Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2002 Audi A8

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 71 Ratings for the 1997 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next

Save your pennies

By on Monday, November 29, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 99 A8 that is wonderful to look at and drive, however, bring your wallet. This car is expensive to repair, I just replaced the fuel pump for a cool $800 JUST THE PART. I also had a multifunctioning switch replaced -$500 JUST FOR THE PART! This is an automobile, folks not for the faint of heart. I love driving my vehicle and I get compliments constantly. Pick your poison...please remember this is not a HONDA..."

23 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Outstanding Vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have driven everything. Benz, BMW AND Jag. The Audi A8L is by far the finest piece on the road. It excels in all aspects of driving. Wet weather or snow, sure footed confidence. Great gas mileage for a vehicle this heavy. Mash the gas and the exhaust note becons you to do it again ! Overall style is conservative but this black beauty ALWAYS draws attention. Classy but understated. The way it looks speaks loud enough."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

reliable luxury

By on Friday, February 15, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i purchased this car used about 2 years ago. i'm very pleased with it, it surpassed my expectations. all luxury features are on board as standard equipment, no need to search around. leather and interior in general is of high quality and seems to outlast other cars in this category. highway gas mileage not bad at all at 25mpg, but can go as low as 11mpg on short city commutes. very solid build quality, body is as rigid as on day one. the real advantage of the aluminum space frame just starts to come into play now, since there is obviously no corrosion whatsoever. other cars tend to start getting loose at this point, but not so this space frame construction. remember, this is not a unibody, but a car built around a frame, almost like a truck. normally, this would be bad in terms of weight, but not here. the a8 weighs actually less than the a6 with the same engine. talking engine; it likes frequent oil changes and wants its oil to be kept at the highmark of the dipstick or else you might hear the valves at startup. not a problem, just something to remember. AWD is superb, obviously winter tires also help, since braking is important as well in the winter. the suspension is rather soft, which is fine by me since i dont like to be informed of every pothole. acceleration is awesome, and so is the sound of the engine. if rear seat leg space is an issue, then get the L, otherwise the standard wheelbase is ok. ESP however was only standard on the L, this may be another reason to get the longer version. one tip: check the brakes before you buy, they are a bit weak sometimes. and around 100k miles, you MUST change the timing belt (and the water pump), so if appropriate, check if this was done - or plan on spending 1,500 to get it done yourself. another reassuring fact of course is that all audis until 02 (?) came with 4 years of free, scheduled maintainance. quite an incentive to keep your car in good condition, i would think. and thats all i can say. if it has been maintained, this is a good, solid car without any hidden surprises. go get one, if you can! on a personal not, i think the car has a real classic look, especially if one removes the model designation on the trunk, the tail end becomes almost a symbol of clean design, in my opinion. the a8 is a bit of a sleeper in the sense that most people don't bother looking at it at all, it's quite rare though and thus a bit of an exotic. or a car for the connoisseur, if you wish. and btw, i would also look into the Phaeton, if i would be shopping for this car again today. that big VW has an even more beautiful interior, however it is a lot heavier as well, since its made of steel. but all else mechanically is the same. some food for thought."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Stealth Econo Car !

By on Sunday, May 03, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned our 2003 A-8 Since new. NO PROBLEMS, SUPERB RIDE, VERY FAST. Gets an unbeliievable 26MPG at 75 MPH from San Diego to Las Vegas. Not just once, but ALL THE TIME-with the AC ON ! This is pencil and paper calculated, not the computer. In rough city driving, it has never given less than 17 mpg. This is a spectacular car! NOTE: It is VERY sensitive to what tires are mounted on it. If you don't like vibrations don't mount Michelins. I know, it sounds stupid, but the car's natural harmonic chassis vibration coincides with those produced by Michelins-and it cannot be balanced out. For a glass smooth ride, buy Dunlop SP 270's. Expensive, but worth the money in ride quality."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Streamline Missle

