Go

1996 Audi A4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 239 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next

Fantastic car!!

By on Friday, May 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, good mileage, and looks good."

Cons: "Premium gas, and cup holders are a joke."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for two years and it is a great little car. It looks good, performs well, and gets good mileage. I have a manual and around town i get 26 or 27 mpg. It corners nicely and overall handles very well. It is also a decently quick car as well. And still an excellent daily driver."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

This has been a fabulous car!

By on Monday, January 9, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, reliability, power"

Cons: "None......I had to think about this for a while."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What a wonderful car. I bought it new 14 years ago. Believe it or not, it has never had a major repair; just tune-ups, oil changes, and two timing belts @ 70,000 and 140,000. That doesn't mean a few things haven't gone wrong. The ABS module went bad about five years ago, and I decided the $2500 repair was not worth it. The cruise control sometimes doesn't want to work, but again, it is not enough of a problem to get fixed. Just lately, some electical problems have shown up with the turn indicator and passenger window. They were both fixed for less than $500. That is it on repairs in 14 years! And wow, how fun it is to drive this car; a perfect blend of power, speed, and luxury."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Money to burn

By on Wednesday, December 8, 2010

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought it used in '05 with 50k miles and car gets great fuel economy, is fun to drive and unbelievably so in the snow(up to 3+feet, just amazing). Problem is upkeep. Everything that goes wrong requires attention by an authorized Audi service agent and the cost of labor alone is pretty high($100+), but parts are simply too expensive. Modules, swing arms, etc, are 100-1000% more than a Lexus IS250. Windows have fallen into doors 9 times in 3 years, fixed at different places each time from $250 to $350 each time. That's well over $2000 just to have operating windows!! They've since all broken and been shimmed. Working windows or a new car? Hmm...On the bright side, no engine problems whatsoever, just everything else!!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

My Favorite Car Ever!

By on Wednesday, December 3, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 99 A4 1.8T in 2000. It now has 123,000 mi and is still on the original clutch. I just had it in for its 120K check-up and it needed nothing except normal maintenance and new front brakes. I have had to replace or repair very few things in the almost 9 years I've owned it. I do a lot of highway driving in New England winters and, thanks to Quattro, it holds the road like it's a part of it. My mileage is consistently 25 mpg in mixed driving and over 30 on highway trips. I'm trying to decide whether or not to get a new car before things start to go, but I love this car so much that I can't find another that suits me so well. I would get another A4 in a heartbeat, except they no longer make a manual transmission and I really don't like automatics. I highly recommend A4s!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Luxury Vehicle

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I read many articles stating numerous issues with Audi. I haven't had any problems with the vehicle since I purchased it."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Audi A4 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement