Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • New Car Buyer's Guides
  • The 40+ MPG Cars of 2015
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2012 BMW 1 Series

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 132 Ratings for the 2008 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Not entry-level

By on Friday, August 29, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Being a previous 325 owner I was woried that the 1-series may be too "entry-level". I am pleasently surprised; this car exceeds my expectations. Many upgrades to the car since my last BMW. Quality is excellent, as is the performance and driveability. This is no budget car. I could have bought a 325i for the same money. But the 325 is too bulbous (I drove one for 2 days and didn't like it); the 128i is definitely more fun to drive! And, it looks sportier."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Year 1 135IS is my sawed-off shotgun

By on Tuesday, September 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "the ultimate driving machine"

Cons: "seat could be more comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Motor Trend back in 2008 had it right, this beast is a sawed off shotgun. Hold the open key and let the windows come down before entering, then press the Start button to get the full auditory effect of the twin turbo, 300HP engine firing to life. This car destroys all off the line. Take a turn at 60 miles an hour, it's amazing. Sure, there's some nose dive but this car is an absolute blast. Even the 128 isn't too shabby, but after throwing through the 135is 6-speed for 5 years, I'm loving it. I can't recommend this car enough to anyone who enjoys a fun, compliant ride, big brakes and even bigger acceleration. I can't even imagine what the 2012 135IS M-series is like to drive."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love it!

By on Tuesday, December 07, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I did european delivery in 2009 for my MY 2010. The car has been a great ride since the first moment I started it up. Everytime I get in and drive, it puts a smile on my face...and that's primarily stock! I did add BMW Performance SSK and Exhaust & love those. The only reliability issue was the high pressure fuel pump (HPFP) but BMW issue a 10 year warranty on it. I'd buy this car again."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

So far so great!

By on Monday, September 13, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I picked up a 2010 135I coupe 6mt about a month ago and I am thrilled to own it. Fantastic performance, and great to drive. My only issue is with a few interior rattles. Lets hope that this continues to be y only complaint. What a great little car!m"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Superb Handling and Performance

By on Sunday, August 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Fantastic driving experience; the 128i is not short on horsepower and works great as a daily driving car and gets decent gas mileage for the performance."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW 1 Series near Honolulu. See local deals