By on Friday, January 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"As each decade passes car manufactures around the world create varieties of vehicles ranging from the worst waste of money in history to one of the greatest vehicles ever made. The post facelift D2 Audi A8 ranks up there as one of the best. Its has its flaws in a few areas but where it shines in comfort, style, fuel economy and performance, it is second to none in its class. I should clarify, that other cars in this class might match the A8 or even surpass it in some areas however, looking at the entire package, you will not find a superior competitor. If properly maintained this car can last for a very long time. I purchased mine in 2003 with 55,000 miles on it for what would have been considered a steal. Im currently at 134,449 and running strong.If you intend to purchase one, make sure you do your research."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love Hate Relationship

By on Sunday, October 14, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I agree about getting a lot of looks in this car. The guy giving me my coffee at Starbucks said, "So THIS is what an A8 looks like...." as I wiped the drool off my side mirror. It truly is an amazing car that was way ahead of it's time. I own a 1997 A8 quattro and the bells and whistles are great. Friends that have hopped in the backseat say they feel like the Pres. of the United States or like they're in the mafia. But I'm always scared to take it in to get fixed because the bill is comparable to a mortgage payment. I hope someday when I'm rich and famous I can afford a brand new A8 so that I won't care how much it costs to fix. But since I do, I'm trading it in for a Toyota Hybrid. So much more practical!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

More compliments than any other

By on Sunday, September 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I get more looks and compliments on this car than any other I have had. People see this car and it is like they have never seem an Audi before. Handles like a dream, quiet, comfortable, and gets great highway mileage. I liked it so much I bought an 01 Audi A8L also. I plan to try out the new Q7 next year when the v6 turbo diesel is available. You wont be disappointed, buy and enjoy."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Fast and Fun

By on Thursday, October 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have always wanted an A8 but didn't want to shell out the 70k for a new one. I finally broke down and bought a very nice used one. I have had to put about 3k in the car, but it was all for things that you will have to do to any car of this age. The car is faster than any car that I have owned and I love driving it! The only problem with this car is repairs cost $$$$. They don't know that you bought it used, so they charge you like you can afford to repair a high end luxury sedan."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Expect Repairs

By on Monday, September 17, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Handles great...very comfortable and more room for four than any other car ever bulit. Repairs are many and so overpriced it is laughable. $140 oil changes; $800 to replace thermostat."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Thirty miles per gallon/highway

By on Monday, August 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Have driven this car extensively for long trips. Thirty miles per gallon at 80 mph in relatively flat terrain. No less than twenty six everywhere else. Great comfort and little maintenance. Used synthetic oil since new. Winter and wet traction is the best and I have 3 other 4wd."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Luxury car

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 97 A8 model with cold and warm weather packages. Solar sun roof and rear window shield. This car is front wheel drive and weighs only 3750 pounds. For its size, the fuel economy is excellent plus it has the smallest V8 Audi builds. I have not had any expensive repairs in five years. In five years, I have put 20.000 miles on this car. My mechanic gives me reasonable repair prices and I never go to an Audi dealer or any dealer for that matter. If you want a road cruiser that can drive for hours without fatigue, this is it. This is the finest car I have ever owned and it will run for at least another ten years. I put xenon lights on it for better visibilty. People still believe it is a new car, it looks so good. The design is still current and the interior is simply amazing. This is a rare car, with a space age, alluminum frame and front and side air bags, it is the safest car available."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

most comfortable touring auto ever

By on Friday, January 30, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned both a 1999 to 150k miles and a 2003 now at 64k miles and they are the most comfortable auto's available. Between A8's I purchased a new Benz e-class with $7500 special order orthopedic seats and after just 6000 miles I could not take it anymore and sold it at a $10k loss. I went back to Audi A8L and have been totally satisfied. The seats are beyond comfortable, I have a very bad back and I can drive this car 700 miles per day in comfort. The ride is firm and very comfortable, no bouncing around but not so firm as to jar you. Even though it is 310hp V8 engine I average 25+ mpg at highway speeds of 70 plus. The solar sun roof is a must have option on this vehicle if you live or travel south of the mason-disxon. This is an expensive auto but IMHO it is worth every penny."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Why a Mercedes?

By on Monday, October 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned Mercedes sedans S and SEC years 1985 to 94. Back to Mercedes 1997 to 2000 what garbage big mistake. Audi's A8 and A8L 2001, 2005. Mercedes are overstyled and unreliable. Audi is more reliable , handles better. If you what bling just tape your bank statement to the windshield it smarter than buying a Mercedes."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A Hidden Gem A8L

By on Thursday, August 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My good friend for years had an A8L 2001. He brought another A8 in 2005. He sold me the 2001. It is everything i ever wanted in a vehicle. Everything about this vehicle is above "outstanding". If ever you can get your hands on an Audi A8L ...2001...do whatever it takes to make it your own. You will beam with delight driving it for the first time."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome Family Car

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Great vehicle, powerful engine, good for young kids as its low to the ground, plenty of room front and back, awesome gas mileage for a V8. 4 stars for Quality and Comfort and Reliability since its quite finicky with all the electronic sensors a car of this level contains. It has never broke down or stranded us."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Watch the maintenance costs!

By on Saturday, February 02, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Overall one of the best vehicles I have ever seen. Maintenance and upkeep are for rich people though. Problem with the 97's are the transmissions, they tend to break. More than $9000 to replace the transmission. $500 for a tie rod and $1500 for a timing belt. Costs more to fix the car than what its worth so it will just sit there now. It rode and drove great, especially in the snow."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Outstanding quality

By on Monday, October 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Timeless styling, full aluminium body and engine, 5 valves per cylinder, quattro AWD and awesome interior makes this car an outstanding value. Buy it first hand with less than 100k miles on it and you will get years of service out of it. Brakes are under sized for this much power and a power to weight ratio of only 13 pounds per HP. Very capable car, just let off the gas early... ."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, August 26, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is fun to drive. People think it is brand new. It has held its value and looks. Super in the deep snow and to get up mountain roads. 10 years old and many to go!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A lot of car for a great price

By on Thursday, August 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is probably one of the top cars you can buy for Luxury, Comfort, Styling and Safety. It meets all my needs. You can buy these amazing cars used for such a discount from new, problem is that they will continue to depreciate after as well so you will lose some money, but you wont mind too much when you drive it and appreciate the level of quality and refinement. Of all the features, my favorite is the heated steering wheel. In New England, on cold days it makes a huge difference. I make 10hour drives to Canada and always arrive fresh and without any pain, super smooth and very comfortable seats. I would highly recommend an extended warranty from AAA as repairs are expensive and I have had to make 2 so far. I have driven many cars from Mercedes to Jags from the 2001 and before years and none ever came close to this car. I LOVE it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Tuesday, July 20, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"11 years old, and still going strong. I've heard of others having transmission issues, but its been fine for me."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

German at full tilt

By on Friday, March 13, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The Audi A8 is the most capable executive series sedan on the market. The power is relentless in Sport Mode and the transmission shifts effortless throughout the gears. Cruising at speeds over 100 MPH and you would not even know it.... The suspension is taught but the ride is like you’re sitting in your living room couch. The exterior & interior styling is timeless. I see older S500's and they look dated, the A8 never loses its understated but posh looks. As for maintenance, it's not a Honda; you have to expect to spend some money maintaining a car like this. This is by far the best car I have ever owned!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My 97 A8Q

By on Sunday, June 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent car, bought used had it serviced at my local Import Shop and have had no problems. Car is excellent out on the open road, very comfortable and roomy. This car has a lot of bells and whistles for it to be a 97, I especially like the solar sunroof for those hot humidy days, many people don't believe its a 97 model. Car is lowered so it looks more attractive and aggresive than the other A8Qs in my opinion."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I don't think there is a better car than the Audi

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car. World class. I love to drive it on long trips as well as city"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

world standard

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything good"

Cons: "not the least expensive to maintain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"overall better then S class Mercedes, this car will impress with its lack of compromise"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Solid vehicle with class

By on Friday, July 16, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"2000 A8 Owner w/198K miles: I love this car for its ride quality ,solid feel and looks. I think Audi's over inflated price on parts is insane. Overall, this car is a Quality car that still turns heads. I will buy another A8 once this tank like car stops running."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Audi A8 near Honolulu. See local deals