Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2002 BMW 5 Series

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 676 Ratings for the 1997 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 136 | Next

Solid, reliable, comfortable, powerful.

By on Thursday, August 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, handling, comfort, mileage for it's class, fit and finish."

Cons: "Cup holders are terrible, premium gas, nav system is a little clunky."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drive a LOT - my commute is nearly 1000 miles a WEEK. Gets very decent highway mileage (28.3 average) for a car of it's size and weight. Handles well (except for in heavy snow), great sound system. Nav system is a little archaic, but technology changes so quickly. Reliability is key for me, and this car has been great! One water pump, one radiator. Other than that, brake shoes, oil changes, and that's it! Electric trunk release went at 150k, but hey, it's minor. I LOVE THIS CAR! I had a 1994 525i that I got rid of at 340,000 miles...and I still see it on the road. This is a quality designed and built car."

25 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Great Car Expensive To Maintain

By on Friday, October 12, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Love my 99, 540i, however; it's been tough love- When she runs she runs great, excellent acceleration, comfort, low noise, and a solid safe feel. Won't lie to you the car maintenance isn't cheap- Have had some blow ups with the car regarding water pump- Highly recommend you check the radiator after 100k on this vehicle- Make sure you replace the water pump if not the whole entire cooling system. Like anything if you keep up with the maintenance the car won't let you down- Just learn to change your oil if you don't have deep pockets, it's very simple and if you're handy buy the 5-series manual for simple repairs- The dealer will take advantage of you, but who doesn't know that already- Enjoy :-)"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Very affordable if you are a DIYer.

By on Friday, May 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Sure footed handling and comfort."

Cons: "High maintenance cost if you're not a DIYer."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I bought this car in October, 2012, for $4000. It had 110000 miles on it. Since I got it, I changed the motor oil(7 quarts of Mobil 1), oil filter($10), air filter($15), cabin air filter(comes in a set of two @ $15), spark plugs(Champion Platinum $30 for 8 of them.), replaced the leaking clutch slave cylinder($50), a bottle of DOT-4 brake fluid($6), and I installed a short-throw shifter($30 from "xBay".) Lately, the warning lights for traction control and ABS comes on while driving. So, I would take out all 4 wheels to check if it's the ABS sensor(s) broken or something else. Also, When I brake hard during high speed, the front of the car shakes. So, I am going to change the front brake rotors($100 each) along with new front brake pads($50)Lately, the driver's side headlight keeps fogging up, don't know what's wrong with it, but that can wait. So far, the car drives very good, the ride is comfortable and fast. Fuel economy is about $65 for 300 miles(92 octane gasoline at $4.30 per gallon.)"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great Road Machine

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned car for 7 yrs and put 60,000 on this car. This is a high performance sedan make no bones about it. It is very fast but so smooth you don't realize how fast you are going. Definitely an autobahn machine. Cruising at 80 is effortless. Quality is excellent, BMW builds a great car. If you are into cornering, and stopping you can't beat a BMW. Big excellent brakes on all 4 wheels. Just compare the rear rotor size to most Japanese imports, you can tell the BMWs are much larger just by eyeballing. Maintenance: You will read cooling system a weak spot. I agree, Radiator blew when it was 6 yrs old. Water pump went at 118000 and I replaced it. Don't know if it was a second pump or not. Don't think so. The two cooling tubes that run from front to back of engine can be a problem. Car definitely needs to be maintained. Valve cover gaskets and valley pan gasket will definitely need replacing around 100,000 to 110,000 miles. Underhood temps are very high. Not a snow car but 4 snow tires with the traction control and you will be okay. This car not for everyone and I would only sell to another BMW person. They know what they are getting. Great performance with some maintainability issues. Gas mileage: 24-26 on highway and 17-18 in town. Not bad for a 2 ton sedan with 282 HP!! 5 speed automatic transmission is nice too. At 80 mph only turning about 2200RPM. Take care of it and it will take care of you!"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Excellent driver - do your own repairs

By on Monday, April 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"IMHO, the best looking 5 series ever. Awesome to drive, handles like a dream. At this point be ready to replace the coolant system (hoses, pump, thermostat, expansion tank), oil supply and return lines, trans supply and return lines, power steering lines, tie rods, and struts. It sounds like a lot. But you should be able to do most, if not all, of this yourself. This a sports sedan with performance parts which wear out. My E39 is a 1999 build; currently 14 years old. Things wear out. There will be small stuff in the interior also. I think these cars are at the low point for prices. They was too much mass production for them to be a valuable classic, unless you have a real M5. But there should be a ready supply of parts."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 136 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW 5 Series near Honolulu. See local deals