Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 BMW 5 Series Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $52,576 - $55,063.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $57,525

Fair Purchase Price $53,820
Fair Market Range ($52,576 - $55,063)

Invoice $52,995
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 8.4 of 10

10/8.4

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 77 Ratings for the 2011 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 16 | Next

Best 5 series Ever Built

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gorgeous car to drive, sounds like a silent cat"

Cons: "Run flats too expensive, mini 7"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I pre-ordered my bmw 528 back in Aug of 2010.. I watched it get built on the site and when i finally got it..I was amazed with the the difference of the previous generation with this one. From the way it felt sitting on, maneuvering, and safety. Safety was a 5 star, felt like i was wrapped with cushions in every corner. The tires are run flats( expensive to replace) but def worth it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fast, smooth, effortless

By on Saturday, October 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent balance of handling, power, luxury"

Cons: "There's a LOT to learn on this car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my seventh BMW. My last one was a 2008 M3 sedan, which makes for an interesting comparison. Where there M3 was brutal, the 550i is smooth and subtle. Example: the exhaust note on the M3 was a raucous burble, the 550i is almost noiseless. In the M3, though, there's a distinct lack of low-end torque, which is where the 550i shines. Under 4k RPMs, the M3 is downright sluggish. Over 6k RPMs (redline is 8400), it's a rocket, but how often can you get to that range in US driving? Accelerating briskly into traffic with the 550i is effortless with a huge surge of smooth torque, where on the M3 there was a distinct wait for the engine to rev, which then brought a dramatic increase in power. As I'm gaining experience and confidence in the 550i, I'm finding that its capabilities (such as negotiating exit ramps enthusiastically) are close to -- if not as good as -- the M3. The big difference? The 550i is about 600 pounds heavier and physically larger, so the handling isn't quite as crisp. Even with the Driving Dynamic Control set to Sport . Then again, is it fair to compare a Three to a Five, and an ///M car to a standard BMW? As far as amenities and features, the 550i is stunning. My car has just about every option except the rear entertainment, night vision, and automatic transmission. The interior is a marvelous place to be. I did a European delivery, put 1,300 miles on the car in five days, and the car was a delight at triple-digit speeds for hours on the autobahns."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Pure pleasure

By on Friday, October 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gets women"

Cons: "Gets too many women at times...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I could have chosen the 535 but since this car gives me the power I need when I need it, then it is all about the comfort. I have driven the mercedes, audi, jaguar, equivalents and have friends who own these cars. Each of them agree that my navigation is better, the use of accessories are better and the package options still saved me about 5K when I designed it myself. Simply put, this car turns heads even among the cadillac drivers. It has the Man flair women seem to enjoy."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2011 535xi

By on Saturday, October 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 500

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Styling, finish."

Cons: "Read above. And tech is not great, iDrive clumsy. Esp scrolling music from an iPod."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Hugely disappointing. I'll cut to the chase. There is tremendous lag or delay, when accelerating from a complete stop. The car delays for about .75 of a second before lurching forward. Are you kidding me? Apparently, other 535 owners are reporting the same, and when I took the car back to my local dealership, service confirmed the problem and said the same was found in other cars they tested. Why would BMW allow these cars to be sold? The car is beautiful, fit and finish better then Audi A6, but engine unacceptable. Stay away from this car."

23 people out of 24 found this review helpful

classy beast

By on Tuesday, September 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,070

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "beast of an engine(550i), classy yet sporty."

Cons: "a little less on rear legroom"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i got this car on 21st august 2012. its 550i. its sooo smooth and slick fast. there is absolutely no turbo lag. grunt available at all the speeds and all the time. its flawless except its a little short on rear legroom but thats a minor issue. luv it"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 16 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details