Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2006 Acura TL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 718 Ratings for the 2004 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 144 | Next

great car

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is an excellent car. I bought the 2005 model used in September 2008 with around 37,000 miles, and have no regrets. So far I’ve put around 5,000 miles on it, and still get excited when it’s time to take a trip. I searched around until I could get the 6sp manual, which makes it a pleasure to drive. Perfect click-click shifts. Surprisingly I’ve gotten great gas milage out of the car (around 32-33mpg on the interstate at 75mph, as high as 35 cruising at 55mph in 6th gear, all town driving is a different story usually anywhere from 19-25mpg). Those numbers are from some conservative driving (for the most part), coasting up to red lights, being easy on the gas, easy on the brakes, etc. The power is there when you need it too, 270hp is no Ferrari but its no joke either. The power goes down to 258hp for 2006, then if you what more in a latter year you’ve got to get the 2007 type-S with 286hp. So if your looking for a used tl with great power without the higher insurance cost associated with the type-S go for the 2004-2005 model, with 270hp. Of course, if you can afford it get the new 2009 SH-AWD with 305hp, or better yet wait on the 2010 model when Acura is releasing the 6sp again. The memory for the driver seat is just great, push the unlock button on the fob, open the drivers door and the seat and side mirrors move into the preset positions. Bluetooth is great to have in a car too. I find the leather seats very comfortable even on long trips; I frequently make 4 hour driving trips, and stay comfortable the whole time. Also, I average around 29-30mpg for the trip which includes highway, interstate, and some town driving. So far I’ve had one oil change, tires replaced, and front brake pads replaced; all of which was done immediately after buying the car (I can’t remember for sure but I think the cost was a little over a $1000). I do wish the back seats folded down for more cargo space, you just get a small pass through which is useless. Also the dash and other trim show dust, but that’s just being picky."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, June 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, I can get aggressive sometimes."

Cons: "Leather requires some attention to look it's best"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car since new 4/08. It has never had a problem and performs great everyday. Recently placed new tires on the car, Goodyear assurance comfort and it's smooth like new. I would highly recommend this car for anyone interested in a great performance 4-door car, with low maintenance requirements."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

THE TRUTH....

By on Wednesday, February 16, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"ok... first of all.. i work for Acura... so i know all of the problems this car is associated with... and i can hands down tell you all the problems ive read about on this car are true.. but so very minor, they are not even worth mentioning.. ill go thru them all 1 by 1: *mirrors clicking- this is a simple common problem with the factory mirror actuators.. they cost around $85 and if your having any kind of service done on your car.. the tech will usually just pop them on for you.. takes all of 10 seconds... *road noise/ tire wear - the factory bridgestone tires that come on this car are very soft, and grab the road VERY hard... which gives you loud noise.. and the softer tread burns off quicker resulting in poor tire life.. simple problem... GET NEW TIRES *interior noises - yes my TL has them too... but i never drive with NO SOUND in my vehicle.. so whats the problem... if im not talking to someone.. then the raido is on.. either way.. you dont hear them.. who rides in complete silence?? *transmissions - YES... very common problem with the accords and TLs... same transmissions.. same problems... if your NICE.. usually the dealer will work with you on getting you some warranty help.... they can usually help you out with a warranty/customer pay split.. even is its a 50/50... that saves you TONS of money! *dashboards cracking - YES!! another terrible design flaw... they are about $880 new... they are on back order... so that tells you how common the problem is.. they arent making enough to keep up with demand... mine is not cracking yet.. but i do see the outline of the passenger side airbag.. which is a sign it is coming... again.. usually if your NICE, the dealer will help u with this as well!.. ACURA/HONDA have great warranty companies that usually work with the customers... EVEN when your out of warranty... if they know there is a common problem with their vehicles, they help all they can!! i hope this helps everyone out... i will never buy anything but Acura/Honda... i have owned them all my life... and have never ever had any major issues... take care everyone!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Rattle Box

By on Friday, October 22, 2010

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"My wife and I bought the TL for its reliability ratings, features, gas mileage, and styling. For those reasons, this is a great car. The reliability is impeccable, I still haven't figured out how to use all its features after six months, we get about 32 mpg on the highway, and I get numerous compliments on how nice it looks. I honestly think this generation TL is the best looking sedan on the road under $50,000. The car is an absolute blast to drive on the highway, but stoplight acceleration is only average. The handling is very precise and predictable; slinging it through corners is very rewarding. The seats are very comfortable. The interior and trunk are deceptively large, Daily driving is where the "problems" begin. It's a good thing that the stock stereo is good because EVERYTHING in the interior of this car rattles; the audio head unit, glove box door, both side mirrors, seats, sunroof, headliner, subwoofer, power window mechanisms, transmission shifter, and steering column. The car was a tank when I test drove it, but now it seems like it develops a new noise every day. Be aware the suspension is VERY stiff, which could be the cause of all the rattles, combined with front wheel drive, Denver pot holes become scary. Also the stock Bridgestone tires, in addition to being garbage, are only rated at 35,000 miles. I had to replace them immediately after purchasing the car as I bought it with 33,000 miles on it. Overall I'm disappointed. If you want a reliable midsize sedan that looks nice on the road and on paper, this is a good buy, however if you're looking for the solid build quality and driving dynamics of a luxury brand, keep shopping."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very Nice Ride

By on Monday, January 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Interior Power and Cosmetics"

Cons: "Hard to mod and expensive to fix."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the second acura tl I've owned and I love it. The styling and mechanics are flawless. Plenty of power for all types of drivers the only downfall is how expensive and difficult it is to modify. And blue book value does not show truly how nice these are"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 144 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura TL near Honolulu. See local deals