Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sport Sedans
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2003 BMW 5 Series

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 642 Ratings for the 1997 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 129 | Next

Comfortable, but dated

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Handling, style"

Cons: "Repairs are not cheap and maintenance must be done"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This was the last of the great sport sedans on which BMW built their reputation. Great handling and brakes, good power and executive accommodations. At 50,000 miles, be prepared to spend $7000 to rejuvenate the car (brakes, misc leaks, radiator, water pump, control arms....but then you get another 50,000 miles of great performance. Once you have a car like this, you will never want to go back to American or Japanese models. This is what made BMW the ultimate driving machine!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Perhaps the best sports sedan ever made.

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A true drivers car, I smile everytime I drive it."

Cons: "Expensive to repair after 90k"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned two of these 540i's, I dearly love them. An outstanding car now within finantial reach."

Greatest 5 Series Generation.

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, economical, luxurious"

Cons: "service is costly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Really fun car to drive, it isn't slow but it's not fast either. Feels very solid, not a harsh rider but a perfect ride. Car feels like it does everything you want it to. Owned it for 15 years and haven't had major problems. Other drivers have crashed my rear bumper and car always has minimal damage. The interior quality is outstanding, very few signs of wear and tear. Very fun car and very easy to drive. Even the turn signal lever feels new. Very economical too, i can do 18mpg in the city with a light foot, in the highway i can do 35mpg with a light foot."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Overall I have loved this car. Has been great.

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great handling and comfortable car"

Cons: "gas cost and offset tires don't last as long"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been a fabulous car that has held up well. Had a few issue along the way but all were from wear and tear. I love the way the car handles and drives. Being an 8 cylinder it does use a bit more gas but still get 15-16 for the most part."

Smooth, elegant, sporty car. Good value!

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "overall I had a lot of fun with it."

Cons: "costly repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I had problems with it at 60000 miles,had to change the radiator,some gaskets and the water pump,Since then I only change the oil and rotate the tires,some of the tiny ligts in the radio assembly went off! I will gladly buy another one! The repairs are very expensive"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 129 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW 5 Series near Honolulu. See local deals