Go

2002 Audi S4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 72 Ratings for the 2000 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

The Truth

By on Monday, October 5, 2009

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
4/10

"I have had my 00 S4 for 5 yrs. Sure it's fun to drive... when it's running. This car has killed my pocket book! For most of the time I have owned it, it has been a nice looking boat anchor. After 15K in repairs the check engine light finally went off... I'm afraid to drive it to see what will be next! Unless you like doing your own repairs (even if you do, the price of parts will make you puke!) do not even consider this car! But if you do have all the money in the world and can endure the down time, it is fun... WHEN it's running."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Performance at a price

By on Monday, January 24, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"2001 Audi S4 - Owned it from new - great car for thw first 4 years while it had "zero cost" maintainence. Once out of warranty every service/oil change cost $1500 or more. Last 3 years of ownership cost an average of $3500/year to keep on the road. Last bill in April 2010 cost $4k, that was the last straw- it had to go. Interior design best in class when new but it showed a lot of signs of wearing after 9 years.I would have expected better for the price. Also we had water ingress problems from sunroof - rear liner was replaced twice. Despite the ridiculous maintainence costs the performance was awesome - recommend anyone buying an Audi - enjoy while it is under warranty but get rid soon after . Alternatively evaluate the extended warranty"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

All-Around Performance

By on Monday, February 18, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"For the money this car is hard to beat. It's not a boy-racer car like the other turbo offerings from the Japanese manufacturers. It's more refined and more grown up. The extra power can be had with some upgrades and modifications. I disagree with other reviewers because this is not a true sports car, but a high performance GT. On the highway, in the snow, in the rain, or around town this car does it all. Passing on the interstate is always a blast when the bi-turbos are spooled up. Quattro makes big SUV's and 4X4's look stupid in foul weather, especially snow. From the headlights to the rear fog light everything works well in this car. This car requires an expensive timing belt service ~ 70K, so if you just want to change oil and add gas this is not the car for you. Vorsprung durch Technik!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Only For Audi Buffs

By on Wednesday, August 25, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"OKay ...Here it goes I have owned my 01 b5 s4 for 3 years now and it certainly is a joy to drive everyday of the year . From the warmest days of summer to the snowiest days of winter it will take you wherever you want to go ! I keep summer & winter tires on the car and recommend this usage . My car has 117k miles on it and i personally have owned 3 S4 cars.But here's the real scoop on this car . If you want a true sport touring sedan that is a gas to drive and makes you look forward to getting behind the wheel everyday take a look AND a test drive in this car. You won't be disappointed . There will be money spent on this car especially at the 100k range.But the car listed at 40k in 2001 so repairs are not cheap .If you buy one have the car checked out first at the Audi dealership . If you want a car to go back and forth to work ,don't buy one unless you plan on arriving early...Know what i mean A.J. Good luck and if you want to feel young again buy it ...IT's a gas to drive !"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Typically Audi/Volks Problems

By on Saturday, October 24, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Great Car fast and looks good. I painted the Avus wheels gunmetal and looks great with the green body 2001 S4. Bought it with 90,000 miles on it. Should have known better. Endless $4500 worth of maitenance fees since i bought it last year and still has problems. If I fix all the things STILL wrong with it, it would be practically totalled. My experience, stick with the Japanese makes for reliability, if you got money to burn and live large then buy a euro car, but buy it as new as possible."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Audi S4 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement