Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1999 Audi A8

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 71 Ratings for the 1997 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

Save your pennies

By on Monday, November 29, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 99 A8 that is wonderful to look at and drive, however, bring your wallet. This car is expensive to repair, I just replaced the fuel pump for a cool $800 JUST THE PART. I also had a multifunctioning switch replaced -$500 JUST FOR THE PART! This is an automobile, folks not for the faint of heart. I love driving my vehicle and I get compliments constantly. Pick your poison...please remember this is not a HONDA..."

23 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Outstanding Vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have driven everything. Benz, BMW AND Jag. The Audi A8L is by far the finest piece on the road. It excels in all aspects of driving. Wet weather or snow, sure footed confidence. Great gas mileage for a vehicle this heavy. Mash the gas and the exhaust note becons you to do it again ! Overall style is conservative but this black beauty ALWAYS draws attention. Classy but understated. The way it looks speaks loud enough."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

reliable luxury

By on Friday, February 15, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i purchased this car used about 2 years ago. i'm very pleased with it, it surpassed my expectations. all luxury features are on board as standard equipment, no need to search around. leather and interior in general is of high quality and seems to outlast other cars in this category. highway gas mileage not bad at all at 25mpg, but can go as low as 11mpg on short city commutes. very solid build quality, body is as rigid as on day one. the real advantage of the aluminum space frame just starts to come into play now, since there is obviously no corrosion whatsoever. other cars tend to start getting loose at this point, but not so this space frame construction. remember, this is not a unibody, but a car built around a frame, almost like a truck. normally, this would be bad in terms of weight, but not here. the a8 weighs actually less than the a6 with the same engine. talking engine; it likes frequent oil changes and wants its oil to be kept at the highmark of the dipstick or else you might hear the valves at startup. not a problem, just something to remember. AWD is superb, obviously winter tires also help, since braking is important as well in the winter. the suspension is rather soft, which is fine by me since i dont like to be informed of every pothole. acceleration is awesome, and so is the sound of the engine. if rear seat leg space is an issue, then get the L, otherwise the standard wheelbase is ok. ESP however was only standard on the L, this may be another reason to get the longer version. one tip: check the brakes before you buy, they are a bit weak sometimes. and around 100k miles, you MUST change the timing belt (and the water pump), so if appropriate, check if this was done - or plan on spending 1,500 to get it done yourself. another reassuring fact of course is that all audis until 02 (?) came with 4 years of free, scheduled maintainance. quite an incentive to keep your car in good condition, i would think. and thats all i can say. if it has been maintained, this is a good, solid car without any hidden surprises. go get one, if you can! on a personal not, i think the car has a real classic look, especially if one removes the model designation on the trunk, the tail end becomes almost a symbol of clean design, in my opinion. the a8 is a bit of a sleeper in the sense that most people don't bother looking at it at all, it's quite rare though and thus a bit of an exotic. or a car for the connoisseur, if you wish. and btw, i would also look into the Phaeton, if i would be shopping for this car again today. that big VW has an even more beautiful interior, however it is a lot heavier as well, since its made of steel. but all else mechanically is the same. some food for thought."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Stealth Econo Car !

By on Sunday, May 03, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned our 2003 A-8 Since new. NO PROBLEMS, SUPERB RIDE, VERY FAST. Gets an unbeliievable 26MPG at 75 MPH from San Diego to Las Vegas. Not just once, but ALL THE TIME-with the AC ON ! This is pencil and paper calculated, not the computer. In rough city driving, it has never given less than 17 mpg. This is a spectacular car! NOTE: It is VERY sensitive to what tires are mounted on it. If you don't like vibrations don't mount Michelins. I know, it sounds stupid, but the car's natural harmonic chassis vibration coincides with those produced by Michelins-and it cannot be balanced out. For a glass smooth ride, buy Dunlop SP 270's. Expensive, but worth the money in ride quality."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Streamline Missle

By on Friday, January 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"As each decade passes car manufactures around the world create varieties of vehicles ranging from the worst waste of money in history to one of the greatest vehicles ever made. The post facelift D2 Audi A8 ranks up there as one of the best. Its has its flaws in a few areas but where it shines in comfort, style, fuel economy and performance, it is second to none in its class. I should clarify, that other cars in this class might match the A8 or even surpass it in some areas however, looking at the entire package, you will not find a superior competitor. If properly maintained this car can last for a very long time. I purchased mine in 2003 with 55,000 miles on it for what would have been considered a steal. Im currently at 134,449 and running strong.If you intend to purchase one, make sure you do your research."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Audi A8 near Honolulu. See local deals