ther climate control is a pain... starting to rust a little, but a GREAT 20 year old automobile."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

cool

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "safe, good looking, confortable"

Cons: "gas, prices in parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"its a fun car to have but it takes a driver that takes real care of it"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Perfect balance of performance, handling and style

By on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rewarding to own"

Cons: "Poorer fuel economy, can be $$ to maintain/repair."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have owned this car for over 6 years, and don't regret a single moment behind the wheel. Even with the smallest engine available for this vintage 7 series (3.5L SOHC slant inline 6 cylinder, M30 designation) there is no lack of acceleration performance and exhilaration when driving it. "The Ultimate Driving Machine" is a well earned catch-phrase! This car (like most any other BMW) is bred from technology that most other manufacturers strive for, but never quite accomplish to their (BMW's) level of refinement. The M30 power plant is a direct descendant of the engine which made BMW famous for it's aircraft engines before they became an automobile manufacturer. And while every BMW engine has their DNA, the inline six cylinder continues to be the engine of choice when it comes to power, performance AND reliability. The engine and transmission in my particular 7 series both have 200,000 original problem-free miles on them: only requiring the usual maintenance and repair services (tune-ups, full synthetic 4K-5K mile oil changes, battery replaced every 4-6 years, ATF flush every 30K miles, a couple of water pumps and an alternator*)*Replaced at 175K miles. Cons: Fuel economy- won't see much better than 18-22 MPG on the highway, 14-18 city driving in this vintage 7 series. Not even with the smaller engine. Fairly high maintenance- keeping one of these machines running and driving properly requires a technician with familiarity of the technology within and pays attention to detail. Quality parts can be somewhat pricey, cheaper (lesser quality) parts will wear out prematurely. Tires can be expensive, depending on the size, and should NOT be rotated on any BMW... otherwise, adverse handling may be experienced."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

beautiful classic BMW

By on Tuesday, February 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great looking and performing car."

Cons: "like all good cars it can be pricey to repair."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"really the last of the true BMWs. The classic look of the E32 has an almost Jaguar look. Mine is dark green with tan leather."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best luxury car ever!

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I don't own this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "bas gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love it!"

great car and a real joy to drive!

By on Tuesday, November 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,237

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "joy to drive,great interior"

Cons: "no cupholders but who needs them"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"not many vehicles compare in my opinion. great power that responds well on the highway.the interior design and comfort is very good.this is a very dependable car that you will drive for a long time with the proper upkeep"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love my car

By on Sunday, November 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Really fast, has a lot of power, very comfortable"

Cons: "If you need to replace any parts it gets pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely never want to part with my 1994 7 series. Every time a friend pops the hood I get the whistle of approval, and with only 164,000 miles on her she's pretty reliable and all the space in the back is awesome with road trips!"

the sev

By on Tuesday, November 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "POWER"

Cons: "Gas Guzzler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought 1994 740i e32 used 3 years ago with no records except for 2 new o2 sensors and a new guibo. I Replaced entire cooling system like all used BMWs are in need of. This car is a tank with a hot rod engine. Took me cross country with nothing but an oil change. City gas milage is bad 12-15 but highway is 21-23. Huge amount of v8 power and german design for not much money. Find a good one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

runs great, minor work needed, good overall condit

By on Saturday, October 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"third owner, nice looking car, willing to trade for truck if possible or interested."

Very reliable

By on Monday, August 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quiet and smooth"

Cons: "no cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wife loves this car and will not part with it. Ride is outstanding, smooth and quiet on road, unlike my 2010 Toyota Rav 4 Sport which is noisy and rough riding."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Bulletproof Performance

By on Saturday, June 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 226,917

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, leg room, build quality"

Cons: "No cup holders, replacement parts prices, local shop may not know the cars that well."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I can only echo some of the other reviewers as to reliability and durability. Bulletproof! That being said...keep the car original BMW parts. BMW warranty is good for a two years I believe. And when you have to replace something the dealer will only use genuine BMW parts. Alot of shops claim to know these beauties...alas most in my area were clueless on simple things. Local dealer only a slightly better. But they will fix them correctly. Parts can "bend you over" if you aren't a BMWCCA member, worth the membership price in discounts on parts and labor!"

By on Saturday, February 19, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, November 27, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Most comfortable on long trip

By on Sunday, November 21, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love the comfortable ride of this car, it was great on long trips across country, very dependable and had lots and lots of power. This car is expensive to repair."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good vehicle buying it used

By on Tuesday, October 19, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Car does not hold its value. But it is an outstanding used car buy. I was recently hit by a DUI driver and the car did its job by protecting me. I would not buy those small Prius or Honda cars because once you get hit by another car, pray that you will survive. I get around 19 mpg which is good for a full size V8 car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, October 03, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Truly Amazing

By on Sunday, August 22, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought our BMW 740iL with 100K miles. It's super slick, elegant and a great cruising vehicle. We were able to purchase a warrantee which we put to good use, having the transmission, radiator and other expensive repairs made. The car drives like a dream. We take it on long road trips with our kids. We always arrive feeling rested and refreshed because it's such a smooth ride. Now with the major repairs out of the way, we hope to drive it another 100K."

Buyone

By on Sunday, August 15, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent vehicle! Had my 750 iL for 13 years"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

92 735iL Superior Reliability!

By on Saturday, July 10, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"1992 BMW 735iL 3.5L 6cyl. Auto Trans w/ Sport Shifting --r!!-- Tinted windows,C.D., Power Heated front seats, Sunroof, Luxury model with all the extras! Always complimented & never lets me down!"

Good While it Lasted

By on Saturday, June 26, 2010

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"1994 740iL purchased used at 46K miles in '97. Great vehicle until I started having issues. Replaced driver's seat motor, radiator and front windshield seal. Then I found out car had a M60 Engine with idle problems because of sulfur in US gas. BMW replaced the engines up to 6 yrs or 100K miles. Mine had roughly 120K miles, thus no help from BMW. Still ran well, but idling just wasn't right. Then the transmission went out at 141K miles. It sits in my garage needing a $6K trans."

The ultimate driving machine

By on Friday, May 07, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"It's a beautiful machine...fast, beautiful curves, gorgeous looking, very comfortable excellent handling! Downside? Very expensive to maintain & repair! Buy it only if you have the extra money to play...it's like dating a young gorgeous woman.. you will spend $$ on this one!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Perfect family car

By on Tuesday, February 09, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Perfect car to have high end stuff and take your family around. Good mpg's for the year."

By on Sunday, January 31, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW 7 Series near Honolulu. See local deals