Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2008 BMW 3 Series

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1026 Ratings for the 2006 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 206 | Next

Superman in the rain, sport luxury perfection

By on Thursday, December 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handling, Power, MPG, Grip, Stereo, Fit and Finish"

Cons: "Expensive maintenance and eats tires."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this car for 7 years and it's been a great car the entire time. Better in the snow than our X5. Surprisingly fast everyday, but in the rain its the fastest thing on the road. The stereo that comes with the luxury pack is amazing. The car has been flawlessly reliable, but maintenance is expensive. It does chew up tires every 30k miles. Sporty handling in all conditions. Everything works as you would expect on a BMW and has held up well. No surprises."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Can't tell it is diesel, snow is trouble

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great to drive"

Cons: "needs 4 wheel drive, now offered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"The diesel is quiet, cannot tell any difference with gasoline engines. Great comfort features, quality body, some minor and one major concerns. Minor concerns: Navigation system cumbersome, does not store contacts for phone, takes minutes to load each trip Major concern: Rear wheel drive needs snow tires, cannot handle ice, adds to expense to have two sets of wheels and tires"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I am very pleased with this 2008 335xi

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fast, fun car."

Cons: "Not cheap to own & maintain."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have owned or leased six BMWs over the years, and I like this 2008 335xi very much. I ordered it from the factory exactly as I wanted. Six speed manual and no iDrive. When delivered new, the Dinan folks had a lightweight flywheel, performance software, cold air intake, stainless steel exhaust, and various other bits waiting to be installed to make the car a "Dinan 3." It quickly became an all-wheel drive near-M car with loads of performance. It's now got 100k interstate highway miles and has given great service. The factory replaced the high pressure fuel pump and the injectors under warranty. It's still on the factory brakes at 100k miles. Only other service need was to have the valves cleaned/de-carboned at 90k miles. I replaced the run-flat tires w/ standard Michelin Pilot Sports and never regretted. Has been a great car, and I plan to keep it running a long time. These cars must be cared for, though, and are not for drivers who want low-cost, low maintenance vehicles. These are enthusiast cars, and are high performance cars which require a little TLC."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Friday, November 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car to drive with good mileage"

Cons: "Cup holder feels like cheap material."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 6-speed manual is very smooth and exciting to drive. We feel safe taking corners. Have had no mechanical or electrical problems. Minor issues have been a broken cup holder which seems cheaply manufactured for this car. Four year warranty covered the cup holder, torn leather sleeve covering the hand brake, and a broken seat glide shield. Purchased our sportswagon in Orange County NY in Sept 2011. The following month we drove to St. Petersburg, FL where we now live. This vehicle made the drive enjoyable and easy."

9 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Best imaginable Car at the Price

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Performance, Range, Handling, Fuel Economy, MaxFun"

Cons: "High initial cost of BNWs, but the best value."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Read the professional reviews of this car. They all agree that it's one of the best they've ever driven thanks to the incredible straight 6 cylinder twin scroll turbo diesel with 260 hp and 425 lb-ft of torque. The car is under-stressed at highway speed (80 mph at 2000 rpm) and with the sports package, will do an honest 150 mph. (Check out the YouTube videos of this car on the autobahn!) I've never met a hill where it even slowed down! With all this performance, it still gets 25 mpg around town and 30+ on the highway (I've seen over 40 mpg cruising on Hwy 5.) This car has all of the features and performance of the best 335i's with more torque and much better mileage. Yes, diesel fuel can be more expensive than supreme, but the better mileage more than makes up for the difference. Also, the range of the car is 400 miles. A nice feature for us who want to limit our trips for refueling. This car has all the features of the best 3-series plus full torque from 1700 rpm, the highest top speed next to the M3, and incredible mileage. The 5 year, 50,000 mile warranty has covered everything except tires, including a new battery after 40,000 miles on the odometer! The 2011 335d was the last of the performance diesels in the 3-series. The new 328d is the European 320d and has a 4 cylinder turbo engine. It is really about 2/3 of this car in every way."

12 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 206 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW 3 Series near Honolulu. See local deals