Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2012 Audi A3

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 139 Ratings for the 2006 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

With the tweaks I've added it's far better

By on Monday, April 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It was fun and now it's a blast"

Cons: "Passenger seat is not powered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've added the following and now it's even better: S3 intercooler chipped engine - stage 2 chipped DSG Heavier anti sway bars Larger diameter brakes up front, slotted rears more aggressive brake pads all around"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Very well put together and no problems

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great fuel economy"

Cons: "cost a bit more than other smallish wagons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car since new and have put quite a few miles on it. It's fun to drive and gets good fuel economy, avg of 40 - 42 typically. It handles very well as evidenced by the poor kid in the Mustang who tried to keep up driving the back roads of WV. I've since chipped the engine & transmission, upsized the anti sway bars, put an S3 intercooler on and installed larger diameter rotors. Still gets >40mpg if I keep my foot out of it but now has closer to 165hp and 340 ft/pds of torque."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Terrible gearing, terrible gas mileage, designed l

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice package, wife wanted a compact,nice car"

Cons: "Worst gearing design on a car in last 25 years!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"10 mph in first gear, 2650 Rpm at hiway speed, worst car design I've ever seen. Love our A4, which has less power but lower rpm at speed, thus the A4 gets way better mileage. We will not buy another Audi due to experience with this one!"

11 people out of 35 found this review helpful

Great gas mileage with out giving up the fun.

By on Tuesday, September 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, handles tightly, scoots."

Cons: "A/C could move more air, uses premium."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very responsive and peppy. Drives like a German sports car. comfortable even for my 6' frame. Could use some A/C vents in the back....its hot in Texas. 18" Audi wheels and low profile tires gets second looks from others. Cool running lights."

12 people out of 25 found this review helpful

This car handles well but it's pretty basic on the

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,350

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"inside. If I bought another Audi I think I would upgrade to the 4 as they look to be more comfortable have a nicer interior."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Just plain high quality."

Cons: "You pay for quality."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have the tdi. Maintenance costs are moderate to high, but the tightness of the transmission, the completely thought through components and system integration make it a delight to drive. The S-line transmission make country driving more fun, and stuck in traffic it is quiet and smooth. It was about $7or 8K more than the Jetta hatchback, but worth it because the finishes, components, electronics, etc. are more durable. I've had it almost 2 years now and nothing has broken, fallen off, or worn down. Finish is still as new. The power of the diesel engine is gratifying. It has the power to zoom out of a tight situation while going 80."

14 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Crashed it

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome"

Cons: "Maintenance cost."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car I have ever owned. It handles amazing and gets great milage. It stores a ton of stuff and people and still looks cool."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

love the way it drives.

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned the car for three years now. It's fun to drive. I owned a 2.8 before and having the 2.0t is the best set up audi designed. Go and test drive one for yourself I know you will love it!!!"

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great all-around car!!

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great handling, lots of cargo space"

Cons: "A bit more expensive than competition"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I thought all cars were compromises, but this car does it all!! This is a fantastic city car with a very small turning radius, yet the 4-door hatchback fits five passengers plus tons of stuff. The 2.0 Turbo engine is a lot of fun, particularly when paired with the 6-speed manual transmission. The engine produces way more power than necessary to get this car moving faster than you might realize, and the handling on the highway as well as winding mountain roads is superb, as you would expect from a German make. This is also a great winter car; I have driven the Audi through 10 inches of fresh snow and seen a Range Rover (perhaps with summer tires?) struggle to climb an icy road that this car conquered with ease. Overall, I could not be happier with a car!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Loved the drive over the 8.5 years I've had car

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, safety in small pkg"

Cons: "premium gas, expensive tires, clip breaks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I will miss this car when I trade it in, but the paint oxidation and broken visor clip for the 4th time and the repair bills are just adding up. It has been fun to drive and I enjoyed the convenience of the hatchback, my dogs have loved it too."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I will be sad to have to trade it in....

By on Friday, January 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my A3 TDI new in 2010. Handles great, great mileage, looks great. The cold weather package is a must in cold climate and works like a charm. Now for the negative: I had the battery give out on me just recently but it was covered in the 4 year warranty. Also had the waterpump replaced as I was losing coolant. Tires do wear out quickly, I have to replace mine at 25K. I do not think that this is Audi's fault, the conti procontacts that are on it just do not have a long life. Despite the few issues above, I love the car. It worked well for us and was our "go to" car (our other car is a Jeep) until the second baby came along, now it is just too small. I am looking to buy another Audi but I will be very sad to have to give up this one. As of note, Audi has a great customer service, so any troubles I ever had were handled in a completely satisfactory way."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Friday, December 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fuel economy, gas mileage, turbo, fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We love our Audi A3... It has so many modern conveniences while still being efficient. Tremendous gas mileage, room for friends, room for golf clubs/groceries. Plenty of get-up-and-go with the turbo engine. Just a very smartly engineered vehicle that is perfect daily commutes and road-trips."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love My Little A3

By on Saturday, November 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,250

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fuel economy, fun to drive, great styling"

