Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2003 BMW 5 Series

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 672 Ratings for the 1997 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 135 | Next

Solid, reliable, comfortable, powerful.

By on Thursday, August 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, handling, comfort, mileage for it's class, fit and finish."

Cons: "Cup holders are terrible, premium gas, nav system is a little clunky."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drive a LOT - my commute is nearly 1000 miles a WEEK. Gets very decent highway mileage (28.3 average) for a car of it's size and weight. Handles well (except for in heavy snow), great sound system. Nav system is a little archaic, but technology changes so quickly. Reliability is key for me, and this car has been great! One water pump, one radiator. Other than that, brake shoes, oil changes, and that's it! Electric trunk release went at 150k, but hey, it's minor. I LOVE THIS CAR! I had a 1994 525i that I got rid of at 340,000 miles...and I still see it on the road. This is a quality designed and built car."

21 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Great Car Expensive To Maintain

By on Friday, October 12, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Love my 99, 540i, however; it's been tough love- When she runs she runs great, excellent acceleration, comfort, low noise, and a solid safe feel. Won't lie to you the car maintenance isn't cheap- Have had some blow ups with the car regarding water pump- Highly recommend you check the radiator after 100k on this vehicle- Make sure you replace the water pump if not the whole entire cooling system. Like anything if you keep up with the maintenance the car won't let you down- Just learn to change your oil if you don't have deep pockets, it's very simple and if you're handy buy the 5-series manual for simple repairs- The dealer will take advantage of you, but who doesn't know that already- Enjoy :-)"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

One of the best BMW s ever made

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Joyful drive, strong, reliable"

Cons: "RWD is hard on the snow, expensive repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Other than expensive repairs and maintenance , this car is a genuine BMW quality that is hard to match, car is firm, powerful, safe and reliable. Just be prepared to what you pay for keeping such good performance. E39 was a very nice transition between old and new BMW looks and dynamics. Today's models are arguably build for commercial and mass production than a piece of art car to be remembered"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Very affordable if you are a DIYer.

By on Friday, May 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Sure footed handling and comfort."

Cons: "High maintenance cost if you're not a DIYer."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I bought this car in October, 2012, for $4000. It had 110000 miles on it. Since I got it, I changed the motor oil(7 quarts of Mobil 1), oil filter($10), air filter($15), cabin air filter(comes in a set of two @ $15), spark plugs(Champion Platinum $30 for 8 of them.), replaced the leaking clutch slave cylinder($50), a bottle of DOT-4 brake fluid($6), and I installed a short-throw shifter($30 from "xBay".) Lately, the warning lights for traction control and ABS comes on while driving. So, I would take out all 4 wheels to check if it's the ABS sensor(s) broken or something else. Also, When I brake hard during high speed, the front of the car shakes. So, I am going to change the front brake rotors($100 each) along with new front brake pads($50)Lately, the driver's side headlight keeps fogging up, don't know what's wrong with it, but that can wait. So far, the car drives very good, the ride is comfortable and fast. Fuel economy is about $65 for 300 miles(92 octane gasoline at $4.30 per gallon.)"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

bmw driving experience not what cracked up to be

By on Sunday, November 02, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Multiple electrical problems. It's the alternator ($800), no it's something in the ac system ($700). Oh how about a new fuel pump ($1000) and a rear window motor ($1000)? Every repair is at least twice as much as it would be on a reliable, more reasonably priced vehicle (e.g. high end Accord/Camry). I've had to be towed to the repair shop at least 6 times in the last 3 years. Depreciation and cost of ownership has been enormous."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 135 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW 5 Series near Honolulu. See local deals