Go

1992 Alfa Romeo 164

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 18 Ratings for the 1992 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"This is a wonderful car. I had it for 3 years, and it was excellent for me. I had no good mechanic, but I was able to conduct much of the maintenance myself. It performs like a car 20 times the price! Don't think this is competition for a E-300 or a 525i of the same year, because it is in another league performance and styling wise entirely!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Italian Sports Sedan

By on Wednesday, October 10, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am the second owner of a 1991 L and have had a great deal of fun driving this car. It is important to find a good Italian car mechanic as I have had "European" auto shops turn me away because they don't want to work on Alfas. Even though this car was made on the same platform as some other European cars and has Bosch FI as all Euros do. You will be hard pressed to find a better handling sports sedan. Even with FWD it is a great car to drive hard; you hardly notice that it is FWD unless you break the front tires loose when leaving all other sedans at the stop light. Mine walks to the right when broken loose and it is something that you must acclimatize yourself to. There are probably a couple of sedans that can beat it from 0 to 60 but I have yet to have ANY sedan (and a good deal of "sports" cars) keep up from 0 to 100. That is just what I hear as I would never do that myself. I mean, what fun is it to be a forty-something white guy in a sedan and blow the twenty-somethings in their mustangs and camaros off the line. I do need to hang on to them in first gear but once we get to 2nd it's adios amigo. I have had no engine or transmission related problems in the 10+ years that I have owned the 164 but do have some difficulty dummying down the engine to get it through the annual emission inspection."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A jewel

By on Monday, January 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased this new in 1994. I have loved it every minute since then. The design, though NEW SCHOOL, back then still works, Pinanfarina brought us into the future on this one, It had many carry-over elements of the Testarossa which had just been designed. My only complaint is the plastic looking underskirts. The interior is a lesson in Italian craftsmanship. The engine is as beautiful as it is capable. The handling is s responsive and the ride is supple over bad pavement yet the car goes where you point it. The front wheel drive does cause a bit of understeer when accelerating on the back half of a curve."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

alfa romeo

By on Thursday, October 27, 2011

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "awsome looking car"

Cons: "man parts will kill you if you cant afford a fery"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"hello i am working on one of piniforinas grand cars the 1991 alfa romeo 164 s i am working on the only one in the western states and let me tell you it is a beautiful car and i will buy one some day"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent Sedan

By on Friday, December 28, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned a 1991 164 S for 8 years and it is a wonderful car. Fast, beautiful, fun, safe (I am told), and economical, at 27 MPG highway. Mine has about 160,000 miles. It can be hard to find a good mechanic who will work on it, but once you do, the car is as reliable as other European cars, however, some parts can be hard to find. A mass air flow meter needed replacement and aside from being extremely expensive, the mechanic had difficulty locating one. I am, however, told this part is something that rarely goes, so that can explain the reason for this. Also, the spark plugs on the S and Q can be hard to find and expensive if using the factory plugs, although other plugs work fine and are easier to find. That said, most parts are less than those for BMWs, Mercedes, way less than Jag, Porsche, and Audi parts, and about the same as parts for Saabs and Volvos. One strange thing, the car has diffuculty running on California's 91 octane- I usually mixed it with some 100 octane at certain 76 stations, although 93 octane in other states works normally (I have owned the car while living on both coasts). It can be run on 91(most owners do this) although there may be some knocking at certain RPMs. On 91 while in CA, I never had trouble passing the strict emissions there, even with high mileage. The car is quiet and rides well, plus, you get many "thumbs up". I definately recommend a 164."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Alfa Romeo 164 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement