Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2009 Acura TL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 170 Ratings for the 2009 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

2012 SH AWD Advanced Package

By on Monday, October 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,036

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great handling car with good technology"

Cons: "Small trunk, no fold down rear seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first Acura. I had an Avalon that I had to replace do to a accident. I drove a 2013 Lexus ES 350, a 2012 Avalon and a couple of other. Then I drove a front wheel drive TL and was ready to purchase. My 34 year old son advised me to drive the AWD model before I made the purchase. He said it was fun to drive and his favorite car to drive. I test drove the front wheel drive again and then drove the SH AWD TL. Amazing the difference in the handling and performance between the front wheel drive TL and the SH AWD TL model. I was use to the soft ride of the Avalon so this was a big change with the SH AWD package. I have driven this car for 4,000 miles in rain, heavy traffic and on open curvy roads and really enjoy the handling and power. Road noise on grooved roads can be annoying and the trunk could be a little larger. At first I did not know if I could get use to the very firm ride of the SH AWD package but now I have adjusted to the ride I just love the car. The Advanced package is great with the blind spot indicators in freeway traffic. Control on wet roads is amazing. Gas mileage has been less than expected but now is improving, averaging 25.4 in mixed driving. Great car for the money and it is fun to drive. Best value of all the other vehicles I drove. Glad I purchased the TL. No problems with the vehicle so far and several in my office have had Acura’s and all have bragged about the quality and durability of the brand."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

I LOVE THIS CAR!!!!

By on Thursday, June 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "speedy and fun to drive"

Cons: "NOTHING!!!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I always wanted an acura TL and finally bought one. I bought a 2012 TL with tech package. I will never own another type of vehicle other than an acura now. It has surpassed my expectations."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

AWESOME CAR!

By on Saturday, October 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 4th Acura TL, 1st with AWD. Not just any AWD but SH-AWD, otherwise known as Torque Vectoring AWD. Once you experience the driving dynamics of this, coupled with its 305 horsepower, its hard to understand why they haven't sold many, many more of these. Performance is unmatched at this price point. You'd need to spend at least $10,000 more to get anywhere close."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Handles comparably to a full-blown luxury car

By on Tuesday, March 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good value for the money, AWD version handles well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I look forward to tackling those banking freeway onramps each morning, as my AWD version handles comparably to my previous car, a BMW 5 series. I get luxury amenities and good performance for less money. Plus, I don't worry about losing my car among the hoardes of BMWs and Audis out there. Spacious back seat, unlike the Infiniti G."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle, I love to drive it.

By on Friday, January 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is smooth, powerful, quiet and sure-footed. The sound system is the best I've ever heard. The interior is fantastic with soft leather and seats that fit just right."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Value

By on Wednesday, November 25, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Overall this is a great car. I have mine now for almost a year. You can't get the value from any other luxury car. Something is loose on passenger door but hey you can turn up the preium sound and it goes away. The NAV system can be improved. to many pop up warnings, also at times it does not give the best travel directions. Further, having to confirm everytime you turn on the car is a bit much. Thats the only complaints, the sound is perfect. Great MPG's for the power you get."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car overall, love the performance!

By on Thursday, January 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really like my Acura TL. The styling and design both interior and exterior are very nice. I love the performance. It definitely has all the power I need especially when accelerating to pass a car, etc. The only complaint that I have with the car is that the ride is a little "bumpy" or "choppy" and it has a little more road noise than I prefer. It is a more "sporty" type car so I guess that explains why it does not have a smooth and quiet ride. Overall, I am very happy with this car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I have ever owned

By on Sunday, May 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "wish it had one of those blind spot detectors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My baby is a joy to drive. I love the look and the way it handles. Its nice to be able to bob and weave on the interstate if I have to. Perfect for Sunday morning cruising. My children think its cool enough to borrow (if that's not an endorsement, nothing is)."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Outstanding Automobile for the Money, a Best Buy!

By on Wednesday, March 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, smooth & fun to Drive, Lots of Power!"

Cons: "I'm technology challenged & have trouble using GPS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove a 2009 and got the 2012 in summer 2011. These cars a great for the money. They have a sports car road feel and drive like a finely tuned machine. Never had any problems with either car and upkeep is cheap compared to other luxury cars! The resale value is outstanding and the comfort and technology features are unheard of in this price range, I have the front wheel drive Advance TL model with all the bells and whistles and chrome wheels and privacy glass. Runs fine on regular gas but I prefer to use mid grade most of the year. I use premium when temps go to 100 and above. Oil changes, wheel rotations and balancing, windshield wipers and air cleaner filter is all I've ever done to these cars. Cheap to maintain!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Incredible handling and technology!