Cons: "Sometimes feels too small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my Audi A3 (Premium Plus) since 2010. It was love at first sight. The exterior styling is sporty with a touch of economy. The torque of the turbo diesel make it accelerate like a sports car. The fuel mileage makes driving anything else seem wasteful. The tight handling make me look for roads with curves. The interior is all Audi. Very nicely done. The only complain might be that it's bit noisy on rough roads. The suspension is tight, so those rough roads cause me to apologize to my passengers. But, I love the feel of the road. I've got 75K mile on her now and looking forward to rolling over a couple hundred thousand more. - R"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Versatile future classic design

By on Thursday, October 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good looks, handles well, versatile space"

Cons: "Plastic switches & latches wore down after 5 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My second Audi. First was an '95 A4 2.8Q manual--a great car betrayed by a sun-warped console. I've had my '06 A3 3.2Q DSG S-line for 6 years & counting. Have had the shock & struts, oxygen sensor replaced, and the DSG transmission serviced. The 3.2VR6 engine has been reliable. The Sat NAV is very user-friendly for its age. It was superior to the Mercedes and BMW sat nav at that time. Nowadays the Audi's SatNavs are equipped with the NVIDIA Tegra processor. The upgrade to the shock & struts with the Koni FSD improved the ride & handling. It's softer sprung and corners better than the OEM's. This A3 Sportback is a keeper."

Six years later and I'm still excited to drive it!

By on Wednesday, September 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "It's a blast to drive and it's been very reliable."

Cons: "My only beef is the AC could be cooler."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The day I brought my new 2006 A3 3.2 home from the dealership, my neighbor, a fanatic Porsche owner, took me for a ride in it and screamed with the joy the entire time! He said it cornered better and was more fun to drive than his 2000 911. Well...that says it all. Six years later I'm still in love and get excited every time I get into it! I usually sell my cars after four years but not this one!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

love the car at this time, we just brought it home

By on Sunday, August 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,734

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Again, so far so good."

Cons: "Back seat headroom if you are above 6' 2""

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"the back seat headroom is a little short in that my son is 6'3", but in reality we didnt buy this for backseat headroom. The front seats allow us both to stretch out, i am 6'2" and have full leg extension."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Incredibly fun to drive

By on Sunday, August 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great gas mielage. 34 mpg daily driving/42 mpg hwy"

Cons: "passenger seat manual adj, slow to warm in winter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Fun to drive. Responsive and economical drive. A luxury car without the features that make it unaffordable. Gas mileage makes this an economical car to drive but still has lots of pick up and great handling."

Maintenance Nightmare

By on Friday, July 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Great gas mileage, fun to drive, but high maintenance. Goes to the shop on a regular basis. Buy the maintenance warranty programs if you buy an Audi."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

This is a fantastic compact car!

By on Wednesday, April 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,900

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Center gear shift knob gets very hot in the summer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The car is a pleasure to drive and has alot of power. My husband keeps saying he wants to drive it on a closed track to really see it perform. Drives well in all weather conditions. The hatch back offers a large amount of space."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Loved it at first. Fun to drive.

By on Monday, August 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive- esp in mountains."

Cons: "Transmission; dealers won't fix Real problem"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Love the handling; great acceleration; balanced & attractively unique. Transmission started jerking between 1st and 2nd gear. Dealer said he'd _____ it. This game went on for 2+ years. Took car to a different dealer in a city 300 miles away. Same run-around. Now that it's "out of warranty","

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Good on gas, fun to drive

By on Friday, April 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun n sporty"

Cons: "Turbo lag and maintenance cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought this car used as my daily driver. its a fun car to drive the Fwd did great in pa 09-10 snow. I've been pulled over from other audi drivers to look at this car. I've added audi's ground effects kit and larger spoiler with audi's ECU upgrade ( done by audi with 4yr warranty) for better performance which has no turbo lag and better throttle response . Have had no issues since ive had the car but be prepared for the cost of owning ( ie; brakes, tires and overall upkeep) a german car. Overall a sporty,fun, nice interior and great handling car."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great luxury value

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Overall value for the luxury, highly reliable."

Cons: "Seats could be a little more comfy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Although I broke my rule of buying the first model year of a vehicle, Audi has a tried and true 2.0 litre engine that is bullet proof. This car has 105K miles on it and we have only had to replace 1 headlight bulb. That is the only problem we have had. Everything else has been preventive maintenance and the car drives and seems brand new even with 105K miles. Gas mileage is pretty darn good too. We average 28 mpg, with up to 34 on the highway. The hatchback is highly convenient and it takes a Yakima rack like a champ. We have abused this car over the years with camping, biking and sports and it hasn't flinched. Highly recommend this car."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Awesome road car and quick and small for intown.

By on Monday, March 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I have ever driven."

2010 Audi A3 TDI diesel I love this car

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, comfortable, great mileage"

Cons: "Hard to get into and out of due to long legs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives and handles like a fine sports car. Really appreciate the manueverability of the car, getting into and out of tight spots, such as when parallel parking. Heated, adjustable seats and automatic climate control make it very comfortable. Love, love, love the gas mileage that I get. Love, love, love Audi maintenance and service. I want to still have this car when I'm a little old lady and can barely see over the steering wheel. Fully expect to be able to get 200,000 plus miles out of the car. Only draw back is that I have very long legs that make it difficult to get into and out of the car, but once you are in, there's plenty of leg room because of the fully adjustable seat."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fun to drive

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome machine,"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Audi A3 near Honolulu. See local deals