By on Friday, August 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I think it is the best value for the money"

Cons: "Trunk is a little tight for 4 cases"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the SH-AWD model, and it is absolutely incredible around a corner. The surprise has been the technology inside. My friend with cars that cost two and three times as much are jealous of my navigation and sound systems. that DVD sound system has to be heard to be appreciated."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Amazing

By on Thursday, April 14, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had my 2010 TL for almost 1.5 years. It has never had an issue and drives beautifully. The interior is surprisingly durable and still looks like new. I would ressomend this car to anyone. Suspension is a little stiffer than a luxury car but the performance more than makes up for it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great driving car

By on Saturday, November 27, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is a great handling car. Can take turns at any speed and is very comfortable. The only reason I took off of styling is I'm not crazy about the spoiler on the back of mine. Personal preference. I tested the Mercedes, BMW and Lexus before purchasing this car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Acura TL Ever!!!

By on Saturday, September 04, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This Vehicle out performs the Audi S4, BMW 5 Series, Mercedes E-Class, Lexus 350, and Cadillac CTS! It's Super Handling AWD is superb to say the very least. And there is no drive system equal to it as of yet!!! And the price is GREAT too. I just can't say enough about this vehicle. Don't believe me test drive one and you'll be convinced too!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fantastic!

By on Wednesday, April 28, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The styling of this car is what caught my eye. It had everything I wanted. Have made long trips in it and loved it. Gas milage is unbelievable(36mpg on trip to Chicago). Considered the Genesis but Acura's reputation is much better. Will keep this car a long, long time."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

THE DREAM CAR

By on Monday, September 07, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is wonderful to drive because it's so smooth and looks great. The insurance is also lower. Overall, I'm glad to own my TL."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The TL is Awesome!

By on Monday, July 27, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Spend the extra to get the Tech Package, it is well worth it! Great ride. Great sound system. Great everything except no auto wipers. Awesome value!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Elegant, great hp and handling

By on Wednesday, May 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, elegant, fun to drive, plenty hp"

Cons: "Subscription $$: map upgrades, Weather, Traffic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought it used with <30000 miles on it, now have 75k. I have the full Technology Package- highly recommended. I use prem gas & synth oil and am handsomely rewarded with great engine performance. The lines are elegant, crisp, clean. Interior is fantastically quiet so my tunes sound great with the prem sound system. My friends say it has marshmallow seats."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fantastic vehicle

By on Saturday, April 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Definitely the best vehicle I have ever owned,very pleasing to drive and comfortable to sit in. Would easily recommend this car over any other for performance, luxury and value."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Absolutely the best car I have ever driven/ owned

By on Friday, April 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, stylish, sound system, gas mileage,"

Cons: "Nothing at all"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Fantastic car, high tech,fast, powerful, pure luxury :)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Pure comfort and reliabilaty

By on Wednesday, April 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "none"

Cons: "Must use premium gas which is expensive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned 3 Acura's and each and everyone was great cars to own and drive. Never had one problem but I don't keep them more than 3 years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

On a scale of one to awesome...its off the chart!

By on Friday, March 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This is a car that you could keep for a lifetime"

Cons: "Still looking for one..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Mine...Mine...Mine!!

"Beautiful car...she's an '09 and everyone thinks she is brand new~!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Mine...Mine...Mine!!

This is a fine car for the money and then some.

By on Monday, March 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the FWD with the advance package. If I had to do it all over again I might get SH-AWD but that is my issue. In general I am very satisified. We had a 2009 TSX before this TL and both have been very fine cars. I am really looking forward to the RLX this spring."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Sunday, October 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 450

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxurious surroundings, elegant style."

Cons: "Cup holders too small. Needs more storage room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Extremely high quality vehicle for a very fair price."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car... Great price

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast and fun to drive"

Cons: "None yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has great handling and acceleration. The fit and finish is on par with any BMW or Lexus you may look at. The AWD system is great too. You get all the performance and features of a 5 series for 10K less."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I've loved this car!

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "5th passenger seat is uncomfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've loved this car. It drives great. Handles great. Has a great technology package. The only negative is the 5th passenger seat. It's uncomfortable."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura TL near Honolulu. See local deals